We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit dark and noisy, but great location”
Review of Hotel dore'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel dore'
Ranked #153 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bit dark and noisy, but great location”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I found this hotel very noisy and it had a bit of a depressed feel to it, I´m sorry to say! The breakfast was also measly to say the least! On the plus side, the staff were nice, the location was excellent and the price was good! I wouldn´t stay again though. I paid extra to stay nearby in what I thought was a much nicer hotel. Good if you are on a budget and have some decent ear-plugs perhaps.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellnLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    116
    39
    11
    15
See reviews for
32
40
66
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Great location, it's pretty close to the metro station. our room was nice and clean everything worked.. The owner looked and was grumpy most of our stay but the rest of the staff were great. Would recommend this place to all if you don't want to spend too much for accomodation. Loads of restaurants and shops about two minutes away. So a nice little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameerpa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

close to Loreto Metro Station. less than 2 km from main railway station. the owner lokks rude but he can smile especially if you are wrong with your way to your room after he just told you :)
small room but very well equipped. Clean. Good breakfast
Found better price on their website more on than booking.com

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosci68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Stayed here with a mate for 2 nights when Spurs played AC Milan in the Champs League - booked a twin room but on arrival (as they were full) we given 2 single rooms at the same price which was fine.
Both rooms spotlessly clean. Beds very comfortable - slept well on both nights. Good/clean en suite shower/bathroom.
Great location, just 2 min from the Loreto metro station which is centrally positioned.
Staff very helpful - the weather was very wet so they suggested some indoors sites to see. Also let me use their internt at 4am when I realised that I hadnt checked in for my flight later that day.
The breakfast is basic but adequate for the size & rating for the hotel - cereal, croissant, coffee, juice, toast & jam.
If visiting Milan again, I would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JG-sita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed here 2 nights during our honeymoon. The front desk staff/management are very stingy with their air conditioning. The room was hot and they did not turn on the a/c for about 24 hours. Then when they did after we complained, they turned it off again 4 hours later. Woke up hot, couldn't sleep. Had to complain. Then, during the middle of the night someone unlocked our door and opened the door. Yikes! No idea who. The internet connection didn't work, since it wasn't wi-fi and all we had was iPhones. Finally, the breakfast was very skimpy. One coffee and one plain croissant basically. The location was very near the underground which was handy.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jentuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

This hotel listed itself as a three-star, air conditioned hotel, yet in August (during 90+ degree heat), it shut off the air conditioning between 2 a.m. and 6 a.m. in the morning and then again at 10 a.m. despite advertising the rooms as having "individual thermostat control." This forced us to open street-side windows and swelter while listening to sirens and drunks and traffic horns. The hotel front desk clerk (he did speak English well enough to know how frustrated we were) claimed the air was on a timer, and if we wanted air 24 hours we would have to pay three times the price quoted and booked through Venere. It made no sense -- we didn't need the air while we're gone all day sightseeing; just to beat the heat and humidity at night. We agreed to the extortion rate, but the management didn't impose it the second night after our ensuing and miserable parking experience. The front desk staff had recommended upon our check-in, when we found streetside parking, that we move the car in the morning (for 13 euro per night - about $20). He advised using the parking garage next door called the Dore Park (same as hotel), but he failed to mention that if guests move their cars there at night or in the early morning, they won't be able to get them out until 7:30 that night After moving the car there at 8 a.m. and taking the nearby Metro to shop, we returned to find it locked up tight at noon. There were no signs, in English or Italian, advising of this "little inconvenience." The hotel front desk said "not our car park, not our problem" (even though they directed us to it). We lost the use of our vehicle for an entire day and had to pay nearly $90 extra dollars to take the family via train to Lake Como for a planned visit. We also failed to get to Switzerland because of this.

The room was extraordinarily clean, however, and the subway stop was close by, but that didn't compensate for the other flaws. The breakfast was also an afterthought. Lots of dry carbs, no protein. Lake Como is goregous compared to the industrial city of Milan, so we recommend hitting the Armani outlet store en route to Como and stay on the lake instead. If you really want to see Milan, it's only a 30 minute drive from Como (if you can get to your car!).

  • Liked — Gleaming clean bathroom
  • Disliked — Turning off the air at 2 a.m. in the morning
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJcolumnist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2008

The room was spacious with twin beds and a single bed. It was clean and very comfortable with towels changed daily. Lift was always in working order. The reception staff were polite and friendly. The mini-bar in the room provided the cheapest drinks we had found in Milan however there were no tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom. Breakfast was adequate. The biggest disappointment was the lack of bars/cafe's or the opening/closing times of the cafe bars that existed in the surrounding area. However, it was very close to the metro station which was very convenient to travel into the city centre. Overall good and we would recommend it.

  • Liked — Large clean room
  • Disliked — No tea coffee facilities in room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Offertonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Porta Venezia
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#220 of 428 in Milan
215 reviews
Hotel San Biagio
#180 of 428 in Milan
39 reviews
Centro Storico
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#311 of 428 in Milan
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#202 of 428 in Milan
183 reviews
VIVA Hotel Milano
#162 of 428 in Milan
122 reviews
Aspromonte Hotel
#151 of 428 in Milan
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dore'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dore'

Property: Hotel dore'
Address: Via Nicolo' Paganini 7, 20131 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dore' 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel dore' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dore Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing