We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat, tidy, comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Colombia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colombia
Ranked #149 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A neat, tidy, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had a very short stay in Hotel Columbia, less than 24 hours. The location is very good, close to Milano Centrale station and yet not adjacent to it, in a quiet street, near a restaurant. It is 150 meters away from tram line1, which leads to the City historic center. The staff is polite, helpful, efficient, albeit in a very official and professional way. Breakfast is copious, the rooms are large. The beds are really comfortable ! We were allowed to our room one hour before official check-in time. This is officially a four-stars hotel. It is really decent, and overall it has nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadi_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    125
    50
    13
    9
See reviews for
19
44
49
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I picked the hotel because it was near my offices and near the train station. I liked it and will use it again on my next visit to Milan.

It has a pleasantly decorated foyer (see pics). Rooms are a bit basic and tired for a 4 star hotel but ok. Breakfast was nice. Good selection of cereals and cold meats. Cheese options were missing (triangle cheese only). The helpful waitresses will bring you a fresh cup of coffee, which is nice.

I would not rate this as a true 4 star hotel but I wanted something close to my office so it was ideal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have been in Milan 4 times while travelling on business, and this was my first time at Hotel Colombia. All of my other hotel experiences in Milan were positive but this one NOT so much. I would not stay here again and do not recommend this hotel unless you are looking for more of a budget travel experience where you can save money.

Positives -Colombia is within short walking distance from Milano Centrale train station. This was nice, considering that my train arrived in Milan at 11:30 PM. Breakfast buffet - typically included as in my instance - had full selection and was quite good. Also while sounding silly, their bath products provided in room are very nice smelling / quality.

Negatives - I was there during Fashion Week (albeit not for Fashion Week) and so price was elevated relative to standard rates. Upon check-in, the hotel was not even half full (as I could see from keys hanging on room boxes behind front desk) and I was placed right next to a room with a screaming baby around midnight. Since hotel was not full, I went to front desk and asked to be moved to quieter room. The second room I was given had the air conditioning unit / motor removed and no A/C at all. It was hot as can be and uncomfortable. When I went back to lobby and asked for a room with A/C (as advertised), I was given a third room which was quiet and still hot but at least an air conditioning unit was in the room and minimally functional. This entire check-in process took me about 45 minutes. The lobby person was rude and did not believe me that there was no A/C unit in the second room. After he went up there himself to verify, he came downstairs and offered an apology to me. Only then did I get a third and partially decent room.
I did not get a full night's sleep because I was hot in the room and annoyed after the experience I had upon check-in. I would not stay here again.
Rooms are also updated, beds hard/ comfortable, and walls need to be repainted (scuff marks, etc).

Points for consideration: I saw a few other hotels closer to train station that looked much nicer from the exterior. Two were right across street. Wish I would have stayed there instead.
If you want to be closer to Duomo & Galleria, there is a nice NH Hotel with better location.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Colombia is a 4star next to the central station. There are a few 4 star in this area and they are admittedly all good, unfortunately they're all also quite expensive. However for some form of luck I found a 2-night deal at 190 eur and I grabbed it, a 3 star in this area may cost the same if not more at the end of the day.

I have to say my expectatons were lived-up to: the staff was very nice, the lobby cosy and inviting with a design touch, the room was clean, modern and with a huge bathroom. There was no breakfast included, however at the corner of the same road is a bar with amazing cappuccinos, further to inviting sandwiches and pizzas if you're in the area for lunch

Bottom line, next time I plan a trip to Milan I'll try and stay here, it was a really good stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is conveniently located 5 minutes' walk from Milano Centrale. The decor is modern and clean. The room has a lot of storage, is very quiet, and includes free wi-fi and in-room safe. The breakfast buffet was quite varied and included coffee, juice, eggs (scrambled & hard boiled), cereals, meats, fruit & yogurt, breads & croissants, etc. There is a pleasant little garden area off the breakfast room where you can enjoy a drink from the bar. The English-speaking staff is also very friendly and helpful.

There is a computer and printer in the lobby area and a fitness center on the premises (which I did not see). Overall, a good value for all the amenities provided. When arriving from the train station, cross the taxi stand and then cross the road. The hotel is around the corner from Ristorante Giglio Rosso.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Thank you to the staff at Hotel Colombia, Milan. I thought I had a reservation for 3 nights, but the booking agency sent it to Hotel Colombia, Trieste by mistake. Nonetheless, the staff at Hotel Colombia, Milan were very helpful and went to alot of trouble to sort it out for me. I ended up staying there for 1 night. The room was clean, comfortable and suited me perfectly. Very well situated, close to the Milan Central railway station. The breakfast was also very good...I would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: If your booking agency makes a mistake with your booking, keep persisting with them to give you some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Essential, clean, standard rooms on the small side... but well run establishment offering the chance of moving in and around Milan at ease thanks to nearby Stazione di Milano Centrale (for touring outside Milan) and the underground/metro/tube station less than 5mins walk fm the hotel to explore the city itself. As it's nr the station it's also in proximity of main bus services linking the city to the various airports of Malpensa, Linate and Orio al Serio (Bergamo).
No tea/coffee facility in the room, but as for many Italian hotels one can get room service at the touch of a speed dialling button.

I stayed 5 days, it was better than many of the seedy hotels one may end up staying in in that area. The rating of "very good" may seem a little excessive, however it didn't seem fair to just give it an "average" considering what's out there in the same category.

I would visit again if I was going to Milan.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJT0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#78 of 428 in Milan
215 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Auriga
Hotel Auriga
#153 of 428 in Milan
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#146 of 428 in Milan
564 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#36 of 428 in Milan
751 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#145 of 428 in Milan
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombia

Property: Hotel Colombia
Address: Via Roberto Lepetit 15, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in Milan
#114 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombia 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Fifties building, in the heart of the Central Station district, this boutique hotel offers style and comfort for a relaxing accomodation, at 4 underground stops from Duomo and Teatro alla Scala. Its 48 modern rooms and marble bathrooms are provided with all facilities. In addition guests will appreciate an elegant lounge bar, a large fitness area equipped with 8 Technogym machines and a quiet and lovely inner courtyard. Free wifi hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombia Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing