We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy in the center of Milan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Genius Downtown
Ranked #107 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Economy in the center of Milan”
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I've read several reviews where people express their horror for this hotel, but I think we need to put it in perspective. True, it ain't the Ritz. It's a budget hotel that happens to be in the very heart of Milan. (Almost across the street from Castle Sforza, minutes from The Galleria, The Duomo and La Scala, around the corner from a great pedestrian mall and the english bookstore.) Yes, the rooms are small. The bathroom was tiny and the shower even tinier. True, there were some light bulbs burned out. True, the place was a bit run down and could use a coat of paint and some TLC. However, we found the staff very friendly and helpful, the breakfast more than adequate and the location incredible when you consider the price. I would suggest that anyone who considers booking here just know that you're not booking a 5 star hotel, and you won't be disappointed. This place is value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    329
    117
    44
    41
See reviews for
109
243
57
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We booked this hotel through our travel agent for a short stay in Milan prior to a cruise starting from Genoa. Since this is a 3-star hotel, we didnt expect much from it other than hoping that the location would compensate for it.

The hotel is as expected of a 3-star hotel. Small, a simple reception area, small lift, and a dining area for breakfast. Adequate, no more, no less. Breakfast consists of two varieties of fruit juices, cornflakes, bread, and cakes. Coffee/tea is served on demand, which is great. Wifi internet is available for 9 Eur for the duration of stay. This works out well for our 3-night stay. In fact, I'm submitting this on my last night of stay here in the hotel. :-)

Only negative point is that our room is facing the road (or you can call it a lane, since it is actually a small single lane). You can really hear the cars driving by.

Regards location, it is really great! It is perhaps 100m away from the nearest Metro station (Cairoli). That's not all. The hotel is a short walk away to the Sforzesco Castle. If we walk in the opposite direction we reach Duomo just for a little bit longer distance. In fact, we also walked to Santa Maria delle Grazie to view The Last Supper (it was almost that straightforward - turn right out of the hotel, continue walking until the next major junction, turn right, keep walking and you'll be there!).

Service? Well, we arrived early at 10am (hey, we can't control the flight schedule) and was told to come back at 3pm. So we went off to visit the Sforzesco Castle and the Duomo. By 2pm, we were done (see how well located is the hotel?) and back at the hotel. The room was ready and we were given an early check-in. We were also well assisted whenever we asked for directions. We feel like part of the family, always away but always wlecomed home.

Overall, a positive experience. You will get more than what you pay for, especailly with such a central location. And that's what a good 3-star hotel is about.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madison88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zagreb
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Highly unprofessional! I too, paid via website and then once again when I was checking out they charged my credit card as well. They admitted their mistake and promised they would return me the money in few days. This was over a month ago. I’ ve been calling and calling and always the same answer: we are sorry, send us your bank account details (and I did it 5 times by e-mail), we’ll return you your money. And all I get in these weeks is large phone bill. They keep ignoring me, like I’m asking for the donation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viccka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Stayed here with my daughters, it is in the best location for the price paid, it is generally a very good budget hotel, the breakfast was adequate, and the rooms were clean, for a short break i would highly recommend. There was a slight difference with the price i was quoted by hotels.com when checking out but it was only 20 euros so i didnt mind to much. Overall for a short stay in Milan i give it 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algarvemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lonson, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I stayed one night in Hotel Genius on my first night in Milan and was highly disappointed. The room when we arrived was ridiculously hot, the bathroom door was not on its hinges and the bathroom had the remnants of recent building/decorating activities. When the remote control for the air conditioner was retrieved from downstairs it didn't seem to cool the room at all as it was located above the entrance door and had no effect on the sleeping area a bit further inside the room.
fortunately i only paid only a fraction of the usual cost (i think we paid under £30), through a hotel/holiday website - but had i paid anything close to the cost on the hotel genius' website, or that on some of the other websites i checked, i woudl have asked for a refund and stayed somewhere else.
i can only assume staying at the hotel that day was so cheap because of the recent works - however that should have been made clear at the time. when the state of the room was mentioned there was no apology and this rudeness was the final cherry cake.
the hotel seemed like it could have been quaint had there not been any works going on. the lift/elavator was a bit shaky, the halls needed painting, the room was of a decent size but poorly furnished and the air conditioner was inadequate to cool the room. the location was excellent for looking at the main tourist sites but not for going out in terms of bars and restaurants.
it should be a place that would good for people who want a little more privcay and quality than a youth hostel - unfortunately the usual price does not seem to reflect that at all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomoingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon,
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are adequate. All ok until I came to check out. I had paid on the website and then they charged my credit card as well. They claimed it was a mistake, but now 4 weeks later I am still waiting for my refund. They claim they can't refund my credit card and they have to do bank transfer. Then they claimed my bank (nationwide) is not a recognised bank. Only stay here if you are prepared to be charged twice for the priveledge.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denirokeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco_ferreira, Proprietario at Hotel Genius Downtown, responded to this review, 29 August 2009
Nice to ear from you again. In short words...Your credit credit card has not been charged. You gave it to the desk and you signed the receipt. As a WIGIG client from Lastminute.com we do not have customers credit cards. Your bank still does not adhere to SEPA area agreement (like many other nationwide banks around europe) so wired transfer takes only longer and is more expensive. Hope to have with us soon again
Your host, Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia, Africa, Europe
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Good place to stay, recepionists can be unhelpful, except for Marco or his Mother who are excellent (they own and run the hotel), it was clean and comfortable, for 2 people it worked out cheap too. Excellent location, acceptable breackfast, and accomodating for early and late arrivals and departures. Make sure you get a good price if staying here, shop around.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJP0687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#125 of 427 in Milan
384 reviews
Centro Storico
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#39 of 427 in Milan
787 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#41 of 427 in Milan
533 reviews
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#8 of 427 in Milan
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genius Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genius Downtown

Property: Hotel Genius Downtown
Address: Via Porlezza 4, 20123 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genius Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in a great place. Walking distance of all major attractions and subway stop just around the corner together with the major shopping area of the city. Train connection to airport is only minutes away which make the Genius Hotel the best choice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Genius Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genius Downtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing