We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convienient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pavia
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very convienient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a good stay. We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the train. The room was large and met our needs. The staff were helpful. The breakfast was adequate but had machine coffee. Overall I would stay again but only for the convenience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helendw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    46
    66
    22
    9
See reviews for
18
23
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Three very long nights on a business trip… On the second night I was thinking about what was good about this place… nothing!
Rooms are dirty, furniture, walls and other stuff very damaged. Humidity is around the walls and the bathroom is scary.
Internet does not work properly and you need a ticket to (try) to access it every couple of hours.
The breakfast was my last hope. Terrible!
The location near the train station and the city center is not a justification to stay here,. There is a lot of other options around it.
Don’t stay here.

Room Tip: Choose other hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pavia hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Enschede
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

My stay in Pavia could have been much better if the room, especially the bathroom would have been clean. Typical Italian, i.e. unhealthy breakfast only untill 09:30h. Just see the pictures and judge yourself.

Room Tip: Book a room in an other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deliened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

It is conveniently located, the staff is friendly. The hotel is clean, provides good breakfast. For a business traveller, its a good value for money.
The room in the ground floor is small, smaller than a Japanese hotel! The Wi-Fi is difficult to connect, complicated system of password.
I will stay again in this hotel whenever I come to Pavia.

Room Tip: Go upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is conveniently located near the station but is generally very shabby and in need of a facelift. The wi-fi does not work well and needs a new password every day. Breakfast is self service and basic although the coffee is good.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Belinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

It`s in the Statione square , near the central bus station and the train station but in the city`s heart so it`s very comfortable with good reach to all the important places , otherwise it`s rather plane 3 star hotel , but of course clean , quiet , good sized rooms .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

I can't believe this is the #3 hotel in Pavia. It's a strange place. Basically the hotel is part of a block of flats so you share the lift with the residents of said flats. The entrance is grubby and the whole place has a shabby, run-down feel. Intermittent wifi, a/c that doesn't work, Italian-only tv - it hardly seems worth 90-odd euros a night.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank debelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pavia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#2 of 6 in Pavia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moderno Hotel Pavia
Moderno Hotel Pavia
#3 of 6 in Pavia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#5 of 6 in Pavia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Riz
Hotel Riz
#1 of 2 in San Genesio ed Uniti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cascina Scova
Cascina Scova
#1 of 6 in Pavia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Civico 1
B&B Civico 1
#3 of 16 in Pavia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Piazzale della Stazione 25, 27100 Pavia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Pavia > Pavia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Pavia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing