We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Molto Gentile! (So Nice!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Girasole
Ranked #125 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Molto Gentile! (So Nice!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I really can't say enough about Il Girasole and Nicola and Matteo. I had just arrived after a 20+ hour trip and they made me feel welcome and comfortable. The room was spotless and was much bigger and nicer than I expected for a single/standard. I could not believe there was a little kitchenette! It was such a good experience that I am going back at the end of my trip before my plane leaves from Milan. It is true that it is not in the City center, but after the hustle and bustle of Milan, it is tranquil, and the subway is easy to navigate (takes about 20 minutes at most). And, above all, Nicola and Matteo are happy to help you with any questions, directions, etc. I highly recommend Il Girasole!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hopenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    48
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
79
22
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Floridian in Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We came for less than 24 hours to see the James Taylor concert at the nearby Teatro Archimboldi. Thanks to Trip Advisor, I found this lovely hotel. I emailed ahead to ensure it was as close to the venue as I thought, ask for dinner recommendations, etc. I am not sure which brother replied or which one met us at checkin, but they were fabulous. Communications wer perfect - via email, the phone, and in person.

About a 15 euro taxi from the main station (could have done public transport but not enough time), they met us at check-in, offered a coffee or beer, checked us in quickly, helped us book dinner (with complimentary transportation!!), arranged our morning breakfast box (since we had to leave earlier than the buffet began) - all w/i 10 min. And...I must say that they were very GENUINE in their offer to be helpful. We stayed in the "FOOD" room (all the rooms have names - kinda cute) which we found to be absolutely immaculate - Swiss standards even! By European standards, it was perfectly appointed - minimal but tasteful decor (loved the colorful tiles in the bathroom!), towels, even a small kitchen-type corner. We laughed at the "tv" - which looked like a wall mounted computer screen. But..we weren't there to watch tv - we never even turned it on.

We left at 6:30 am and one of the brothers was up early to make sure we didn't miss it! SO nice. :)

We didn't walk around much but to/from the restaurant and theater, it looked very friendly, safe, clean - a city-style suburb.

I would definitely recommend this place and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ufgator27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel in March 2012. It is a reconstructed bicycle manufacturing facility that has been totally reconstructed by two brothers as a bed and breakfast. Although it is basic, it was absolutely immaculate in all respects. It is an area off the beaten track in Milan but a short 14 minute underground ride to the Duomo/shopping section of the city center. The area was friendly with a great small Pizza/Pasta place very near by. Your car is safely parked in a totally secure area of the property. We are used to four and five stars but not ready for those prices in Milan. The brothers were great hosts.

Room Tip: The Olmo in the rear was a nice choice. Rooms are named not numbered. An Olmo is the tree outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JL1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Brothers Nicola and Matteo were the most welcoming hosts and insured our time in Milan was most enjoyable. Would highly recommend this gem of a b and b/hotel. In a city were accommodations are extremely expensive this place was very affordable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukonklp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We loved the hotel. Everything from comfort to service and location was exceptional. The hotel is beautiful overlooking.Staying there was a memorable experience. I would definitely choose this hotel when returning again to Milan.

February 2012

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I.O.W.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very handy for Metro but in quiet street. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shankliniow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

This is a lovely hotel,a nice warm welcoming,we chose II Girasole because of other reviews we read,everything is perfect,our room was superior,clean,enough large and also good location,thank you to all the staff,we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan North
0.6 mi away
Hotel degli Arcimboldi
Hotel degli Arcimboldi
#121 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Delizia
Hotel Delizia
#189 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#117 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Starhotels Tourist
Starhotels Tourist
#96 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
#69 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Girasole

Property: Il Girasole
Address: Via Doberdo' 19, 20126 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Girasole 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing