We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”
Review of Charly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charly
Ranked #183 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here the Saturday night of the weekend of the nearby Italian Formula 1 Grand Prix so the price, like those of every hotel in Milan that weekend, was a lot higher than usual but it was still reasonable compared to other hotels. The room was basic, clean and comfortable (with a large bathroom) and well met our need for a place near the Milano Centrale station (about 500 mts away) to spend the night. The staff were friendly courteous and helpful. The breakfast was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    156
    44
    12
    3
See reviews for
29
162
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was the last leg of our 2 week trip in Italy and we were coming into Milan through the train from Florence. We chose this location as it was walking distance from the train station where we could unload our luggages before going to see the city. It is abit far from the city centre (Duomo) - about 20-30mins walk, but you can take the Metro. The facilities were basic but clean and tidy. Wi-fi was only available for 2 hours each day which was abit inconvenient. The breakfast was generous and in general a nice, cosy stay.

Room Tip: Request for ground floor if you don't wish to carry your luggages up the flight of stairs. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J1nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Booked almost last minute due to recommendations but could not believe the excellent price, so expected some faults somewhere. However, the hotel was actually better than I expected. It is located on a residential street, very few blocks away from the central station. Staff is excellent and friendly. Room was of good size, with a lovely balcony and very good double glazing (once bathroom and bedroom windows were shut one would hear no noise from the outside). Breakfast was simple but sufficient and one could sit in the lovely garden. It was just like staying at a house in central Milan. Nearby restaurants were good. Only small fault was that I could hear people talking in the corridor and in the room next door but nothing that disturbed my sleep. It was exceptional considering the price.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 8 which had a balcony facing the main street (first floor) and was happy with it. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for just one night during our brief stay in Milan. It is just a few blocks from the central train station, which is one of the main reasons for choosing this location. We had a nice room on the ground floor which opened onto a small balcony and the garden area. It would have been much nicer except for the noisy young couple who stayed in a room near to us, we heard everything until the early hours of the morning through the air-conditioning, (which seemed to have a direct connection to the next room). I resorted to putting in ear plugs to get to sleep. This is hardly the hotels fault, although perhaps an oversight with the design of the air con.
Breakfast was nice, and service was fine. Was good value for money, and our stay would have been much better if not for the couple next door who just couldn't keep quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudgetPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one week in mid May 2013. I chose this hotel because I had stayed there 10 years ago and found it at that time to be suitable for my needs.
The hotel is very close to the Milano Central railway station and has several good reasonably priced restaurants nearby. There is also a laundry a short walk away as well as a small grocery store.
I booked 2 months in advance, Because I am not really good on my legs, I asked for -and got a room with a balcony on the first floor.
The room was a good size, spotless, comfortable bed, good water pressure and plenty of hot water.
There were double glazed French doors leading to the small balcony overlooking a nice garden with additional shutters for privacy.
Breakfast - which was included in the tariff consisted of tea, coffee, cakes, pastries,, bread and butter and jam.
There was someone on duty 24 hours per day -so security was good.
Good value for money, comfortable, convenient location with good security and I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a normal tourist budget. when staying in Milano.

Room Tip: Book early - Room number 14 was just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Housed in an old building with no elevator, Charly is still a very nice play to stay while passing through Milan. It is minutes from Milano Centrale Railway Station and a short drive to Linate Airport. It is also very near the famous shopping district of Buenos Aires and Lima Square. Nice shops, decent prices and great restaurants patronised by locals.
The front desk was manned by the knowledgeable and helpful Mr Marco who pointed us to the Metro (to visit the Duomo) and also advised on some nice italian restaurants...

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags, ask for a room on the ground floor. Hauling bags up the steep, windy stairc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harsingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This excellent, small hotel is an easy walk from the train station and a few blocks from the city Metro. It's on a quiet street with very little city noise, yet there are several good restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are clean, cosy and comfortable and the hotel staff is great. There's a nice breakfast room with views of the garden and great espresso. We had an enjoyable stay and hope to return soon.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank msraaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Salerno Hotel
Salerno Hotel
#221 of 428 in Milan
153 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Mondial Milano
Mondial Milano
#198 of 428 in Milan
97 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#78 of 428 in Milan
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palladio
#65 of 428 in Milan
394 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Andreola Hotel
Andreola Hotel
#97 of 428 in Milan
842 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#203 of 428 in Milan
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charly

Property: Charly
Address: Via Lodovico Settala 76, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale , Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in Milan
#101 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Charly 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charly Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing