We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy, but great value for money”
Review of Hotel Colombia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colombia
Ranked #152 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but great value for money”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The position is great, just 2 min walk from Milano Centrale Railway station, and just 10 min away from the lively shopping and nightlife district of Porta Venezia and Corso Buenos Aires. The rooms are small, but the bathroom is pretty large in proportion, you have free Internet with the cable, and wifi is 5€ per week. Also the breakfast is pretty good: very varied for the Italian standard, with juices, cheese, ham and pastries.
The guys at the reception are very kind and helpful, except one very rude night guardian. And it also has a nice garden and a gym.
At the end, as I said in the title, not a fancy hotel, but unless you want to spend a lot of time in the hotel room, the price makes it one of my favorite choices when visiting Milano in the weekend

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Simonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    121
    50
    13
    9
See reviews for
18
42
47
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I booked this hotel in a hurry, based on its location, its TripAdvisor ratings and the price. I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, my room was small and the walls/ceiling were thin, but the room was modern, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was simple, but varied with different fresh fruit on offer. I found the staff very helpful and the charges for extras (wi-fi, phone calls, mini-bar, coffee in the lounge) were very reasonable. I will be back and will be recommending it to work colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I was a bit apprehensive of this place after reading the comments here, but found it perfectly OK for a business trip where I spent very little time in the room.

The outside temperature was 30-35 degrees for the few days I was there and the AC was perfectly able to keep the room cool during the evening and nights.

The breakfast is decent; fresh croissants, cold meats, yoghurt and scrambled eggs. The coffee sitting out was OK, but you can also request coffee from the kitchen staff.

The service isn't happy smiley, but it's not rude.

If you want to find the BBC on the TV, go to channel 1 and hit the channel down button.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I had an overnight stay in Milan and needed to catch an early train so I walked around the area looking for a hotel. I passed many but something compelled me to go into the Hotel Colombia. The guy on the front desk gave me a better than advertised rate. The room was on the first floor and easily accessible. I was truly amazed when I got inside. The room was small which didn't bother me because I was a female traveling alone. It was modern, very clean, the bed was comfy, it had wonderful toiletries (Fragonard), lots of towels, slippers, and room service with reasonably priced choices. I travel to Milan frequently and I'm happy to say I've found my go-to hotel!

Room Tip: I don't know what it's like to stay on a higher floor, but the first floor is excellent if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We thought this hotel would be fantastic for an apparent 4 star hotel! The rooms was very clean but small!! The air con is a joke! The room was very hot! I went and complained and was told that the technician was coming to fix the problem ( sounded like a very good lie)although the lobby was very well air conditioned!! The staff weren't the friendliest either! We stayed at the hotel Berna around the corner a couple days a go and that was fantastic! We were upset we couldn't stay there but they were fully booked! Stear clear of the Colombia and book at the Berna around the corner!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaynet07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Hotel Colombia, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Customer,
thank you for your message, it's very important for us to know when guests are not satisfied. We apologize for the inconvenience and we inform you that the air conditioning is working perfectly in all rooms and public spaces. We hope to have you again as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The hotel was at a great location near the central station. The service was always friendly, rooms were clean and cosy, the breakfast was variant and tasty. I would choose the hotel again when travelling back to lovely Milan!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Recently stayed at the Colomiba Hotel as part of 3-day rail trip booked out of Zurich and found it to be a good location with easy accessability to both the main railway and underground stations. It is rated as 3.5 stars in the rail travel guide and that is what I found it to be a decent tourist class hotel. Asked for a quiet room overlooking the courtyard and this was no problem for the desk staff who I found to be extremely pleasant and helpful during our stay. Our room on the third floor was a reasonable size, minimalist decor, clean carpet (v. important!) with a long narrow bathroom decked out in marble - all spotlessly clean. The shower cabin is quite small and could be a problem for larger bodies however (you might want to request a room with a bath). Had a drink outside in the courtyard area and can imagine that it would be particularly nice in the warmer months. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby which offer great food at decent prices . One great patisserie/cafe/restaurant is right on the corner next to the railway station - great for a coffee and a fantastic panini or pizza. Would I use the Colombia again? most definitely - in fact enjoyed Milan so much am planning another trip before returning to Australian in March.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieAbroad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#86 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Auriga
Hotel Auriga
#159 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#170 of 427 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#39 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombia

Property: Hotel Colombia
Address: Via Roberto Lepetit 15, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in Milan
#115 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Fifties building, in the heart of the Central Station district, this boutique hotel offers style and comfort for a relaxing accomodation, at 4 underground stops from Duomo and Teatro alla Scala. Its 48 modern rooms and marble bathrooms are provided with all facilities. In addition guests will appreciate an elegant lounge bar, a large fitness area equipped with 8 Technogym machines and a quiet and lovely inner courtyard. Free wifi hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombia Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing