We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, ok room, noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cityhotel Central Station
Ranked #382 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Scotland, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, ok room, noisy”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Good location right next to Stazione Centrale, although it seemed a little dodgy when we arrived at 3am! Our flight had been delayed so we arrived at an absurd time, but the hotel desk was still attended by a friendly man. He didn't speak English, but he was patient with our bumbling Italian.

The bed was large and comfortable, and the en-suite was adequate. It was mouldy and damp though, unfortunately.

My only gripe is that the sound of the motorway and people shouting at all hours kept me from getting any sleep. Maybe you'd want to request a room at the back of the building if you don't do well with excessive noise...

Room Tip: Request a room that does not look out onto the street, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaEscocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
8
9
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brescello, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

this is a very well located one star hotel,coz it is really very very close to the central station, you don't expect luxary here, but very convenient for moving around, take away restaurants, laundry mat, supermarket, pharmacy...all around hotel, you may also plan the oneday tour for other cities taking this one as the basement. It is also just next to the airport shuttle bus terminal, so as you are flying in very late in the midnight, you feel no worry for heading to this hotel, same as the situation for a early departure like 4.00am. We don't feel nothing strange for the station area, as like all main station of a big city, we found all kind of people but we couldn't just stamp them dangerous, who knowns if they are thinking the same way of us.

Hotel service is ok, they offer you free map and information about the transportation and things to see, friendly and helpful, no breakfast served but several bars or food store around for fulfill the stomach.

If you prefer to be close to the Milano central station and don't want to spend to much, we suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rena468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Amy thank you- she was so very patient and informative with helping me get to places i needed to on this very short visit.
Free wifi a plus
May be noisy but I did want close to station and I got it.

Room Tip: Maybe not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albenga, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My husband and I went to Milan only for business and we needed something close to the train station and cheap.

If you're looking for some luxurious place in Milan, obviously, this is not the place for you. I can't imagine anyone choosing this hotel if what they want is comfort and beauty: it's a hostel. But I expect serious problems from any hostel I stay in, particularly with cleanliness. This is the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in and the neighborhood isn't *that* sketchy (maybe if you're alone it's slightly more questionable). They have a computer with internet that's E3/hr. There is now at least one employee who can speak English. It's not very quiet at night but that happens a lot in cities. The staff are all very friendly and in the evening, they have a gate to lock out anyone who doesn't have a reservation. After you check-out they'll even let you leave your bags there if you have to stay the whole day in Milan and don't want to carry them everywhere.

Overall, I was pleased because I was expecting real grit and sketchiness.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Ended up staying here since I missed my flight from Stockholm to Milan, and train from Milan to San Remo. It's one of the first cheap hotels that popped up in the website while browsing though the expensive airport internet in Stockholm.

Didn't have a good feeling about the area at night when I arrived. Could hear some shouting from my room. The nearest restaurant was Chinese that served terrible orangey pasta. The shared toilet was dirty.

Good thing was it is literally 50 steps away from the central station. The last thing I want was to miss another train ride. But if you're not in rush for anything, maybe you can find something else especially if you want comfort at the end of the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
n/a
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Extremely basic, but if you're looking for a _cheap_ small and clean place where to stay a night near the railway station, this is a good option. Night staff spoke only italian, but the lady who did the day shifts was very nice and helpful. Rooms were clean, not cold even in January and everything worked in bathrooms. No breakfast was served, but there are lot of options for that near the hotel. Just a warning that the streetside rooms can be very noise because of the hard traffic, but the yardside is quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotbutteredfungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#206 of 427 in Milan
378 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Demo
Hotel Demo
#306 of 427 in Milan
517 reviews
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#298 of 427 in Milan
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#264 of 427 in Milan
201 reviews
Bicocca
Hotel Terminal
Hotel Terminal
#254 of 427 in Milan
459 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Salerno Hotel
Salerno Hotel
#215 of 427 in Milan
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityhotel Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Central Station

Property: Cityhotel Central Station
Address: 1st Floor Via Giovanni Battista Sammartini 15, 20125 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Cityhotel Central Station 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cityhotel Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Central Station Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing