We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BAD START MADE GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Palais Hotel de Charme
Ranked #108 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A BAD START MADE GOOD”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I headed to Milan with my wife for a business trip and a few days holiday afterwards. We had stayed at the hotel the year before and loved its old world atmosphere - the Deluxe room we stayed in before felt like retreating to your own Italian apartment and you could pretend you were on your own personal 'Grand Tour' - 'A Room with a View' - style.

This time we booked a suite and after a cramped flight we were looking forward to an even better time.

As usual in life when high expectations meet reality - that's when you get kicked in the pants.

We arrived and they had no record of our online booking and a cliched Italian bureaucratic scene was played out as the manager, sitting behind an ornate desk too out several large files of bookings and repeatedly too down our booking reference whilst squinting at his computer screen and shaking his head...

An online miss-hap had transpired...

Luckily they had a room available so we were sent upstairs to what was a pretty average room worse than the one we had previously stayed in and noisy too, facing the street.

I got on the phone to complain and to cut a long story short the staff at the hotel came up trumps for us.

There were lots of apologies and they offered us for no extra charge one of their two largest rooms on the top floor with a terrace overlooking the street, a fireplace, sculptures and a huge bed and as they proudly attested - a bath 'with jacuzzi'. Which was a bathtub with some powerful jets inserted on the sides rather than a full jacuzzi.

We had an amazing stay and I would really like to praise the response of the staff - I think when things go wrong and people rise to the occasion like this its almost better than everything going smooth from the off - it shows flexibility and largesse.

I'll definitely be headed back on our next trip to Milan - this really is a Hotel 'de Charme'.

XO

Room Tip: Rooms 18 and 19 are the best on the top floor - in general ask for rooms not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThirdManLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    86
    23
    15
    12
See reviews for
43
125
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Petit Palais is a Small Leading Hotel. It is certainly nice, friendly and clean but it felt a little rundown. They need to do a little paint, caulking and plastering. This being said, the location is good, the staff is great and the two bedroom suite we had was very pretty and comfortable. The suite had an efficiency kitchen with nice plates, utensils, coffee maker and microwave which we actually used on our last night. It was great- we went to Pecks and took out delicious food. Breakfast at the Palais is a bit odd- in a basement that feels peculiar. Again, they may want to refurbish. The hotel is close to the Duomo and the main shopping areas (though in Milan, every area is a shopping area!). The real treat in this neighborhood is a family cheese/salami shop that sells fresh salads as well. It is called Macelleria and for the tired traveler, it is nice to take out some food here and eat it in your room at the end of a long day. It is around the corner on Corso Italia, 40. I would stay at the Palais again despite it feeling tired.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPetitPalais, Direttore at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your kind words. Your precious suggestions have been referred to the property in order to ameliorate the building.
I personally hope to see you again during your next trip to Milan.

Best regards,

Alberto Reinerio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My daughter and I came to Milan for shopping for the first time and we really enjoyed this hotel. The location is very good. The bus No.94 stops right by the hotel. If you are flying into Milano Malpensa Airport and take Malpensa express train to Cardona station, you can take the bus No.94 and you will be at the hotel in 15 minutes. The location is very good. Our room was large and so spacious and very at home. Breakfast was good, staff was very kind. We are planning to come back here next spring and I will make sure we will stay at this hotel! Our room was No.5 (Jr. Suite), it was a large and good room but not flat. It has some steps inside the room, so be careful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The hotel is small, elegent and very old style Italian, with a stand alone antique type wardrobe , antique chairs and lots of lamps and other knick knacks in the room. The lift is tiny but the room we had was quite large by European standards and extremely comfortable. It had a sitting area and sort of a kitchenette ( with the stove top removed and now part of the bench ) between the bedroom and bathroom. It looked like the hotel had at one time been converted into small apartments and then turned into a hotel. It was very comfortable and charming and the staff were lovely. Breakfast in the basement was excellent with very good coffee. The hotel is just on the edge of central Milan and we found great eating nearby and further towards the university and could either walk or catch the tram anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawyer/Exporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

A bit of a gamble on our part over old faithfuls like the Park Hyatt, the Petit Palais was a gemstone and quite a find. We were given room 18 (dix-huit), which is on the top floor and is virtually a self-contained apartment - with two rooms, one bathroom, a kitchenette, a living/dining room, and a wrap-around terrace. The hotel has the feel of someone's home (indeed because it was), and that carries through into the service. It's staffed quite thinly, mainly because it doesn't need much more by way of staff - it doesn't have a restaurant and other frills that are mostly useless in city hotels. The concierge (Francesco) was excellent, and earned a generous tip for his efforts. His restaurant recommendations were spot on (Alla Collina Pistoiese, which I will also review), and he was helpful with the car parking situation too. The only dull spots: the breakfast buffet, which was average, and the general appearance, which was a bit tired.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bidoogiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2011

great hotel, fine venue to stay when in milano centre

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I travel to Milan almost every month, and in the past six years, I have tried several hotels in town . The Petit Palais is the one I finally settled in and call my home away from home. First of all it's elegantly furnished, closets are spacious and well equipped, staff is polite and helpful. I don't know how many of you have tried other hotels in Milan in this price range: the choice is grim and there are some pretty depressing places out there!
Granted the hotel is in a very busy street, but the sound-proof windows are good (I always ask for a room on the 3d floor). The area is filled with cafes (try Gatullo down the street from Corso Italia) and the food you buy across the street at Faravelli is the best you will ever eat ( bring it to your room for a cozy night in, your kitchen is equipped with plates, silverware and glasses)
The Petit palais is not for everyone, it's a different experience, but that's the good part...people who stay here are a small community of artists, fashion, business people. If you're in town as a tourist just for one night or two, you should stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
#46 of 427 in Milan
376 reviews
Navigli
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#148 of 427 in Milan
286 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#178 of 427 in Milan
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canada Hotel
#33 of 427 in Milan
1,125 reviews
Uptown Palace
#55 of 427 in Milan
1,562 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 427 in Milan
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palais Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palais Hotel de Charme

Property: Petit Palais Hotel de Charme
Address: Via Molino delle Armi 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palais Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palais is a jewel of charme in the autentic centre of Milan. Really close to the exciting Corso di Porta Ticinese and just few steps from the famous Duomo Square, this seventeenth-century residence represents a marvelous example of the old Milan's genuine elegance.Hotel Policy:Please note that all guest’ bookings with the period of stay from September 1, 2012 onwards must pay a city tax of 4 Euros per person per night (for a maximum of 14 consecutive nights) directly to the hotel during the check out.Please be kindly informed that this is an additional charge and it is not included in the room fee.Please kindly note that the breakfast is a traditional homemade Italian breakfast buffet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petit Palais Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing