We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice basic hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lombardia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lombardia
Ranked #213 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Standard hotel with friendly staff. The included breakfast is similar to most hotels, in other words disappointing, but sufficient. Don't touch the dredge labelled as coffee, but rather go to the counter and have the barista make you a fine espresso based drink. I had the cappucino which was proper and tasty - wish I had known they were complimentary sooner!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CappuccinoQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    90
    69
    18
    13
See reviews for
31
35
17
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Hi.
If you are planning a trip to the Italian GP at Monza. Then you can do allot worse than the Lambardia Hotel. Especially if you are on a budget. This is a cheap and cheerful hotel. It will take you approx 1 and a half hours to get to the circuit from the hotel.( I will come back to that later).
The Hotel is as I say basic. Rooms are clean the beds made every day, with a TV, which you can change the language to some channels. The Towels are no more than large Tea Towels, But there get the job done.
The Staff speak some English and are very helpful.
The buffet breakfast is OK as much as you can eat. Cereals quasons cakes ham rolls, Coffee and fruit juices.
Close by the hotel is a few very good small restaurants . The “Mulan rouge” Right out of the hotel ,on the next corner.
A small restaurant (name I don’t remember) Left out of the hotel about 150 yds away. Sit outside and watch some sport. The pizzas and Calzones are very good and not too expensive. As they are in the centre of Milan, (Very expensive) 1 lire of beer can cost 15 Euros!!!!
My son and I went for the 1st time this year and had a great time.
To get to the circuit from the Lambardia is not too bad. Just Give your self plent of time to get there so you dont miss anything.
1. Turn left out of the hotel, stop at the cake and pizza shop 120 yds down the road to buy you Lunch and water (as it’s Very Expensive at the circuit.). Turn right at the next junction. And walk to the large roundabout, where you get on to the Metro underground train. This called the LORETO STATION. This takes about 10 minutes.
2. Buy a 6 day travel pass on the underground its cheaper it allows you 2x trips per day for 6 days approx 10 Euros. Take the Green Line to GARIDALDI STATION (4 STOPS).
3. Leave the underground and head for the Train station. Just outside, you can’t miss it.
4. Buy a return ticket to the BASSONO PARCO (LESOM Station). This station is just outside the Lesmo entrance of the circuit. After leaving the station. Follow the path on the LEFT and keep walking up a small hill. You will see the entrance in front of you.
5. The Only Change to this is on the Sunday RACE DAY. When there are Free trains to the circuit from CENTRAL STATION This is only 2 stops away from your metro station LORETO on the RED LINE.
6. Don’t be tempted to get off at Monza station and get the free bus to the circuit, as you still have a 35 minute walk when you get off the bus from where it drops you. And on race day the queues are endless for the buses.

The weather was very hot. So take plenty of water and a blowup cushion to sit on, as the stands are very uncomfortable when you are sitting for a long time.
We booked through Expedia, and if you have a free day in Milan I recommend the museum at the San Siro stadium. Also DUOMO center posh shops etc.
One other thing don’t get caught out at the airport when you land. Some taxi drivers stepped up to us and offered us a lift to the Lambardia Hotel a fixed price he said, showing us a notice on the desk 60 Euros. We were tied and it was late. We took it. We should have gone outside and got one off the rank.
On the way back to the airport the hotel rang a taxi for us and he only charged 18 Euros.

Have a Great trip.
Paul

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank golfer176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

I do not recommend this hotel for 4 reasons:

1. closet-like rooms
2. rude staff
3. location that raises safety concerns.
4. tiny shower boxes, ridiculous towels (waffle-like)

1.
The hotel uses the internet to sell rooms that nobody would take if they can inspect rooms before they book them.

When I got to the room I got extremely upset.
It is the size of a closet. The bed is literally right next to the door.
My head was right next to the hallway wall so anybody who passes by, their steps and suitcases produce a lot of noise because the floors are not carpeted.
If I turned so my feet were next to that wall instead of my head, then I was not be able to watch tv.

Someone kept going back and forth in boots in the next room in the
middle of the night, and it was very loud (the floors are not carpeted in rooms).
There are no rooms this small in the US and normally in the US there is a foyer and a bathroom that distances guests from hallway noises so it is hard to imagine the level of inconvenience unless you experience it yourself.

2. The receptionists have poor customer service skills.
One could not communicate in English satisfactorily. I had to search
my memory for Italian words.
Another was exceptionally bad, his name is Kris Macamah.
Here is a story that I do not want anybody to relive.

The first few days are very hard for Americans. When it's 9am in Milan, it's 3am on the East Coast.
Most Americans need sleep till noon the first couple of days.
So there I was, asleep at around 11am Italian time. My head is right next to the hallway wall. The next room door is right next to my door
at a right angle. I put a do not disturb sign on the door hoping people
would be considerate.
The cleaning lady comes, ignores the sign and starts some noisy cleaning machine in the neighboring room WITHOUT EVEN CLOSING THAT ROOM's DOOR.

Of course, I woke up and after a few minutes of that noisy torture, I asked her to close that door. She did not understand English.
When I explained the situation to the receptionist on the phone, he did not apologize for the inconvenience! and gave me the most stupid reason on earth why that door cannot be closed.

You will never guess the reason...

He said the neighboring door cannot be closed because when she washes the floor, the air must come into the room for the water to dry!!!

I was always under the impression that water dries by itself whether you have the door open or not, especially in Italy, a warm country.

Later, when I was downstairs, I asked the receptionist what his name
was. He proceeded again with his idiotic explanation why the door
could not be closed.
When I said that he should start by apologizing for the inconvenience
and only then explain why something is the way it is, he was rude. He
kept interrupting me. His customer service skills were non-existent.

HE NEVER APOLOGIZED FOR THE INCONVENIENCE. NOT ONCE.

3. The area is not good - even though the train station is within a 20 minutes' walk, when it is dark, you definitely need a taxi.

4. I am not an overweight woman, yet it was not pleasant to shower because the shower is literally inside a cylinder-like space and there is no way to expand it so you constantly touch the box walls. When the body is wet, it is not a pleasant sensation.

The internet did not work when I arrived.
The do not disturb sign was not in the room.
No good views from any of the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank windowseat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

A basic hotel offering decent value for money, but the rooms need to be updated. The single rooms are especially small.

The hotel seem to give tablecloths and napkins instead of towels, which I found very strange!

The front desk guys were great, having my key ready each time I came in before I could even tell them my room number.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank griangraf2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Used the Hotel Lombardia as a base for going to the Italian Grand Prix in Monza.

Situated a couple of miles NE of the city centre near the Loreto subway stop (5-10mins walk from the hotel).

Rooms were basic but adequate. Service was ok with most staff being able to communicate in English.

Would not recommend for a romantic getaway but as a cheap bed for a couple of nights - perfectly fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
Hotel Gamma
Hotel Gamma
#246 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Dieci
Hotel Dieci
#233 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Hotel Florence
#114 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bicocca
ADI Doria Grand Hotel
ADI Doria Grand Hotel
#108 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#23 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardia

Property: Hotel Lombardia
Address: Viale Lombardia 74/76, 20131 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#140 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lombardia 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lombardia Milano boasts over 40 years of extensive experience in the hospitality field in Milan. Its recent restructuring and the change in ownership have brought the hotel back to its original splendor. Our fine services have remained the same but they've been streamlined so as to adapt them to modern needs. For example, our cuisine has been modified and now offers a faster service but it is also tailored to the customer's needs. The hotel's location, which is close to Piazzale Loreto, Corso Buenos Aires and not far from the Citta Studi and its prestigious Politecnico di Milano, the National Cancer Institute and the Besta Neurological Hospital, can be considered as a sort of stronghold of hospitality right in the Milan city center. The Hotel Lombardia rooms are quite spacious and are very luminous and well cared for. They all overlook the inside of the building: they're very quiet and offer a peaceful view over the garden There are one or two room apartments that can accommodate 2 to 5 people. All apartments overlook the building's inner garden. The hotel has a small Conference Center with 4 conference rooms that can facilitate between 10 and 100 people and are enhanced with natural light. The event installation can be modulated and the rooms are equipped with a video projector, sound system, (Wi-Fi) internet connection and speaking lecterns on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Lombardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardia Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing