We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Hotel for the price you pay”
Review of Gambara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gambara Hotel
Ranked #257 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked for 3 nights in this hotel for a bargain through internet. We wanted just to sleep and all day we were outside. It is located just 200m fro Red line Metro which is the best! It is what it says and I totally recommend this hotel. So, lovely that they could provide us for free with a nice espresso and really clean rooms!

Room Tip: Room 12 has a very nice balcony, if you are on a sunny day with no wid you can enjoy a coffee in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgespyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed 2 night at the Gambara Hotel and I must say it is not the best hotel I ever seen but having payed something like 60 euro per night I have nothing to complaint about!

The hotel looks old but the room are in good condition and they clean and change towels every day.

It true that the hot water is very limited and you need to take a very quick shower but it is enough to get yourself clean! Do you really need to get 30 min shower when you are traveling??? go out and enjoy the city, for 60 euro/night what do you expect? a Sauna?

The staff is very kind and helpful and they speak english too (a bit funny english but enough to be understood eheh).

The hotel is not far from the city centre, just take the underground (the station "Bande Nere") is right behind the hotel) and in 15 min you will be in front of the Duomo. It is also close to San Siro, you can take a bus or walk (20-30 min).

Overall: absolutely a good choice if your intention is to enjoy the city and save money without expecting any luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

For what I paid for my single room, the hotel was quite far from the centre of Milan (though close to Gambara metro station so not too long a commute), my room was absolutely tiny - the smallest I've ever seen - and the hot water did not last longer than five minutes.
The floor was dirty and the room smelled like smoke when I arrived. I'd requested a non-smoking room, but there was an ashtray on the desk when I checked in.
There was a very rickety spiral staircase to get to the lower floor which creaked a lot and did not feel very sturdy.
There was no smoke alarm in my room, though I am not sure whether or not this is the norm in Italy (though there were smoke alarms in my rooms in Florence and Rome).
To lock the room from both the outside and the inside the key was required.
My room was cleaned only once during my four night stay.

The staff were friendly and helpful but I thought the room was overpriced for what it was. I had much nicer accommodation (excellent location and larger, cleaner, nicer room) in Florence for €10 less per night.

I am not one to complain about basic hotel rooms (I'm there to see the city, not to stay in the hotel all day!) but I felt that the room did not reflect the price I paid for it and while I'm okay with basics - 5 minute showers, dirty floors and smoky rooms are not what I expected to come across.


The only good thing about this hotel is the location. 2 minute walk to metro and a supermercato.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a private bathroom if you require this - some of the rooms have shared bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kared13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Hotel Gambara is not exactly in the centrum, but it is a short walk to San Siro stadium (I travelled with my brother and father, so they wanted to go) and there is a metro station around the corner. We had free parking outside, in front of the hotel on the street.
We had a triple room, 3 single beds, TV, sink and shower in the room. At the end of corridor, there was a shared bathroom and toilet, which we used, it was OK. There is a steep staircase from the floor we were staying leading (I suppose) to some other rooms.
The hotel is on the second floor, there is an old fashioned lift, so its not a problem, if you have lots of luggages. The people at the reception was really nice, providing us with tourist maps and advising, where to get off a metro, so we get off at the Castello Sforzesco (I cant remember the name of metro station, maybe the same?), which was beautiful, and then walked to piazza del Duomo. the metro ticket cost 1 euro one journey/person.
the room was clean and big (no balcony) but big window. there can be a noise from the traffic at the morning, but we didn´t mind, as i was up early in the morning and just sitting in the window and enjoying the feeling, that its a real Milan.
there is no airconditioning, but there is a big fan, so it was enough.
there is a big supermarket just across the street (3 minutes walk). there is a roundabout.
we arrived at 9 pm, then went for a drink (after driving all day). Beer was about 4 euro.
You can buy some water and other beverages at the reception, which I appreciated.
No frills hotel, but I really liked it and I was satisfied. I would go there again. We stayed there 2 nights (July 2010) for 120 euro total.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enike101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The only advantage of this hotel - is location - not far from Gamgara Metro station. Hotel is dirty, old and disgusting. Better to pay more money and stay in some real hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lilizav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

spent there 3 nights, location and service are excellent. good experience, though obviously nothing fancy. if you are looking for a cheap, clean hotel for short stays, it might be your perfect choice. very well connected to subway, supermarket on the corner. reception is 24/7, they were always ready to help us. warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Hotel Gambara is a awful hotel. You only could shower with hot water 5 minutes, then you must wait 45 minutes till cold water turn hot~ This hotel don't show this situation in Booking Website, but they have the announcement on the bathroom's door, so they think they have let customers know,they don't have responsibility~ Because I didn't notice the annoucement, so I showered cold water in the cold weather~ I coundn't continued the shower, then I told the manager in hotel, he said he can't do anything,because he has announced in the door, he can't changed room and can't refund, and he said the room only 40 euro for 1 night, I only deserved to it~This hotel have another problem,the only socket in the room is near the ceiling(very high) and you must remove the pin of television, then you could charge the battery~If the manager concern the environment, he should save water,energy in his house, not from guest~

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeyers1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Edy
#240 of 428 in Milan
237 reviews
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#304 of 428 in Milan
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porta Venezia
Del Sole
Del Sole
#262 of 428 in Milan
93 reviews
Milano Hotel America
#297 of 428 in Milan
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gambara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gambara Hotel

Address: Via Fra' Galgario 4, 20146 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £38 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Gambara Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Gambara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gambara Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing