We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable.”
Review of Hotel dore'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel dore'
Ranked #96 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Within walking distance of the Central train station, as well as the Cathedral and shopping area, and metro stops. There are some nearby shops/restaurants, but unfortunately most seem to be closed by 9-10pm. Except the GROM is open late for yummy gelato! Friendly English-speaking staff and ok breakfast with made-to-order cappuccino. One morning we were awakened by loud hammering, but otherwise a good stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sssmry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our stay was merely okay. This hotel is located in a quiet area and is close to the metro. The train station and many tourist attractions are a short hop away. Reception was unprofessional as they watched television at the front desk and did not speak much English. Our room was clean but looked very bland and the washroom was very small. Free wifi was available. The breakfast did not offer many choices and croissants seemed old but the staff member did try his best to take care of the guests. All in all, nothing really stood out about our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent position. At 2 min by walk from the metro station and close to one of the biggest shopping areas of the city (Corso Buenos Aires). Rooms and bathroom are well equiped and clean. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Good relationship quality/price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPGlobetrotter85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel was a 10 minute taxi ride from Milan station (10 euros) and location wasn't too bad apart from the prostitutes around the area late at night! Room was a big size and was clean with a good sized clean bathroom, friendly and helpful staff with delicious coffee and breakfast. Air con wasn't that great and a bit noisy but it done the job! Bit of a walk into centre of Milan but metro stop very close by. I'll give it 5 out 10.

1  Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were quite disappointed by the hotel.

Airco was not working... and it was very hot (July 2013). What's the point of having an airco system if it is turned off during the warm days?

In general the hotel is a bit gloomy. The room (4 people) was rather small and the neon lights (awful!) shed an unpleasant atmosphere. The bathroom however was quite alright, the shower was good.

Breakfast was okish. Good coffee and hot chocolate for the children. Croissants were a bit old, yoghurt was industrial with some chemical aromas.

Service was average due to language barrier as their English is not very good. However they seem very kind and would probably be much more helpful if we would speak to them in Italian.

However we found the location excellent as it is very close to the metro. You can be at the Duomo in a few minutes, there are a few cafes with terraces in the neighborhood.

All in all, I would not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eud0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Arrived at the hotel today at this accommodation while having booked a special deal via Booking.com with 50% discount. The hotel didn't want to accept the price they put on Booking.com and forced me (before) to pay double the amount. I told them I won't agree and Booking arranged the original price for me. Now I arrived at the hotel and they forced me to pay extra - eventually I did because it was late and I wanted to sleep.

After I paid they refused me to stay at their hotel and sent me away! Never experienced this before... Total ripoff :(. Went to an other hotel and contacted Booking for help. They assisted and said they'll temponairy remove this hotel from their site due to their behaviour.

Also a tip: when you become difficult the employees suddenly don't understand English anymore. Don't believe them, they only try to get rid of you easely with this weak excuse.

Room Tip: Just don't book any room :) will give you a better Milan experience and mood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Milan is expensive... this hotel is cheap. Stayed here last year.
Staff is ok, breakfast is meh. Tourist class hotel all the way... you don't want to spend much time here. But it is near a subway stop and is only about 3 stops away from the main piazza. Not much more than a bedroom and a tiny (teetering on moldy) bathroom.

Stay here ONLY if you need to for budget sake. If I had the choice, I would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Porta Venezia
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#240 of 428 in Milan
226 reviews
Hotel San Biagio
#186 of 428 in Milan
62 reviews
Porta Venezia
Aurelia Hotel
Aurelia Hotel
#282 of 428 in Milan
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Girasole
#144 of 428 in Milan
219 reviews
Agape Hotel
#154 of 428 in Milan
480 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#41 of 428 in Milan
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dore'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dore'

Address: Via Nicolo' Paganini 7, 20131 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £45 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dore' 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel dore' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dore Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing