We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very kind and helpful owners”
Review of Il Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Girasole
Ranked #118 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very kind and helpful owners”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at Il Girasole for 1 night in September. It is about 15 mins out on the red line from the City Centre – cost 1.5 euro
It is an unusual quirky hotel – very stylish. You do need to keep your eye out and not walk past it as we did! Signage is very discreet. Nic was invaluable in telling us where to go in Milan and what to do (ask about Apperitivo hour!)
Unfortunately after we left my wallet was stolen on the way into Milan central station. We were upset and decided to go back to the hotel (even though we had checked out) as Nic had been so helpful. He helped us report the loss to everyone and even offered to lend us money. We were soon back on Metro and successfully made our way to Lake Como

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simongeorgep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    48
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
79
22
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at IL GIRASOLE for 4 nights in August and the beginning of September. It was a great experience and we would stay there again without hesitation. The B and B/ hotel was very clean and comfortable. Metro access to all of Milan's sites and public transport to the airport was very easy.

However, the best thing about this place is the two brothers - Nicola and Matteo - who own and operate Il Girasole. They repeatedly went out of their way to help us. These guys were simply fantastic with everything we needed and they truly enjoyed helping their guests with whatever was requested. The service was absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dougak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I've used TripAdvisor numerous times to help make a decision on where to stay or what to see but I've always been too lazy to write a review ... until now.

Matteo and Nic were fantastic, possibly the most helpful and enthusiastic owners I have ever come across. They made you feel as if you were staying at home.

Before all that however, when I booked I had an email from them to explain the best way to get from Monza to Il Girasole. I'd also asked if we could arrive early and leave our bags as we were coming straight from the camp site in Monza and so would be there before check in time. I had an email and text to say that they were expecting us and the room would be ready ... and it was. When we arrived at 11am, not only was the room ready but we were greeted with a warm reception, coffee and a pastry. Matteo then spent a good 10 mins explaining the best way to do a whistle-stop tour of Madrid as we only had one afternoon before returning to Scotland.

The room itself was fantastic, clean, tidy, roomy, air-conditioned, newly decked out bathroom with amazing power shower. Location wise, it's within a 5 minute walk to the metro station and only a few stops from the city centre ... so it was easy for us to arrive from Monza and just as simple to get our bus from Milan Central Station to Malpensa Airport.

And all this when we we're only staying 1 night. We will definitely be going back for a longer stay and to see more of Milan.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalcrommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just stayed at Il Girasole and cannot say enough about it! Nic and Matteo were as fantastic as anyone I have ever met! They made us feel welcome and catered to our every need. Rooms were very clean and nice and the metro was no more than 5 minutes away. I will absolutely stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone staying in Milan. Neighborhood was safe late at night and the breakfast in the morning was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Posner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Very welcoming. Early check-in accommodated with coffee and croissants on arrival. Service faultless. Email received ahead of visit to confirm if double or single beds would be preferred. Travel and restaurant advice spot on. Our trip to Monza Grand Prix was effortless as a result of the service we received. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichellABurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Il Girasole is a small hotel with bed & breakfast style accommodations located in a quiet residential neighborhood a short walk from a stop on the main Metro line of Milan. Mateo and Nicola are the perfect hosts, they are always smiling and always ready to help with any information or assistance that would make our stay easier. They are knowledgeable about Milan and very helpful with restaurant and travel arrangements. The rooms were very clean and well-supplied. The continental breakfast and coffee service hit the spot. While we have stayed at more luxurious hotels, I can't remember ever having friendlier service than that at Il Girasole. We would stay there again with pleasure.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mmomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Being very honest, when I first saw the reviews and photos about Il Girasole I was doubting it would be that good. It didn't seem right. My expectations started to change when a couple of days before my trip I received a very kind email from Nicola and MAteo (brothers and owners of the place) confirming my booking and giving me all the necessary directions to get tothe hotel. I booked a transfer from the train station to the hotel with Mateo (same price of getting a taxi) and was impressed with his cordiality. We arrived at the hotel at midnight and we were starving. It is a very small hotel so we realized it wouldn't have any room service at that time. Mateo noticed our needs and said that it was not a problem... In 10 min he brought us a pizza at our room. And it was delicious!! The room was extremely clean with everything you need in a hotel... but the best thing about it is that it doesn't look like a hotel at all! It looks like you are staying on a country side house in the middle of one of the largest cities in Italy. You feel like home there. Every tiny detail in this hotel makes the difference and that's why it is so special. Oh! And also because of the lovely brothers who run the place - Mateo and Nicola. Thanks guys! Milan was even more special because of this place!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiki563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan North
0.6 mi away
Hotel degli Arcimboldi
Hotel degli Arcimboldi
#120 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Delizia
Hotel Delizia
#191 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#114 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Starhotels Tourist
Starhotels Tourist
#90 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
#72 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Girasole

Property: Il Girasole
Address: Via Doberdo' 19, 20126 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Girasole 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing