We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ristorante Reale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ristorante Reale
Ranked #36 of 42 Asti B&B and Inns
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The room was very noisy throughout the night, the bed was uncomfortable, half of the lights in the bathroom did not work (lack of maintenance or deliberate to hide the mould in the shower) and the shower included a dirty washcloth of a previous visitor. Wifi did not work and when I checked out I was told I could not pay by credit card.

Room Tip: This hotel is to be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    25
    30
    12
    15
See reviews for
17
24
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Well sited at the tip of the triangular Piazza. Was once a magnificent hotel but now a bit tired looking. Coat of paint at least is needed to hide old leak/water stains on walls and ceilings. Bathroom fan was as noisy as a diesel engine in the bathroom! View from back bedroom was horrible. Friends in front rooms had great view over piazza though occasionally noisy as to be expected. Breakfast was OK though don't expect efficient delivery of hot water to make tea! Ate dinner once as a huge group of us at the outside restaurant and this was very pleasant. My biggest disappointment was the well advertised free WiFi. I only managed a connection one evening out of 7 days and only after complaining several times and getting an IT consultant to meet me at the hotel. Most of my fellow guests also could not get WiFi connections. In general, the staff were reasonable. There were a few who were very helpful and polite and one who was not! The hotel needs to get better WiFi, slicker breakfast restaurant organisation and get the decorators in before I would go back to stay there.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavonia, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel is in the Asti city center, on the square. This area is quite noisy, especially on the weekends. Since the air conditioning was not operational, one was forced to sleep with windows open, which made the noise on the square even worse. The decor is interesting and the building is quite historic. The breakfast was plain. The bathroom was small but equipped with a shower and a bidet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kruser67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

We were in Asti for a few days. At first we were trilled by this hotel which has maintained that original cultural feel. Too bad that there was no hot water in the morning two days in a row. I had to take a Siberian shower. Woke me up that is for sure!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roscoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
733 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

The hotel is located in a historic square of Asti, with an unusual triangular shape, surrounded by arcades, very typically Piedmont style. The building is therefore historic, both inside and outside, and there are conditions for a pleasant stay.
But these potentials are partially lost for some small defects.
The switch in my room was not at the entrance, but two meters away from it, after a descent of three steps: then you have to descend in the dark.
In the evening the heating in the room was excessive: I have been to the hotel in early November and was forced to open the window to cool the air.
In short: not a terrible hotel, but many improvements possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

For Italian hotels, our room was spacious. There was a lift, which is always nice, and the room had a small balcony that allowed us to look out over the piazza. I suppose that could get noisy at times, but we had no problem at night. The staff was very helpful. There is a restaurant and coffee bar, though we did not eat there except for breakfast, which was typical Italian style (roles, croissants, meat and cheese, yogurt, cereal, toast) and quite average. The location is very good. Not a bad value and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiteGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Arriving at Asti pretty late in the evening, we were worried we wouldn't find a hotel for the four of us. The first hotel we tried was Hotel Reale, which looked pretty expensive from the outside. Once inside, we immediately saw that the hotel was a pure case of faded glory: old and a bit dirty. The rooms had old furniture, the shower door wasn't closing like it should, much noise from outside in the early morning hours... Breakfast was OK, we also had the singing barista :-)

Parking place was full, but we got a place in the private underground garage, not the normal parking place for visitors. Hotel manager looked a bit stressed out, but was very friendly, just like the rest of the personnel.

Overall: OK for us: after a few days of hiking in Gran Paradiso we didn't need/expect a lot of luxury. We wouldn't recommend it for a romantic stay though...

Room Tip: Avoid if possible the rooms at the side of the main square, because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtremels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asti hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lis
Hotel Lis
#1 of 18 in Asti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#2 of 18 in Asti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palio
Hotel Palio
#9 of 18 in Asti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rainero
Hotel Rainero
#14 of 18 in Asti
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aleramo
Hotel Aleramo
#3 of 18 in Asti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Etico
Albergo Etico
#5 of 18 in Asti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Reale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Reale

Property: Hotel Ristorante Reale
Address: Piazza Vittorio Alfieri 5, 14100, Asti, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Asti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Asti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Reale 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Reale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing