We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Rocco
Nearby Hotels
Santa Caterina(Orta San Giulio)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Aracoeli(Orta San Giulio)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Piccolo Hotel Olina(Orta San Giulio)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel La Bussola(Orta San Giulio)
US$165
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fontaine Bleue Hotel(Orta San Giulio)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bocciolo(Orta San Giulio)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Contrada dei Monti(Orta San Giulio)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta(Orta San Giulio)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Villa Crespi(Orta San Giulio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
176
209
94
36
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
209
94
36
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewfantastic locationlakeside hotelbreakfast roomwould highly recommend this hotelthe main squareeasy walkrooms are smallreception deskperfect stayterraceislandtowngranitelakeshorefrontagemirror
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Wife and I recently did a 10 day trip to 3 of the Italian lakes (Orta, Maggiore, Como) with all lodging and tours booked via an Italian travel service located in Bellagio. Hotel San Rocco was one of the best places we stayed. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to the center of a very quaint italian village. We had a deluxe room (king bed) which was extremely clean and spacious with a 3/4ths enclosed large comfortable outdoor balcony overlooking the lake. Since we had rain one day during our stay, the fact that the balcony was covered did not take away from us being able to enjoy the view while reading or enjoying a glass of wine. I would highly recommend spending the extra money to book a lake view room at any of the hotels in the lake region....the vistas are outstanding. The breakfast buffet and service was fine. The only criticism I have is that the free "wi-fi" service was only able to be accessed in one area of the hotel. I subsequently found out that this is not unusual in Italy but was an inconvenience just the same. Would absolutely book here again. Also recommend the tour of San Giulio.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CheckingIn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I had a single in the garret area with a small balcony over the lake, that was large enough and twice as charming with a beautiful modern elegant bath. I would book this room again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamcurious4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

It was with some trepidation that we arrived at this hotel, given that the Rough Guide had totally slated it and given some of the bad reviews we had seen. However, a wonderful surprise awaited us. We loved it. The hotel must be the best positioned in Orta. It lies directly at the lake side and has spectacular views. The rooms were new, roomy and well equipped and we had a little balcony looking out on to the pool and the lake. We were delighted with it. The pool is superb and lies directly alongside the lake. However, the weather was so good and the lake so inviting, we swam in the lake every day. Breakfast was perfect. A vast array of continental goodies, which had something for every one. The hotel is literally a minutes walk to the main square in the village, which is the hub for all the bars and restaurants. For a relaxing retreat at a wonderful hotel with great views, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BH-TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here for four nights and overall enjoyed the hotel, but it's let down by poor serving staff at breakfast, small rooms and large, noisy wedding parties.

Our room was small but modern, probably too modern for some people's tastes. The bathroom is good and the shower was excellent. However, there are no hooks in the bathroom, small point, but quite annoying.

The location is first class, with great views of the lake and the island, with plenty of place to sit and enjoy the lake. There's a good pool and place to park a boat (you can hire them) and it's also possible to swim in the lake.

The reception staff are very good and very knowledgeable.

The restaurant looked pricey and I can confirm there are cheaper (and excellent) alternatives within a five minute walk.

What really lets this hotel down though, is the poor service at breakfast. The staff can appear surly (I know it's Italy, but this was beyond what could be expected), breakfast items are left to run out and getting them replenished is a battle and a waitress on our last day was wearing black jeans with trainers as part of her uniform. We have communicated this to the hotel on our departure, so lets hope they fix it.

Also, two of our party, in separate rooms, on separate floors, were woken up by "YMCA" being sung at 0200 by an ongoing wedding party. Reading other reviews, this seems to be a common theme and the hotel must take action to sort this out!

However, it is a good hotel in a great location and does promise a fantastic stay. The service and wedding are minor problems.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Summary: My (now) wife and I were married on Lake Orta and stayed at the San Rocco Hotel for the duration of our trip (except the eve of the wedding as it was bad luck for the bride to see the groom) which lasted 10 days. There were 8 people in our group staying at the hotel.

Pros: The hotel lobby (deck area) is perfect for visiting guests and friends to relax and unwind. In fact it's so good I reckon it's one of the best spots on the lake to relax over an espresso or a Prosecco and take in the stunning view of the lake. The rooms are clean, medium sized and well lit but make sure to get a lake view or you are missing out.
On our wedding night we returned to find a complimentary bottle of Champagne in our room (the bridesmaids requested this) which we shared the following evening on the deck with our guests. By far Clara at reception stood out as the most valuable member of staff at San Rocco, positive, energetic and willing to help. She really was a pleasure to deal with.

Cons: There are a few unfortunately. In our party of 8 we found the following to be true. The lobby area (inside) is dead all day and all evening, it's like a ghost hotel, in fact there's more atmosphere in space. A glass of Prosecco cost €7 and is usually served by an apathetic (showing or feeling no interest, enthusiasm, or concern) member of staff. At €244 per room per night not having WiFi access is an Epic Fail and then being charged €15 for WiFi access to find it doesn't work and their Tech support consists of the on/off modem trick was very disappointing! We had to resort to expensive roaming 3G to video Skype with family who didn't make the trip. The rooms as (mentioned above) are mid-size but the bathroom is tiny and personally I'm not a fan of the Bath/Shower space saving combo. Breakfast is average and the staff were "grumpy" particularly Matteo who received a complaint for passing remarks about guests under his breath (some of us speak Italian) and then trying to add a €12 charge to two guests for x4 slices of toast? This is totally unacceptable! Our last gripe was that our bridesmaids were put in a "Lake view" room which should have been called the "Tree view" room on their first night.

Warning: Through an unfortunate set of circumstances one of our guests ventured into the incorrect room. This surprised the correct guest staying in the room and left the bewildered guest from our party "dazed and confused" as to how this could happen while the hotel staff pointed the blame directly at him. In fact his key card allowed him into the incorrect room (which looked identical according to staff). Upon leaving the hotel we reported this security risk and clarification to the front desk and we demonstrated how the card to room 314 can also open 214!!! Of course we were told "The computer says ..." but there's nothing more clear or more evident than an actual demonstration. This wasn't resolved when we were checking out so be careful.

Conclusion: San Rocco is a beautiful hotel situated in a beautiful location. Don't expect great treatment from the staff (excluding the aforementioned member) and don't expect any perks or extras even if you bring a large group! To synopise: it's a nice hotel that could be great. I know I've been very critical in this review but I (and members of our group) travelled extensively and I can see the potential in this hotel so I'm hoping our comments will be put to good use and help make San Rocco a more welcoming and efficient place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room without a restricted view of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bfitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews