We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Certosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certosa Hotel
Ranked #300 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I booked an hotel room here for 81 pounds (around 95 euro) per night on ratestogo.com; for the price, I found the room very clean and comfortable (and with free wi-fi). Breakfast is included, a simple one, but always a nice addition.
As other people said, is a bit outside the center of Milano, but you can reach it easily with public transportation. Overall, good value for the money

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filippo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank hudabarani
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The first thing that struck me as we got to the room was that the floors don't have carpet (they are cold tile no rugs). This wouldn't matter so much if it wasn't for the wonderful ability of carpet to muffle and absorb noise. I could hear our neighbors (who weren't being all that loud) really well. Every time a chair slid it was like it was there in the room with you. The room and its furnishing looked old and tired. I was a little shocked at how big the room was. It was by far the biggest hotel room I've been in in Europe. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillow was like a thin slab of concrete. The shower was possibly the smallest shower ever. My shoulders almost touched the sides. If you are larger than a average build man you may not fit in there. The hotel was clean but I wasn't impressed when house cleaning came in one morning without knocking.

I liked the free wifi which was fast by hotel standards. I thought the free breakfast was okay but it lacked options. You could choose from espresso, tea, 2 kinds of cold cuts, one kind of cheese, hard bread rolls, a few kinds of cereal, yogurt, and some various sweets. It all tasted good but I know that it fell short for my wife.

The hotel is right next to tram and bus stops but neither are all that user friendly to get around town with if you don't already know where you are going. There isn't much to do or see in the immediate area so you will have to travel some to enjoy your time there. If you want to go to a bar not to far away and love beer check out BQ Birra Artigianale di Qualita which you can reach from the #14 tram. Besides that this area lacks everything you want as a tourist (unless you need electronics because there is a Saturn across the street).

I didn't really like this hotel. I was a little surprised when I checked out that we had to pay the tourist tax of 18 euros for our 3 night stay (3 euros per person per night). This was one last negative aspect of my stay here. I wouldn't recommend this hotel and I would suggest looking elsewhere to stay in Milan. The area is run down and the hotel fits right in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank songoftheeclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

the hotel is a lovely old hotel situated about 30 minutes from the main centre. Unfortunately not too many restaurants in the area but there are a few within 5 minutes walking. Rooms are very clean and the breakfast is also OK. If the hotels in town are too expensive, this is a good option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hermann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and one should not ask for a better hotel.
Very clean
Friendly atmosphere and a very helpful staff.
The free WI FI is almost all time functioning.
Resonable buffet breakfast (no vegetables).
Very spacious rooms.
Good connection to the city center (bus 91,90) trolly 14
12 bus stops from "CENTRALE".

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Certosa Hotel is an excellent place to book in Milano. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Breakfast is served from 7-10 am and has a selection of pastries, bread, ham, cheese, salami, orange/grapefruit juice and great capuccinos/expresso coffee or teas.
Every person working in this hotel seemed really happy, with wonderful life conditions and willing to help. The rooms are super clean. The hotel is near the Fiera Milano City. You can get from the Hotel to the Duomo or Navigli by taking the tram # 14 across from the hotel. Taking the tram you arrive at the Duomo in 30 minutes. It is a very pleasant ride. If you need to reach the Train central station, you can take the bus number 90 or 91. It takes 30 minutes.
I would definitely come back to this place. The price was super convenient, the location very safe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IchinenLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

A small hotel located on a main road very close to the ring road. However the bedrooms are all located to the rear of the building and are quiet. The rooms are comfortable and spacious.

The staff are all pleasant and helpful.

The breakfast, as with lots of Italian hotels, is a trifle disappointing, but is served early.

A good location for The Fiera Milan -- a mere 10/15 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Visit the Qui si Mangia restaurant -- nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pambill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Berlino
#161 of 431 in Milan
586 reviews
Milano Hotel America
#307 of 431 in Milan
95 reviews
Hotel Accursio
#271 of 431 in Milan
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Edy
#244 of 431 in Milan
237 reviews
Città Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#306 of 431 in Milan
186 reviews
Lux Hotel Durante
#296 of 431 in Milan
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Certosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Certosa Hotel

Address: Viale Certosa 26, 20155 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £50 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Certosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Certosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Certosa Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing