We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pavia
Reviewed 14 June 2012

very friendly people and good breakfast unfortunately i have some dirty things in my room o_O ... it's quite good for one night

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sc4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

It's just in front of the railway station. If you want to go to the airport by bus, the bus station is there as well, just cross the square.
You may want to visit Ponte Coperto - The Covered Bridge (the most important attraction in Pavia): it's at about 15 minutes walk from the hotel's lobby. You want to go shopping on Corso Cavour? It's just 50 meters away from the hotel's entrance. The oldest cathedral in town? It's there as well, at about 200 meters from your room.
The rooms (massive furniture) and bathrooms are just okay. Ask for a room with balcony. The rooms that look to the railway station square have a great view from the balcony, if you like to watch the old city rooftops.
Cons: the breakfast is quite poor but the coffee is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony. The upper floors rooms offer a great sight from the balcony, if you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I've started getting frustrated when hotels in Europe advertise on websites that they have free wifi access but when I get there the access is only available in the lobby. Other than this gripe, I really enjoyed my stay with the Excelsior Hotel. It was wonderfully close to the hotel and about a 5 to 10 minute walk to the central square of Pavia. The hotel staff were friendly and spoke English. The morning breakfasts were worthwhile - while I'm not accustomed to Italian breakfasts I thought it was great (someone with a finer palate may disagree). The only other point to add was we got a room for two - which was quite large in European standards. Basically a king size bed + small desk + about 4-6 feet around the bed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaronjmandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The Excelsior is a rather dingy hotel near the railway station in Pavia. It is conveniently situated, and about 1 km from the university in the old town area. The noise from the trains at night can be rather disruptive, The rooms have air conditioning units which function well but are noisy. There is a wireless internet connection which costs one Euro for half an hour. Breakfast was a bit poor with not much in the way of fresh food and relatively little choice. The hotel is ok and is reasonably clean, but is expensive for a budget place. I paid 65 Euros per night for a single room in September-although I suppose there is not a summer tourist season in Pavia as it is not really a tourist place.

There is not much to choose between this hotel and the Hotel Rosengarten near the hospital. The Rosengarten has a free wifi, but is more difficult to get to as it is about 0.7 km from the railway station.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorisWestCountryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Hotel is a quiet one - 20min away from the airport.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank BlondesKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

The hotel is located next to the railway station, and quite a walk (+10 min) from the town center. The hotel occupies a whole wing of a modern apartment block with which it shares the elevator and the staircase in a funny way.The room was large and clean, in very good condition, nothing to complain about. Bathroom ok as well.

The breakfast (6 euro) was somewhat disappointing - no ham/cheese/müsli/yogurt. If you've got a car, you can use the hotel's garage for 8 euro a night.

The town itself was probably the bleakest point in our trip. The only thing worth visiting is Certosa di Pavia about 8 km to the north of Pavia.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Marassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

Hotel Excelsior is located directly besides the station of Pavia (25 mins by train from Milan Central Station) and at walking distance (+-10 mins) of the city centre.

You get complementary room slippers and for 6 euro per person per day
you have a breakfast consisting of a pretty good capuccino, juice, croisants, white pistolets served with sweet toppings like jam, jam, jam, jam and chocolat paste.

You can take as much as you want, so that is a pretty good deal ;-)

The rooms are not very big, but big enough, but the bathroom is tiny though it has a decent shower.

Oh, and the cleaning staff is very friendly.

So much for the plusses...

Minusses:
- The people at the reception desk couldn't care less about you and make no attempt to assist you in any way

- The interior did not pass the test of time... broken wallpaper, spots of unknown origin, cracks, damaged furniture... apart that it all looks incredibly outdated and depressing (minor gripe ofcourse).

- although the bed linnen is clean, the room and bathroom certainly are not: the shower walls had plenty of mold traces and mushrooms, the room was very dusty and more fungus was spotted close to the heater.

- If you are anything but a heavy sleeper, avoid this hotel at all cost. Strangely enough not the trainstation nearby but the plumbing creates a huge amount of disturbance. If the people in the room next door flush the toilet, it appears like it happens in your room... incredibly noisy and it will wake you up if you don't sleep very very tight

- very thin walls, so you will hear your neightbours frequently cough, sneeze, talk or...

- At a roomrate of 85 euro per night for a double and +-60 (excluding
breakfast) for a single, you really pay for the location, not the quality of the hotel. If that is enough value for money is for you to decide.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Hollander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pavia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#2 of 6 in Pavia
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#5 of 6 in Pavia
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moderno Hotel Pavia
Moderno Hotel Pavia
#3 of 6 in Pavia
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Riz
Hotel Riz
#1 of 2 in San Genesio ed Uniti
231 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cascina Scova
Cascina Scova
#1 of 6 in Pavia
524 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Civico 1
B&B Civico 1
#4 of 17 in Pavia
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Piazzale della Stazione 25, 27100 Pavia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Pavia > Pavia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pavia
Price Range: £71 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Pavia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing