We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to feel at home, you need to stay here....”
Review of Il Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Girasole
Ranked #149 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

It was a pleasure before we even arrived, lots of helpful communications and emails to enable us to arrive safe and sound, then, the real service begins.....Our hosts Matteo and Nicola make you feel at home in Milano and at home with them from the minute you arrive, the sort of personal touch you just don't get....great guys. The hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes from the centre of Milan by the very easy to use Metro system and the station is less than 5 minutes walk. On our first night Matteo gave us a quick overview of where we were, how to get out and about, cool places to go and great places to eat, places they have actually tried out and know if its a good or bad experience., we arrived around 1am but still we were welcomed and not rushed into our room, taking a cool beer to chill out after a hot journey. Next day, Nicola walk us through the map of Milano city centre, the sights, best places to go, places away from tourist spots to sample Milan like a local, really great information that made our trip more enjoyable....then he pops up and says, "well, you are staying for 4 nights, you could go to Como, its only 30 minutes by train" . Sunday morning we did go to Como, 5 minutes to the metro, 10 minutes to the central station, caught a train, easy, in Lake Como in well less than 90 minutes door to door so to speak, what a cool change from the city and an easy easy trip to make for the day. This is a great base away from the city centre, quiet and simple, good breakfast with plenty of chatter with the hosts and guests, this is not you normal hotel, thank goodness, small and friendly with a capital 'F'. Stay here, you can't go wrong, we will return to Milan and this is where we will stay, its like staying with friends, ones you really enjoy being with all the time. Thanks guys, "Five Stars" , just perfect. Marketa & Mike (Czech Republic)

Room Tip: Rooms are simple and beautifully clean every day, take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marketa_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

Our hosts Nicola and Matteo made sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. they helped with train schedules and suggestions about the Metro and taxis. The B&B is located convenient to the Metro line, and our hosts has plenty of suggestions for restaurants. Rooms are spotless and breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed being in a real neighborhood and away from traffic.Sitting on the patio was great and meeting the host's family was a plus. we recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pchTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

First and foremost STAY HERE.

I have never had a hotel email me personally before my stay to check on how I want the bedrooms arranged! The service just got better when we arrived. Matteo was the very best host and incredibly helpful and friendly - it was like staying with friends!!

The hotel itself is in a residential area and you could easily miss it, but it is only 200m from the Metro and 15 minutes to Duomo so no problem there. The hotel is quirky but very nice - if you want 5* luxury this won't be right but if you want a really friendly place to stay in Milan it gets it's own 5 stars! There is no restaurant but Matteo can make arrangements with some excellent local restaurants - the one we went to you would never find but it was great and they even drove us back to the hotel after!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_R_12661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at Il Girasole for 2 nights, in a bright and cheerful triple room. The room was very spacious, with a separate room for the single bed. The building was clean and airy, and had a neat hidden patio. Air conditioning worked great, and we really needed it. The breakfast was great. The best part was the host -- he gave us a map of the area and the subway system, described a great neighborhood for "non-touristic" restaurants (and both La Brera restaraunts we tried were excellent) and gave us some great tips for sightseeing and shopping. We had to check out very early to catch our plane, and the host booked our taxi and even left a breakfast box in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had an overnight stay here on our way to Nice and we were pleasantly surprised. It is a wonderful little place off the beaten path. The rooms are spacious, very clean and decorated with a simple but artistic style. The staff was very friendly and as we arrived late provided us with sodas and juice. Breakfast was included. We are not really breakfast people so cappuccino and a croissant was enough for us. We didn't look at the the other fare. They also have a nice little patio in the back for breakfast or just hanging out. We enjoyed our brief stay and hope to return.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank amber9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights at Il Girasole, and really enjoyed the warm welcome and exquisite room there.

Above all, it is about Nicola and Matteo and how much they dedicate to welcome you and make sure your stay in Milan is as perfect as possible. And that includes suggestions and explanations about the city. The size of this previous B&B allows them to be better focused on each guest while having the professionalism of the best hotels. And that counts a lot.

The rooms are very clean, well equipped and nicely decorated. Each room is unique and there are those small details that make you think "oh, nice!". Yes, there's a kitchenette. And while I thought that we wouldn't use it, it really came in handy! If I can find one drawback, it would be that in the rooms just below the roof on the street side, you'll hear the birds walking on the roof, which can be noisy in the morning.

Despite not being in the city center, Il Girasole location is very good. The metro station is just nearby and it's quite simple to reach most relevant area. I found out it is easy to find place for your car nearby and parking is free on afternoon and on week-end. You can however park your car inside the hotel for more convenience.

Room Tip: Rooms just below the roof on the street side can be a little noisy if some bird decides to land ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I just spent 3 nights at Il Girasole, and can't think of anything negative to say about it. The hosts went out of their way to help me with any and all questions. The room was clean and quiet and unique, and had a small kitchenette. The neighborhood was off the beaten path; and an easy, direct subway ride to anywhere in Milan; and using the subway or trams means you see parts of Milan you'd probably miss if you stay right downtown. I highly recommend Il Girasole if you're looking for a friendly, quiet, unique hotel experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stubby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Delizia
Hotel Delizia
#192 of 431 in Milan
192 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Rafael
Hotel Rafael
#160 of 431 in Milan
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Starhotels Tourist
Starhotels Tourist
#81 of 431 in Milan
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
VIVA Hotel Milano
VIVA Hotel Milano
#150 of 431 in Milan
180 reviews
7.6 mi away
Alga
Alga
#224 of 431 in Milan
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel degli Arcimboldi
Hotel degli Arcimboldi
#127 of 431 in Milan
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Girasole

Address: Via Doberdo' 19, 20126 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £68 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Girasole 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing