We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original, elegant and with a high standard...”

Primonovecento Osteria
Ranked #154 of 8,180 Restaurants in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Original, elegant and with a high standard...”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

...not just of cooking but also of service, atmosphere and decor. The wall are crammed with photos and pictures of all kinds, Milan in a previous era, ladies in saucy poses from the early days of photography, visitors etc. Food was excellent, even foreign language menus, and no trouble for them to open a bottle for us to have just one glass of wine. At the end of the meal a small complimentary tray of dessert arrived on the table, hot chocolate sauce with fruit (strawberries) and other goodies to dip into it, a sorbet etc...What more need be said?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanumana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    314
    51
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty food in nice environment ”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant after walking around the side streets behind our hotel. Although empty at the time it filled up very quickly! Delicious food / lots of nice seafood options. Not the cheapest but we didn't see many other restaurants of this quality in the area.

Helpful?
Thank JxRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Milan restaurant”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Fabulous meal here tonight with my wife. Was going to order dessert when the waiter brought out a selection of fruit, nuts, chocolates, hot choc for dipping and topped off with a lemon and a strawberry sorbet. It was all delicious and had no room for dessert afterwards

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GraemeBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best steak - and it is a seafood restaurant!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Easily the best steak I have had in a long time. I cannot recommend this enough. I stayed around the corner at the Enterprise Hotel and ended up coming here for dinner each night. My colleagues raved about the fish. Service is excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pad00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Elegant, delicious, astute and subtle service - what else do you need/want in a restaurant?”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have no idea what went wrong for that lone reviewer in the 20+ recent positive reviewers - this was one of the most delicious meals I have eaten on this trip - excellent quality ingredients, perfectly prepared, beautifully cooked and served in a way that preserved all of that at the table... As others have noted - you are given a number of delicious extras but our sirloin cuballo was simply stunning.

Don't walk past, although you may need a booking for evenings during summer, do go in - settle in - and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Primonovecento Osteria also viewed

 

Been to Primonovecento Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing