We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, good price but not-so-nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan
Ranked #44 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Location - from Milano Centrale is a 15 euro ride past 9pm (there is a surcharge for taxis at night), from Duomo in the day is around 13 euro. The no. 12 tram (each ticket costs 1.5 eur, it can be purchased from the hotel, a tabacchi or the metro station, but note that the tram driver does not sell it!) gets you from the hotel to Duomo in about half an hour. It is convenient to get back to the hotel from town as well as the tram runs till around 2am, and the commuters on the tram don't look dodgy.

Hotel and room - very modern, spacious and relatively clean room, bits of hair in the bathroom left from previous guests.

Price - very reasonable at 80 EUR a night, still good value even if you commute by taxi.

If my comments on the hotel are limited to the above, the hotel would have deserved a "very good" rating, but read on -

Staff - worst part about this hotel. Management needs to train their staff adequately!

1) The "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door was ignored in its entirety. We left the room in the morning making sure that the DND sign was on, so that no one would touch our things. We came back from sightseeing and were horrified to see our beds made and our clothes folded etc. The DND sign was still intact on the door! Whilst most guests like the cleaning service, not everyone does, and they have every right to deny it! It is intrusive behaviour when you go in uninvited. I called reception to complain about this and request that they do not let that happen the next day - staff just said "of course" but had not apologized. I walked down to reception the next day, repeated my experience to make sure that my message is clearly communicated - funny that the staff mistook my complaint and said to me, as if I was really stupid - "If you put on a DND sign, of course the housekeeping would not come in", I rolled my eyes and said "Yes, but the thing is the housekeeper came in!".

2) We left our luggages at the hotel upon check-out to do more sightseeing. The luggage handling staff was not nice at all. I saw two rows of luggages stowed right behind the entrance of the hotel, not knowing whether those were luggages left there by guests in the waiting lounge or by the hotel (that is, since it didnt look too secure, I was wondering whether our luggages were going to be kept there as well or if it is going to a designated storage room), I politely asked the staff "Where do you store the luggages?" to which he answered "Why?" I thought he did not understand English so I said "Where?" and he repeated "Why?" and I knew right there that he didn't want to bother with my query, so I just said "Ok never mind". This left me wondering whether I had asked an illegitimate question, but my conclusion is, I don't think it is wrong to make inquiries when you have any question, because if anything should happen, you only have yourself to blame for not being well-informed. I am still baffled why this simple question bothered him so much. I had stayed in 4 hotels and 1 B&B in this Italy trip, and I have yet to encounter one hospitality staff as unwelcoming as this.

3) This is just a comment and not a complaint. Reception staff offer adequate service but lack initiative. They do not volunteer tourist information or maps so you would need to know the right questions and information to ask in order to get helpful responses. Perhaps this has something to do with the fact that the hotel is a business-oriented one and not a tourist-oriented one.

Aside from its people though, I enjoyed the stay at this hotel, just hope to see improvement in its staff should I revisit Milan.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJontheroad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBLUMilano, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest Thank you for your review.

I duly took note of your comments and I am sorry if the staff did not give you a positive impression, one of our strenghs is the staff, but still, trough value feedback we can improve.

I can see you left the Do Not Disturb but still the room was cleaned and you found your clothes folded and you were horrified by this, I will reinforce the do not disturb procedures, it may happen that Guest forget the sign of the not disturb, they come back and find the room not cleaned.

Of course we do have the luggage room and this is the area were luggage are stored and this is the answer you should have received.Security is a very important area for us, this is a reason why we do have a security department present in the hotel 24h a day.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed the stay at this hotel and I do hope to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards
Massimo Supino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Cheap Hotels in New Delhi offer hospitality to all guests moving. These hotels have different packages for each type of tourists. The services provided by hotels touched true and loyal attitude.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweta143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBLUMilano, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I noticed that it is addressed at hotel in New Dehli, so you may want to rewrite it to the appropriate hotel, I am sure they will like your positive comments.

With Kind Regards
Massimo Supino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just came back from Milan. We stayed at this lovely hotel. It's great. Very friendly staff, great spacious rooms, clean - even the show is to die for!
It is located a bit out of the centre but don't worry. There are trams, buses and a train - so, it's really easy to get in to town any time of the day.
Enjoy Milan!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBLUMilano, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and kind comments.

I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and I will ensure your comments are passed on to all the team.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Radisson BLU Milan.

With Kind Regards
Massimo Supino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Attended a conference at the hotel and spent two nights. I was very happy with the level of service and attentive staff. The room was spacious, quiet and clean. Tried out the gym, which was better than average. The best part of the stay was actually the restaurant, which was surprisingly good for a hotel. Only drawback was the distance to the city center, but the hotel rate justified a roundtrip or two with taxi so it was not much of a problem. As for the conference at the hotel, the meeting room was perfect for 30 people, and the service offered from the hotel during the conference was impeccable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorwegianViking74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBLUMilano, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very glad about your review and very happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel in all services area.
I will defintely share this review with my staff and we all looking forward to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards
Massimo Supino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have experience of hotels in Italy are not so high standard as elsewhere. I might be wrong or then I have had bad luck with hotels in Italy. Radisson Blu is good quality but the location is not the best. If you are attending a conress in MiCo, as I did, then the location is quite good. Public transportation is not an option but you can either walk 2,5 km or then take a taxi.

Rooms are quite spacious, clean and very simpy decorated. Bed is comfy and so are the pillows. Air conditioning was not working (they are limiting it's use because of pollution in Milan). But I was sleeping the balcony door open. Area is so peaceful that you can't hear any noice from the streets.

Breakfast is superb. And staff was very helpful. The only negative thing is that there's long way to city center. But it's ok if you know it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBLUMilano, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you review.

Thank you for completing a review on your recent visit to our hotel.I appreciate the fact you spent good time with us, and you have enjoyed the service level. In Radisson BLU hotels we love mantain our promise in delivering the 100% Guest Satisaction and I am glad we did with you.

Looking forward to welocme you back

With Kind Regards
Massimo Supino
General Maanger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was a perfect hotel for any stay in Milan. long or short. The decor and presentation of the hotel is modern, contemporary and to a high standard. Rooms are large, tasteful, well equipped and a pleasure to stay in. The bed was made to perfection when we walked in! The lobby area and bar were fantastic, it felt like luxury. Super cocktail making bar the barman, and was happy to advise. Front of House staff very hospitable and helpful (happy to make taxi bookings and had a very efficient system working where your given a taxi number). Breakfast was super .... a wide variety of choice and efficient staff who are attentive (asked if we would like coffee/tea on arrival ... even at their busiest time). Pool area was nice, a little smaller than what I expected and the view not what you would expect but overall nice for a dip! I would think that the pool is too small for a hotel this big though and think this could get busy in the high season. Only small glitch was the male/female separate sauna/steam room area rather than unisex and also no beauticians on site for treatments. Room service was quick and of a good quality, food was brilliant and delivered by a very friendly waiter. All info in the room regarding the hotel was clear, concise and helpful. This hotel felt easy.Location for us was great, 10 minute taxi ride into the city if you don't mind spending about €12-15 euros. Radisson was a treat, far superior to any of the hotels I saw when choosing to book!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBLUMilano, Direttore at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear NJ Bound,

Thank you very much for you review.

The fact you found this hotel "perfect" make me proud and happy.

I will share this fantastic feedback with my whole staff and will use as best practice when it comes to postive comments.

If you may return to Milano kindly let me know it will be a pleasure to meet you.

Kind Regards

Massimo Supino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My stay was brilliant. Great , clean rooms, brilliant helpful staff and delicious food. Yes yes yes yes to this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonBLUMilano, Direttore generale at Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am extremly happy to read you kind word "what a great hotel" this make me very happy and prize all the effort we put in our job, we at Radisson BLU hotel have this mission to let feel our gests at home, and I am happy to read that we have successful made it with you.

Please if you come back to Milano and to us, let me know will be a pleausre to meet you.

With Kind Regards

Massimo Supino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
684 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#39 of 428 in Milan
1,895 reviews
Enterprise Hotel
#29 of 428 in Milan
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Milano
#71 of 428 in Milan
1,325 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 428 in Milan
2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan

Address: Via Villapizzone 24, 20156 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Milan
#13 Business Hotel in Milan
#16 Spa Hotel in Milan
#30 Family Hotel in Milan
#33 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#38 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £74 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 kilometers from Fiera Milano exhibition center and close to the city center, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan combines Italian and Indonesian design influences with top amenities and dedicated service to create a welcoming escape in a bustling city. The hotel offers 250 spacious rooms, typical Italian cuisine, bar and a fantastic garden courtyard. Included in guest room rate Radisson Blu Milan offers free Wi-Fi 100 Mbps, free access to the Spa, to the heated indoor swimming pool and to the fitness centre. Moreover, to guarantee privacy to all our guests, sauna and steam room have separate access for men and women. It also offers a free One Touch App with PressReader service which allows guests to download digital newspapers and magazines from more than 100 countries The hotel also provides an indoor car park with 104 spots (fees apply) and video surveillance. A range of meeting room sizes and the professional Meetings & Events team make this hotel an ideal location for large gatherings and business conferences. Our conference center includes an exclusive boardroom with separate entrance for delegates, meeting rooms that can accommodate groups 12 ranging from 8 to 60 people, and an elegant ballroom capable of holding up to 250 guests, this hotel provides an abundance of space for any Milan conference or personal celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan Hotel Milan
Chedi Hotel Milan
The Chedi Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing