We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel in Superb Location”
Review of Hotel San Rocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Rocco
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel was easy to find as we arrived by car. We had pre-booked for underground parking. Our room had a lake view and was clean, plenty of toiletries, hairdryer. Quirky hanging rail from the ceiling had us in hoots as we had to 'fish' for our clothes with a long pole!
The swimming pool was clean and welcoming after a long day's sightseeing. Towels were provided there. Didn't use the spa as we were only there two nights but I'm sure it would be up to the standard of everything else.
I would have preferred breakfast on the terrace instead of in an upstairs room but there were still the fabulous views whilst you were eating. Scrambled eggs and bacon, hard-boiled eggs, honey, bread rolls, local bread, local cheeses, ham, cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, peach & pear halves, fruit cocktail, cake, croissants, tea, coffee, juices, water. We didn't eat dinner at the Hotel as the menu wasn't to our taste but ate in the main square.
We did have bar drinks on the terrace and the service was very food. The reception staff and everyone else there was very friendly and spoke perfect English. We would stay here again as it is away from the centre of the town but only 5 minutes walk.
Turn left out of the hotel and you can walk around the headland along the lungolago with plenty of photo opportunities. Fantastic stay there!

Room Tip: Lake View (with Island view) is a must.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Rocco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Fantastic location, on the water, in Orta San Giulio. We had seen this hotel when visiting the town several months before and were lured in by its charm to get a business card should we be able to return. Fast forward two months. We spent only one night there, but we had a very good experience. We lounged by the lakeside pool, but we also walked up the lake to some piers from which we were able to easily enter the lake for a lovely swim. The reason I do give this hotel the highest rating is that our room was terribly small. We had trouble walking around the foot of the bed. The shower was typical of what one would find in a much lower-priced hotel. There was not even room for a soap dish/shelf. The bathroom would benefit from some hooks to hang towels and shaving kits. The breakfast room was lovely, overlooking the lake, and the breakfast foods were very adequate. The common areas, where one could read the paper, get a coffee, etc. both inside and out, were lovely. Overall, despite the small room (for the price) I would be happy to return to this beautiful hotel for a longer stay. (Friends who had a room down the hall said their room was larger and they had a bathtub, so it might help to request a larger room.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milanomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a relaxing weekend break at this lovely hotel on the lake front in Orta San Giulio. We booked a superior room with a lake view which was pricey in high season but great to have a balcony to chill on overlooking the lake and island. We did not eat in the restaurant, but the bar area was spacious and it had a lovely terrace right next to the lake. The pool and pool area was very busy but I was easily able to book a treatment in the Body Harmony Centre with a delightful and well experienced lady called Sara. Although something of a tourist trap, the village itself is very pretty with some nice eateries with excellent wine lists (I should mention the restaurant A Due Santi in the main square at this point) and we enjoyed a walk up to Sacro Monte and a boat trip over to the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room on the third floor (the top floor of the hotel). We were on the first floor...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

this is a really lovely hotel with quite stunning views of the lake and the island nunnery.
The rooms are quite small but very well equipped and the bathrooms are excellent.
Opt for a lake view overlooking the pool but high up if possible as there are trees.
The food is excellent but breakfast should be served outside in order not to miss the lovely views.
Great spa treatments from some lovely ladies and Michaela at the bar was a star
The hotel is quite expensive but who can put a price on the view and serenity of the location
The town is lovely and Venus is a great restaurant but beware all locations are full of mosquitoes so spray and cover up or risk being eaten alive....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenguinTuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Given the popularity of Orta, this hotel can charge highly, and it does, but it is worth it for a short break. We had a superior room with balcony which was good although I didn't like the look of the standard rooms, the balcony was very welcome in the mornings and evenings. Eating out was a bit if a tourist trap in the main square, so look slightly away for better food. Orta is very busy during the day but late evenings are very agreeable.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PMHodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I didn't stay at this hotel but came across it on one of our many walks, we had an excellent refreshing lunch served by friendly staff, it was so good we had morning coffee and a choice of delicious home made biscuits all served at the waters edge with such peaceful views on another day!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank heatheri706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Very nice spot, clean and modern rooms in a very old and completely redone building. Nice pool on the lake, with a fabulous view of the island. Very quiet.
This is also a great location to take day trips to Lago Maggiore, Stressa, and even a longer trip to Lago Como.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbh858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orta San Giulio
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
918 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Rocco

Address: Via Gippini 11 | Navigatore Via Poli 9, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: £120 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Rocco 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the picturesque Lake Orta, Hotel San Rocco is surrounded by the ancient walls of a monastery. It boasts a swimming pool and views of the enchanting San Giulio Island. The San Rocco was a convent for 150 years. The Baroque-style Villa Gippini was later added to the original building. The elegant restaurant features regional and international cuisine and breathtaking lake views. There is a beautiful garden, a golf course, and a beauty centre called the Body Harmony Center. In fine weather you can access the Wellness Roof Garden, set on the 4th floor. A billiards table and a fully equipped conference centre are provided. Rooms are elegantly furnished with a flat-screen TV and minibar. Most have lake views. Rooms in the annexe known as Villa Gippini are also available. The hotel is close to Switzerland and the Prealpine valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Rocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Rocco Orta Giulio
Hotel San Rocco Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing