We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & location; amenities? Meh! Parking a slight challenge.”
Review of Casa Sul Lago

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orta San Giulio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Sul Lago
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This hotel couldn't be better located-it is along the road of the peninsula, with fantastic views of the lake and surroundings. To get there, you check in at the Hotel Santa Caterina just past the first roundabout and up the hill. Then you drive down to the villa, pull in, and unload your bags. Then, you have to drive the car back up to the main road, and park in the private grassy lot-a little tricky to find, and walk back down to the villa. To use the car to visit another town, you walk back up the road to get it (10-15 mins). And when you check out, you can pull the car back down the road to the villa to load up. All this is to say the parking is a bit of a pain, BUT, location wise, it is worth it. We saw folks who were staying in the center of the village hauling their luggage down the cobblestone streets-you don't want to do that.

You can just walk the 5 mins into town to shop for anything you might need-wine (go to the enoteca), bakery, meat and cheese, fruit and veggies.


We stayed in the 2 BR/2 BA apt for 2 adult couples. The space was more than ample. The furnishings/kitchen supplies are adequate but not great. There are no basic condiments in the kitchen-no salt and pepper, for example.

WiFi is good, but in the lobby-so, you have to walk down the stairs, and sit in one of the lobby's uncomfortable chairs.

And you have to pay extra for the heat-10 Euros/day. And a 250 Euro cash security deposit at the Hotel Caterina when you check in.

NONETHELESS, you will love the location, views, peacefulness, right next to lake, quick walks into town. On balance, and with decent prices, you won't do better.

Room Tip: Litarda is a 2 BR/2 BA apt-good for 2 couples, and very ample space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hanalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. We were lucky to have been given an apartment with a large roof terrace and three balconies. The 180 degree view of the lake was amazing. Swimming in the very clean lake was lovely. The apartment was spacious. It is a short walk from the town centre yet wonderfully quiet.

In some ways, the kitchen was very well equipped (lots of cutlery, glasses, crockery etc) but only a tiny coffee maker, no tea towels and a single match to light the cooker!

However, the owner and staff were excellent; they were very welcoming and helpful. We would also recommend their restaurant in the town, which defintiely had the best food and wine!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SimonT262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We would really recommend Residence Casa Sul Lago if you are looking for great location, amazing views, friendly staff and free parking. The facilities may be a little basic for full self catering but with the choice of reasonably priced restaurants in & around the piazza meant that we did not stay in to cook! The rooms were very clean with plenty of towels and little extras in the bathrooms. This was the second time we have stayed and both times we have been very happy. The views from the rooms are breathtaking (1st time we stayed in rm 2 and 2nd time in rm 5). Rm 5 was very impressive - the views of the lake/island hit you as soon as you open the front door! This rm has large sliding doors leading to a veranda with seating and sunbathing equipment. Across the road, in front of the apartment block there is a small boat/sunbathing deck which is great for dip in the very refreshing lake! The car park is located on the main road into Orta, approx a 8 minute walk, the very friendly & helpful staff will allow you to drive to the apartments to drop off luggage etc - we were arriving late at night & they suggested we parked in the driveway until morning which was very helpful. The free parking is actually an added bonus as most of the hotels in Orta don’t have this facility and there is a daily charge to park in the town’s underground car park. The stroll into the piazza is very pleasant and takes approx 5 minutes. Can’t wait to return to Orta for our wedding in June!

Room Tip: Rm 5 was very impressive - the views of the lake/island hit you as soon as you open the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

On the night of our arrival we were quite disappointed. We did not know that there was no AC and no living room (but two bedrooms). We thought that the second bed was an open couch but it was a bed and we would have to lie down to watch TV ( a minuscule vintage one...). And the parking is quite far away, 10-12 minutes of brisk walking. BUT after a good night sleep we started to see and appreciate the many advantages of the apartment.
a. it's big and we used the second bedroom to store the luggage
b. we had the PUNTE MOVERO garden apartment, which has a table and four comfortable garden chairs. The garden is really nice and large and we made good use of it
c. the view cannot be surpassed - all the windows face the lake, just across the narrow road. There is even a private beach.
d.the villa is ten minutes walk from the center of the village
e. there is no parking because the village does not allow cars. Although the ground floor apartment is on the lake road we were not bothered by too much noise
f. we did not use the TV (nobody came to show us how to activate the channels), but with Internet access from the apt we did not really need TV.
g. there is a dishwasher - no detergent but it works.
h. we found bathrobes for each of us
Suggestions to the management:
-In the summer arrange for fans. in September we managed with open windows but in the summer I guess it might be too hot.
-it might be nice to find some dish detergent at least for the first day (particularly as there is no supermarket in the area), and you might sell some dishwater detergent for several days
-even nicer might be to prepare a small tray for the first breakfast. Some guests arrive directly from abroad and don't have anything with them: some crackers, jam or butter, 50 gr. of coffee, little things that don't cost a lot but show concern for details
AFTER ALL, WE WERE PLEASANTLY SURPRISED, OUR INITIAL DISAPPOINTMENT DISAPPEARED AND WE ARE ALREADY PLANNING A LONGER VISIT HERE, PERHAPS EVEN NEXT YEAR.

Room Tip: upstairs apartments might have a better view of the lake but the ground floor apartment had the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gdotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed at the Residence Casa sul Lago for 4 days in July in the 2 bedroom "Motta" apartment. The location is perfect, facing the lake and a pleasant 5 minute walk from the piazza. Close enough to be convenient, far enough to be more peaceful than accommodation right in town.

There is a quiet road between the Casa and the lakefront but traffic is so infrequent this wasn't an issue. The private "beach" is a grass area 20m x 5m with a handful of loungers and steps in and out of the lake. The perfect spot for a little sun worshipping.

The apartment was a generous size with balconies off every room and a large terrace where we could eat meals or generally watch the world go by. The furnishings and kitchen equipment were a little bric-a-brac and seemed to be assembled ad hoc. Nothing matched and some things were in a bit of disrepair.

However we had everything we needed to prepare meals and make ourselves comfortable. If you want perfection in Italy it costs a lot more than this place, and we were all very happy to have chosen to Residence Casa sul Lago for our trip to this absolutely stunning part of the world.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LikeItIs-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I can really say I would never forget the wonderfull time spent in Orta... and this was also due from our stay at the RESIDENCE CASA SUL LAGO. We were 2 couple in a very big apartment with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, livingroom, kitchen, terrace and balconies with lake view. It has a private beach just opposite the road (very quiet road anyway where only a couple of cars transit) and the parking is at 700 meters but it is not a problem because it is a nice walk and in Orta you don't have to use the car....
Please do as I did.... come to CASA SUL LAGO and you would be happy :-)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRAUdirektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

Casa Sul Lago is a group of apartments, which is managed by the Hotel Santa Caterina. The apartments are located just outside of the village of Orta (5-minute walk) on the lake road. We stayed in the La Litarda apartment. This was a 2-bedroom / 2-bathroom apartment with light furnishings and a kitchen. Each room included a balcony or terrace with all rooms having superb views of the lake.

Pros:
The price was very reasonable as well costing us 580 euros for 4 nights. Because we were two couples each with a toddler, this was very good deal. The apartment was also roomy which made it easy for each couple to bring a Pack'n'Play (baby bed) to set up in each bedroom.

The location was ideal as it was walking distance to the village of Orta and the views from the apartment were fantastic.

Cons:
Parking was a complete headache. The hotel asked us not to park in front of the apartment, because they had guest parking about a 15 minute walk from the apartment.

Many of the other guests in the apartment did not follow this rule making checkout time very difficult. This is because the parking in front of the apartments is really not meant for parking, simply dropping off and picking up luggage. The hotel allowed guests to break the rules and park there making bringing our car to checkout very difficult.

The furnishings in the kitchen/dining area were terrible. There were two tables, 8 table chairs, and a small futon set up as a couch. On the first morning our daughter was playing near the side table and we noticed that the entire table was about to fall apart. The side table was very large and had our daughter bumped into the table she would have been seriously hurt.

Moments later the table fell to pieces. Apparently the previous guests had broken the table, tried to piece it back together, and this went unnoticed by the hotel. After complaining to the front desk at the hotel, they came in and removed the table.

The floors of the apartment were also very dirty. Withing an hour of being in the apartment, our socks were black. We had to complain to the hotel in order for a cleaning staff to come to clean the floors.

Overall I rated this apartment as a 2. This is mainly due to the danger posed to our daughters by the condition of the furniture in the hotel. We would come to Orta again, but if we do, we would not stay at Casa Sul Lago. We would instead opt to stay in a hotel within the center of the village.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank campbfh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#9 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sul Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sul Lago

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 10 | PO Box 16, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: £80 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 146
Also Known As:
Casa Sul Lago Hotel Orta San Giulio
Casa Sul Lago Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing