We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hip & Modern Hotel!”
Review of nhow Milano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
nhow Milano
Ranked #29 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Neat hotel in a location a little off centre (but easy-access) to Milan (5 min on foot to tram - about 15 minute ride)
Rooms were clean, colourful and well-equipt.
The breakfast buffet was AMAZING! Excellent choices, fresh juice, even gluten-free options.
Cute little bar for after-hour drinks. (Service was a little slow).
Recommended for families and couples.
Overall a great 4-star hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed in a double room and asked for an extra bed which sets me back by Eu 100 for the 5 nights. It is not the usual type of hotel we used to. Although artistically designed like what was described some reviewer, I could not appreciate the elements at all. I stayed on the 5th floor and the colours on the walls were only drab black and white which tend to make the corridors gloomy. The room space was just adequate but the bathroom needed a bit of getting used to it. The common frosted glass panel/door acts as an entrance to the bathroom as well as a screen/door for the shower. Toiletries like shower gel, shampoo, soap are available but not the shaver kit or dental kit. There is no coffee making facility in the room but there is a safe and wireless internet is free for 24 hrs after which you will need to get another username and password from the reception. Breakfast is not too bad with coffee, juices, limited fruit cuts available. However, pastries and breads are aplenty. You need to specifically ask for poached or scrambled egg as there is no "egg counter". Getting to the city is not difficult. The nearest subway/metro (P.ta Genova, Green line) is 15 min walk. There is also a supermarket nearby for cheap stuffs. Restaurants are available, including Japanese, near the canal which is a short distance from the metro station. All in this 3 star hotel is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellinMan0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Nice rooms and trendy setting.
Liked the bed, not the pillows
Nice Bar and Nice Breakfast
Unfortunately I find it very common now in all Hotels in Europe, except the ones in Portugal and the UK, have lousy Internet access. This one is no exception.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JorgeM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel due to the convienant location to our office but otherwise would not stay here. The hotel is a very artsy hotel, e.g. The hallways are painted black, the bedroom door has strange paintings on it (some would call it art)

The bedroom is small and plainly furnished. No closet just an area that was curtained off.

I generally travel for business therefor am used to business hotels which this one was not.

Nothing bothered me - it just wasn't my style.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

It often happens memory gets confused about hotels I visited in the past. This will not happen with Nhow. It is so different from many other hotels I've been and the difference is something that will stick to your mind.
Colors: the hotel is characterized by black, white and orange. These are the dominant colours. Corridors are black, room walls and furniture are white. Many objects are in bright orange.
The building is a refurbished industrial plant so not originally conceived to be a hotel.
It is not in the city center but both taxi and public transportation make it easy to get wherever you want.
Rooms have a good provision of gadgets (slippers, bathing foam, body cream etc.). Breakfast buffet is rich and with good quality.
It is not an extra luxury hotel of course, but really good value for your money.
The only negative point is the smell of the soap they use to clean corridors. It does not smell exactly like something clean (at least on 4th floor where I was).

Non è in zona centrale ma il centro è facilemne raggiungibile

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I spent 5 nights in Milan in early May and stayed at the NHow which I absolutely loved. It has a very contemporary look, but isn't cold at all. The rooms and the common areas are very inviting. Some people may be thrown back by the modern look but I loved it. Milano is the design capital of the world and this hotel clearly shows it. The rooms are very comfortable, I stayed in a standard room which had a big double bed, table with 2 chairs, flat-screen tv, mini-bar, safe, and a small closet. The bathroom was also very nice, with an amazing shower. It included toiletries (even flip-flop slippers), although women be warned, no hair conditioner so bring your own.

The breakfast was FANTASTIC. I think it was probably the best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel. It has the usual assortment of cheeses, hams, breads and rolls, cereals, fruits, eggs, plus some innovative stuff like a yoghurt bar (with dehydrated fruits and nuts), a gluten-free selection, lots of juices (multi-fruit, orange, cucumber-mint...), and Prosecco (italian sparking wine, or "champagne", legally in europe only champagne can be called champagne if it comes from the Champagne region of France).

The staff was very helpful and nice, willing to help in any way they could. Free wi-fi was a big plus (although I think it's not included in ALL room fares), nice connection in my room as well as in the lobby.

The hallways are nice and different. I stayed in the third floor, upon exiting the elevator you find some lovely wood-sculptures by a local artist and an amazing smell. One of those smells that makes you feel at home, warm and cozy. I loved it.

The location is a bit less ideal. It is not located closely to the "touristy" parts of the city. A taxi from Cadorna train station (where the train from Malpensa airport arrives) costs 8 €, to central station around 17€, and to Porta Genova around 8€. However it has a tram station 2 blocks away (line 14) which goes straight to the Duomo and other tourist areas. The area is a new-coming area for designers who often exhibit their works on the hotel.

As a woman traveling alone I felt safe the whole time and in the area which is always something that must be considered.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I usually go to this hotel every time i travel to Milan for business, but this time i wont be going back.

It has got old and too run down now.

We arrives and the staff were rude and very stand offish. We went straight to our room and it was terrible.The room was tidy and the design looked like the inside of a prison cell, also very small. Paint was all scratched off the wall and the tv didn't work. It just looked dirty.....

I called them and told them i wanted ton move rooms. They came up straight away an took us to a new room, which wasn't much better, but it didn't look so much like a cell. Paint was still off the wall and dirty marks but it looked a little cleaner. Thankfully it was only 2 nights.

The breakfast was terrible... nothing to choose from and the staff were more busy talking then looking to see if any customers needed help.

Location is terrible and you need to take taxis everywhere...

This hotel need a total new re design and a re vamp.

Room Tip: Higher floors as less noise from the train track
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#38 of 431 in Milan
1,954 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Enterprise Hotel
#31 of 431 in Milan
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#9 of 431 in Milan
6,862 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nhow Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nhow Milano

Address: Via Tortona 35, 20144 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Milan
#24 Business Hotel in Milan
#24 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#24 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £98 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — nhow Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The nhow Milano hotel in Milan benefits from a great location in one of Milan's most dynamic neighborhoods. The "Tortona e Navigli" area has been converted into one of the most fashionable and modern districts of the city center. The area is filled with enticing restaurants and bars, exhibition centers, as well as design and photography studios. Nhow Milano is the place to be for all art, culture and fashion lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your nhow Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Milan
Nhow Milano Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing