We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best for Palio!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lis
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Asti
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best for Palio!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

My friends made reservations here for the Sagre in September. It's THE best place to watch the fabulous parade!! The rooms were large and spotless with lots of extras. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was huge with good quality.

If you are coming for the annual Palio in Asti, I highly recommend Hotel Lis!! Its only a couple of blocks to the main Piazza where the Palio is held and within walking distance of the train station.

Buon Viaggio!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaMiaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    156
    36
    10
    1
See reviews for
61
144
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We read lots of reviews and most reflect what we found when we stayed there. The hotel is a higher standard than you would normally expect for a family run business in a such a town. It successfully brings the best bits of the larger chains of hotels whilst retaining a very personal service. The staff were friendly and if anything more attentive than need be. Breakfast was good, free fruit and even a bottle of wine in the room on arrival. The room was supplied win AC and even electrically controlled shutters. Complimentary slippers ans even sealed towels we're provided. The owner even met us at the door and guided me in parking! We were very happy at the hotel and would stay there again if in the area.

One word of advice, the service is very personal and you should respect that. We had been in four hotels during our tour of Italy and somewhat expected a less personal service. Therefore, the owner will want to walk you to your room on arrival and see you to your table at breakfast, respect that and you will be happy and so will he. He even waived us of as we drove away . . . Bear in mind we only stayed one night, do everyone gets this service.

Room Tip: Ignore comment on pool . . . There isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, Surrey, U.K.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over the French/Swiss bank holiday weekend and this was one of the few hotels in the area with availability. The hotel is perfectly adequate and functional and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. There was complementary fruit, wine, biscuits and chocolates in the room that were regularly replenished, which was a really nice extra. The rooms were spotlessly clean, if a little old fashioned and overall, not very homely. There were no blankets on the bed - just sheets and a bed cover, which made for a slightly chilly first night. We were slow to ask for a blanket on the second day so it only turned up for our last night. We had a room overlooking the park and we preferred to open the window rather than use the aircon at night, which was fine until Saturday night when it was really noisy. Breakfast was a bit chaotic but very comprehensive, including boiled eggs, freshly squeezed orange juice and endless pastries, bread, cake and yogurts. So overall, it was a good place to stay in an excellent location but I can't rave about it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill_Oxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

When you first swing round to the front of the hotel it does look pretty plain and modern. Once inside things look better and a very pleasant and helpful staff make up for a rather characterless outside.The location is good, not smack in the middle of town, but very close. There are acceptable to good eating places in walking distance.
I would go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lingwood-Watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Super clean hotel run by a very helpful family and staff.
We stayed for ten days when the Palio was on and they could do enough for us.
Our next visit to Asti would include a stay at Hotel Lis.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

This hotel is centrally located in Asti, just across the road from a beautiful park. The rooms are modern, very clean and comfortable, and come with a complimentary bottle of wine, fruit and chocolates. Breakfast is continental style, and the staff will boil your eggs and make you a fresh coffee. The proprietor is a very dignified gentleman, who doesn't speak English well but who nevertheless goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed recently for the Palio.

This is a super family-run hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

They helped with the substantial luggage of our party (2 couples) and refused the tip.

My wife could not come down from breakfast one day and I asked it was possible to take up some breakfast from the buffet. No problem. They even provided a little trolley!

It is clear that their guest's comfort is their aim and I admire them.

The hotel's outward appearance is unappealing 60's architecture but belies the relaxing atmosphere.

Free Wi-Fi was a bonus that we did not find in other hotels in Italy.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgdw999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asti hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#2 of 18 in Asti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavour
Hotel Cavour
#6 of 18 in Asti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Etico
Albergo Etico
#5 of 18 in Asti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aleramo
Hotel Aleramo
#3 of 18 in Asti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Castello di Villa
7.7 mi away
Hotel Langhe & Monferrato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lis

Property: Hotel Lis
Address: Viale Fratelli Rosselli 10, 14100, Asti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Asti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Asti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lis 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lis Hotel is in the center of Asti,and overlooks a large and quiet garden.The Lis hotel is a family run hotel and takes pride in the quality of the service it provides. Mr and Mrs Ribero will be glad to welcome and offer You an agreeable and comfortable stay. Modern and elegant rooms,a rich buffet breakfast and the best services available to make your stay unique ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lis Hotel Asti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing