We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible place”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of MacMahon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MacMahon Hotel
Ranked #370 of 431 Hotels in Milan
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Never book to stay this hotel, why? because they scam your credit cards!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I book this hotel last year on july for 2 weeks throught booking dot com, when I was there, the room was so hot with lots of mosquitos, rooms are dirty too. I didnt mind on the first 2 days, then I left to stay another hotel, So I check out, The hotel staff told me they didn't charge my credit card, so I pay cash for those day i stay. after a months later, I found out that they had charge my credit card for over 500pounds, so I rang them up and ask for a refund, when I ask to speak to a manager, They keep tell me the same story, the manager will look after this, but now is almost 1 year now, they never refund my money.................

never stay in this hotel, it sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


scam!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank david8023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    3
    4
    9
See reviews for
1
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

We booked our 2 nights at Hotel MacMahon on Via Mac Mahon in Milan in May 2009. We arrived on the 18th Sept. 2009 to check in, we had our confirmation as well as our reservation no. However, upon checking in, they did not have our booking on their computer and could not accommodate us. The girl at the reception was kind enough to ring another hotel close by, saying the managers are good friends and help each other out. They had 2 rooms for us and we had to pay the other hotel, which we did. After a few days, we checked our bank details on computer and hotel Mac Mahon had charged us for the 2 nights anyway. We have spoken to the hotel manager Marcello and e-mailed many times to no avail. E-mails are not answered and all of a sudden he does not speak English anymore. We are still trying to get our money back through other means. We cannot tell you anything about the hotel, since we never made it past the tiny reception area.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank joma09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights with my aunt. One of the male evening receptionists who also served the breakfast was incredily rude. It was so bad that it became funny but if you want customer service this is probably not the place and the customer is not always right! The rest of the staff were pleasant, the room fine and breakfast satisfactory. Good location for the no 12 tram for easy access to Milan central. At a push I would stay again as resonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerEM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

This hotel has had some bad reviews but they were not granted. Yeah its not 5 star luxury but its not gonna be for the price. Its location is away from the city centre but only 15 mins by tram which runs regular past the hotel so it is very convenient. Locally there were some excellent restaurants serving good italian food so there was no need to travel to the centre in the evening. The breakfast was good. All in all a very satisfactory stay in a brilliant hotel if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soph8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

We had a confirmed booking with this hotel for the Grand Prix weekend. The confirmation email was dated January 2009. The hotel had sold our reserved room to another guest at a higher price than we had paid.

When we turned up on the Friday evening the manager blamed a computer crash, demanded we left the premesis and was aggressive on numerous occasions.

Avoid this hotel at all costs

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToucheUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

We had asked for a "quiet" room and were given a room that faced the main road with trams and 2 lanes of traffic racing up and down all night. We couldn't close the french doors because the room smelt so bad - there was huge wet stain which smelt like effluent on the floor leaking from the room next door. We asked for a change of room and the concierge just shrugged. It was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwisonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

Just back from a couple of days in Milan.
This hotel was ideal for a few nights. Although not on the Metro line the Number 12 tram stopped right outside.
Rooms were clean, beds comfy. Breakfast was adequate.
Travelling in Milan - buy a daily ticket for 3 euros for unlimited metro tram and bus travel.Just make sure that you are going in the right direction!
TIP - buy earplugs , there appear to be a vast number of ambulances plying their trade in the vicinity, at all hours!

  • Liked — easy to find
  • Disliked — the noise from the street
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwifecazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.0 mi away
Corallo
Corallo
#334 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bogart 2
Hotel Bogart 2
#301 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Losanna
Hotel Losanna
#203 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Piccolo Hotel
Piccolo Hotel
#155 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Certosa Hotel
Certosa Hotel
#273 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Qualys Hotel Nasco
Qualys Hotel Nasco
#90 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacMahon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacMahon Hotel

Property: MacMahon Hotel
Address: Via Mac Mahon 45/A, 20155 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your MacMahon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macmahon Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing