We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Hotel San Rocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Rocco
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My now Husband and I just got married in Orta San Giulio and stayed at San Rocco. The wedding reception wasn't actually at the Hotel (although we had an aperitif there on the day) so we weren't sure if we would have the same service as those who choose to have their receptions there. However, we had great service.
The Receptionists were all super helpful and friendly, as were the Bar staff and all the others we came across. The location is fantastic and is really the best thing about this hotel. It's lake front setting is superb, with people being able to jump off the jetty into the lake, or dock their boat. The pool on the lake front is also wonderful. We had friends and family sitting with us daily, who weren't staying at San Rocco and they didn't mind.
We ate at the restaurant and although pricey, it was delicious. We stayed in a Superior room with a terrace and lake view. Beautiful and it was nice having a sofa and some extra room for moving around. I would recommend paying the extra a night and having a lake view, as you can look out onto the lake and island.
Parking is a bit tricky, so Reception will ask for your keys and park the car for you.
The only slight improvements that the Hotel could make are: 1) better lighting - its so dark in the room at night as the lights are quite dim 2) air conditioning didn't seem to function properly in any of our rooms 3) better parking 4) wifi throughout the hotel (it's only in 1 room and wasn't working even there, towards the end of our stay).
But these are all minor really... it didn't detract from a fantastic wedding stay. On our wedding night, San Rocco even gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne which was a lovely surprise. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Lake view for sure
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Rocco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

Returned recently from our first visit to Lake Orta - we are familiar with other Italian Lakes.
We thought the location of San Rocco hotel was simply stunning and even over a hot & sunny June w/e it wasn't too busy or noisy on either the lake or at the hotel itself.
To be able to swim in the lake as an alternative to the pool was just lovely.
We were concerned that there might be wedding groups but in fact that didn't transpire - there was just one modest sized family function ( ? a christening ) while we were there and it didn't spoil our enjoyment.
As previously commented , breakfasts are rather limited for a 4* hotel but we were very pleased with our dinner in the hotel restaurant and a surprise complementary bottle of Prosecco on arrival was a nice touch.
As for the trendy room decor - all cleverly done but personally I would prefer a ' cheerier ' colour than dull brown/grey and being practical , some basic instructions for the air con unit would have been really helpful !!

Room Tip: A lake view is essential to appreciate the hotel's location but most balconies are very small al...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFletcher7_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The weather was not good for our stay, which got things off to a bit of a bad start. What made it worse was the grim overly trendy decor of the hotel ,browny grey. which resembled an underground car park. The balcony and view from our room were very good, but we were in one of the superior rooms. Had we been in any thing less we would have gone bonkers. Not all rooms have balconies and look small and grim. The staff on the reception were ok but the rest of them need a couple of weeks at charm school. What a surly bunch they are. The breakfast in the hotel was limited and the so called fresh fruit on display has been there a very long time. The restaurants and bars in the town are very good. they serve excellent food and great wines at fairly reasonable prices.But I would give the San Rocco hotel a miss as it lacks charm. There must be many more in the area ,way less expensive and 10 times as good.

Room Tip: If you have to go here make sure you get a superior room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chillchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at Hotel San Rocco on our honeymoon recently. On checking we found the place to be lovely. The rooms were nice, the view was amazing. The only thing which spoiled our experience and this really did spoil it! We left our car in the car park - as requested we left our keys as they only have a small car park. Stupidly we did not check the car on leaving. Guess what they had damaged it! We found this our down the round on our journey to the next town on our road trip. I emailed them immediately and despite 2 emails they have failed to respond. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR KEYS WITH THEM!! make sure you check your car before you leave - even if you did point something our I don't think they would really care anyway! With this attitude towards guests I really find it difficult to recommend this hotel - however the setting is nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kent_chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel is one of the nicest around. Rooms are not clean, but extremely clean. Service is impeccable. Just one area of improvement: The wifi access is not in the room but in a corner next to the bar... A bit inconvenient for business travelers.

For a romantic place however, this is a perfect spot. Rooms are spacious, modern. Ours had an outstanding view on the lake, making the experience most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Get a view on the lake!.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebmarc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have stayed in Hotel San Rocco for couple of weeks on my business trip.

The hotel is one of the expensive places around Lake Orta, however you will get an excellent service for your money. It is very close to the Orta square, Island of San Giulio and the UNESCO site Sacro Monte.

I recommend to go for Italian ice cream "gelato" to Pella on the other side of the lake near the square, the greatest ice cream in the region.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 days with our 2 kids. The hotel is charming. Our room was immaculate, beautiful bed linens a new bathroom and view of the lake. Our kids loved it...they loved jumping in the lake several times a day, the close-by miniature golf and the room also. The service was wonderful, they offered us rides to different locations around the lake since we didn't have a car. It was only a few minutes walking to the town. I have been to Lakes Como, Maggiore and Garda, and loved the intimacy of Orta.

My biggest complaint is that of all the days we stayed, the pool was only open for one afternoon. This seemed crazy for July! Also, there was not an easy way for our kids to get OUT of the lake, no ladder to get out of the water. For the price, the room was on the small-side. They explained it was because the hotel used to be a convent.

Their breakfast was great. Also, their restaurant, though expensive, was wonderful. Some of the best food we had in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DecafCapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orta San Giulio
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
918 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Rocco

Address: Via Gippini 11 | Navigatore Via Poli 9, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: £120 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Rocco 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the picturesque Lake Orta, Hotel San Rocco is surrounded by the ancient walls of a monastery. It boasts a swimming pool and views of the enchanting San Giulio Island. The San Rocco was a convent for 150 years. The Baroque-style Villa Gippini was later added to the original building. The elegant restaurant features regional and international cuisine and breathtaking lake views. There is a beautiful garden, a golf course, and a beauty centre called the Body Harmony Center. In fine weather you can access the Wellness Roof Garden, set on the 4th floor. A billiards table and a fully equipped conference centre are provided. Rooms are elegantly furnished with a flat-screen TV and minibar. Most have lake views. Rooms in the annexe known as Villa Gippini are also available. The hotel is close to Switzerland and the Prealpine valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Rocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Rocco Orta Giulio
Hotel San Rocco Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing