We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petit Palais - Well named”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Palais Hotel de Charme
Ranked #133 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The suit we had was very stylish, the balcony/court yard was fabulous.
I would and have recommended the hotel to a friend. The staff were excellent.
We enjoyed our stay enormously. We are planning to stay there later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan-Roisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddalena F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review and we wait for your next stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Lots of debate was had in deciding on a hotel in Milan for a two night stay. Serious consideration given to the Armani and the Bulgari but in the end we thought to save some cash but still have some luxury. We have had experience with SLH in the past and always been happy.

I also appreciate that this is Milan and not Asia and often there is a difference between a definition of luxury. My belief is that luxury goes beyond a plush fitout and needs to include all the facilities from staff, service, breakfast etc, etc etc.

Check-in was lacklustre and minimal assistance was offered with our luggage. We had room 20 which is on the ground floor. I was initially concerned about this but what it does mean is that it is very quiet. The suite is internal but does have views and access to the internal courtyard which is quite pleasant. The room looks like the pictures on line. Full of deep colours and lush fabrics. It is showing some wear and tear in a few places but nothing disastrous.

The bathroom is quite large and only had a shower which was fine. Amenities were Etro which was a nice touch. Towels were reasonable quality but nothing crazy. The extraction fan drove us mad as it stayed on for about 30 minutes after the light was switched off – understand why but it did have the volume of a small jet in flight.

Few odd things. The seats in the lounge area looked the part but were not that comfortable to spend much time in. The TV was also one of the smallest in the known universe. What were they thinking? Also, there was not one in the bedroom which meant having to sit on the uncomfortable chairs!! Number of channels available was quite good and in most languages. We had a good connection to the Wi-Fi in the room which was great.

Things that really disappointed were the lack of turn down service and replacement of complimentary water. Two small touches which would have been easy to do. Further breakfast is not that great. Also not the warmest of staff looking after you.

We didn't have a terrible stay but I guess I expected a little more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddalena F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your email.
We have taken notice of your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were staying here for a relaxing weekend as my wife had been working in Italy for the previous week. We had chosen the hotel as we had stayed in similar (Small Luxury Hotels of the World) previously and thought it might provide a relaxing city break.
Staff were very friendly and the rooms were comfortable, with some lovely touches.
The buffet breakfasts selection were Fantastic, enough to feed the 5,000.

There were a couple of downsides to the stay, firstly was the road noise in the room. We were in the front of hotel on main street proved noisy at night. Though it did mean you were in a good location to some of the attractions.

The other issue was the lack of Wifi in room which was a major gripe. We reported it on the night we arrived and were told it was working fine. It wasn't, we could get a minimal signal in the lounge / kitchen area if we stood in the middle of the room and nothing in the bed room. Yet had full signal outside of the suite and throughout the hotel. We reported it each day but no joy in resolving it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not overlooking the road as road noise was a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob_and_Sharon_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddalena F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your review and for compliments about our staffa nd breakfast.
We have solved the problems with wifi so now you can connect everywhere in hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Charming place. Comfortable rooms, fantastic decor. Very well located - Dome is in walkable distance. Have not seen much around because spent only one night there and my primary focus was on Dome and castle.

Breakfast can be better, but all in all it was ok (I would say good for Italy). Service was good. Definitely recommend the place if you are looking for something really special. Not just ordinary place to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddalena F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your review and for congratulations about rooms and decors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel and what a treat it was! Having made a reservation for a room (rather than a suite) we were delighted to find that our room had a sitting area, 2 sets of balcony doors and a kichenette. The bathroom was very plush and looked newly done up.
The hotel is well placed to walk to the main areas and though it can be rather noisy at night, with the windows and shutters closed it was fine. The bed itself was very comfortable and infact all the furnishings were delightfully antique.
The staff were very helpful and the only one little niggle was that the breakfast area was too small and we had to abandon breakfast at the weekend.
Would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes their accomodation comfortable and prefers character to mod-cons.

Room Tip: Higher up the better due to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 944NikkiJ944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddalena F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your review and for having enjoyed the works of art and furniture inside our hotel.
About the breakfast room, it was part of the ancient monastery so it has a bond and we cannot do structural jobs to change it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed twice last week at the Petit Palais and we enjoyed it as much as we did couple of years ago when we stayed there.
The 18 rooms of the Petit Palais are decorated with antiques and they look more like a grand old house than a hotel.
Each room has a separate dinning table, a little serving area as well as a sitting area. There are many windows and the bed was very nice. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast room looks like a wine cellar in a palace. The breakfast was very tasty with plenty of goodies.
There is also a little court yard off the lobby to enjoy a cognac and a cigar.
The lobby is very cozy, full of antics and collectibles and indeed looks very much like a grand old house.
Everything about the petite - this grand old house - was nice; however we found that the employees at the front desk do not have the same customer service orientation as we experienced during our first visit.

The day when we arrived the first time last week the young lady at the front desk was very nice and professional, however the other employees need a refresher on greeting customers and or at least how to smile.

The Petite has the charm but most of the employees did not.

Room Tip: We stay in the room 15 for 2 nights and later one day on room 14 and they we very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallbearPolonorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddalena F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your review and for having well written the taste we want to give to our hotel: be like a grand old house not a simple hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Petit Palais for three nights in September this year on our way through France and on to home. The hotel is well situated on the first circle (the old city moat road), and is close enough to walk to all of the major attractions. The street scape in Milan can be somewhat confusing, and the maps on offer don't really help a lot (it always strikes me as funny that the civilization able to build incredibly straight and lengthy roads cannot make a decent map). The city is an eclectic mix of modern apartment blocks among some beautiful old and ancient buildings. There is a lot of graffiti, and it is hard to know where the "good" part of town is among the density of small street, traffic and tall buildings.

The hotel is nice, in that its exterior is non-descript from the street among the other buildings, but the interior is a surprising mix of antiques and charm. We had a suite on the first floor, with separate bedroom, sitting room/kitchenette, and bathroom. Although the rooms are quite cosy, there is enough space to be comfortable. My only criticism is that the bathrooms (whilst trying to accommodate all of the modern features - a shower, toilet, bidet and sink) suffer from a lack of space. The in-room facilities were great (mini-bar, tea/coffee, cable TV in English if preferred), and the decor was traditional and nice. We had a room overlooking the street, and road noise was not noticeable (although the hotel is on a busy street - take note when trying to get the taxi to park and offload your luggage). I would give special mention to a young Kenyan man named Stephen who works on the staff. Stephen was most helpful, and always had time to chat with the guests and make sure they were happy. A true and valuable asset to the hotel. The breakfast was good, with a selection of fresh meats and cheeses, cakes and cereals, with fresh fruit, juice and milk. The breakfast room is in the cellar, which can be a bit musty at times, although comfortable and well lit.

There are only two things I would be critical of: The lack of wi-fi access in the rooms meant that work and emails had to be checked from the breakfast room or foyer. And also a slight hitch in the booking service resulted in an unnecessary discussion over a second room. This was resolved eventually, but leaves a bad taste which could be avoided.

As always, it is usually the guests which make up a hotels character, and we were fortunate enough to meet an exceptional pair of long term residents who will no doubt over time become firm friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0ra_The_Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madda-mizar, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Petit Palais Hotel de Charme, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Antica Locanda Leonardo
#121 of 429 in Milan
405 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#172 of 429 in Milan
384 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Maison Borella
Hotel Maison Borella
#97 of 429 in Milan
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#105 of 429 in Milan
1,494 reviews
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#99 of 429 in Milan
405 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#19 of 429 in Milan
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palais Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palais Hotel de Charme

Address: Via Molino delle Armi 1, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 429 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £133 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palais Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palais is a jewel of charme in the autentic centre of Milan. Really close to the exciting Corso di Porta Ticinese and just few steps from the famous Duomo Square, this seventeenth-century residence represents a marvelous example of the old Milan's genuine elegance.Hotel Policy:Please note that all guest’ bookings with the period of stay from September 1, 2012 onwards must pay a city tax of 4 Euros per person per night (for a maximum of 14 consecutive nights) directly to the hotel during the check out.Please be kindly informed that this is an additional charge and it is not included in the room fee.Please kindly note that the breakfast is a traditional homemade Italian breakfast buffet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Petit Palais Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing