We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like a good hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel di Porta Romana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel di Porta Romana
Ranked #415 of 430 Hotels in Milan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More like a good hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ok if you are looking for something cheap yet close to central milan. Do not expect a great standard - very basic and needs renovating. Definitely not a 3 star hotel but it's got a bed and shower and that was all we needed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    16
    26
    101
See reviews for
14
22
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was yelled at "yes yelled at" by a young chineese man for taking an apple up to the room from the meager free breakfast counter, he must have been related to the owner since he did this with complete impunity. We were made to feel like a nuisance everytime we came back to the hotel after a wonderful dinner on the town..... we began to dread having to see his pissed off face and expierence his bad attitude since he was the night guy and breakfast host from 7pm to 9 am everyday that we were there. Horrible! While the price was right, the service was TERRIBLE, the rooms were old, the shower leaked all over the floor, the sheets were thread bare, the comforter was so yellowed and old I was afraid to touch it. The location was great.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, it's not worth the savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easy2please123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Foligno, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Nightmare! ! ! Spider! "Towels" with hair! Dirty!!! Staff who speaks only Chinese!!! Breakfast...no comment! Please...don't buy any room in this hotel! ! ! The position is good, however there are many hotels near!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabriele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

In need of a short term bridge between arriving in Milan and a rented apartment, I chose the most affordable option in my desired area. The service is fine, nothing special, but sufficient. The hotel rooms are small, but sufficient. The wallpaper is starting to peel off the walls, the rooms are slightly dirty, and the walls are paper thin. Snoring in the next room actually kept me up, and the access doors on each floor (the building is mixed usage) bang shut with such a sound that it wakes you up.
If you have an option to stay elsewhere, I would suggest looking at alternatives. But if budget is your main concern and you are tolerant on conditions, then this place will do.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Clean rooms , good beds , bathroom ok , clean sheets , braekfast ok , staff was helpfull to my wife who is in a wheelchair , i think that those who give this a poor rate are these who have not
a ll this at home , one thing is the small elevators not possible to go in with a wheelchair

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geirnaertrudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We had a prepaid reservation at another and due to a “mistake” by that hotel we were sent to Hotel di Porta Romana that was supposed to be comparable. This hotel, Hotel di Porta Romana, was operated by some Chinese where the staff spoke limited Italian and English. The hotel was located on a busy street and had seen better days. The faded mat at the entrance indicated that it was a three star hotel, but the lobby was cheaply furnished and didn’t appear to be at that level. We were too tired from our long flight to protest and took the rooms anyway.

The rooms were small as we expected, but faced a busy street. There was a very small pre-fab plastic bathroom that was small even by Italian standards. There was no shower enclosure or curtain and you couldn’t take a shower without getting the entire bathroom floor wet. The TV didn’t work. The bed reminded me of the bed I had in the Army, but the bed I had in the Army was more comfortable. Plaster was falling from the ceiling and by morning had covered the telephone on the bed stand. BEWARE when making a reservation at Hotel di Porta Romana.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob0489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piacenza
Hotel Piacenza
#259 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mec Hotel
Mec Hotel
#321 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Major
BEST WESTERN Hotel Major
#164 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
UNA Hotel Mediterraneo
UNA Hotel Mediterraneo
#131 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#53 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perugino
Hotel Perugino
#269 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel di Porta Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel di Porta Romana

Property: Hotel di Porta Romana
Address: Via Lazzaro Papi 18, 20135 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel di Porta Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel di Porta Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing