We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, terrible customer service”
Review of Hotel San Rocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Rocco
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Setting-wise, this hotel is perfectly located. I can't complain about the room, or the helpfulness of the staff whilst at the hotel.

Price-wise, yes it's expensive - I wouldn't pay this amount for the hotel elsewhere, but the location does justify a premium. However, when paying £250 per night, I'd expected some of the guest amenities to have been available for free.

The rooftop spa garden is €500 per day!! Yes, you read that right. it's something ridiculous like €150 for 2 hours. I was literally astounded. The deposit for the umbrella I borrowed was €50.

Aside that, the hotel overcharged me for my stay. I've been emailing them for 6 weeks now trying to get a refund - still no luck.

Every time I've chased them, they've come back asking for more information - how much more information do I need to give for them to do a bank transfer? They've had my IBAN, SWIFT, BIC, Account Number, Sort Code, Address...

Would I stay here again... No. Was the hotel beautiful in an idyllic location - yes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StephenMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Rocco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Good afternoon,
I know that you are in contact with our administration office and the problem is totaly resolved.

1) we answer immediatly to all your e-mail
2) we send you notification of our payment by e-mail
3) we send you our notification with a copy of our bank

The last problem of 42 euro that you wait, we send 10 days ago, maybe your bank spend long time to accredit money because as an international wire transfer.

This is not a "terrible customer service" but a perfect and professional customer service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Rocco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Like many others I agree that the rooms and balconies are tiny. Our bathroom really needed a refurbishment (please change those shower curtains). Overall cleanliness of the room and around the hotel is poor. Breakfast was terrible. What saves this hotel is the location just by the lake and on the end of the lovely little town of Orta San Giulio.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HannaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

one cannot imagine a location more romantic than this. in front of the lake and of the tiny and beautiful island of san giulio. one stone away from the centre of this beautiful little town. with a swimming pool just in front of the lake and a bar sitting literally in front of the water. so everything perfect but....the room is a two star room costing like a five star one. there is no style at all. just random furniture thrown into the room. bathroom is claustrophobic with no windows. swimming pool is old and accordingly so the sun-lounges. bar service is run buy one or two guys max even in high season (very nice people though always trying to help). restaurant where breakfast is served is dreadful and food is not served outside. if refurbished this could be one of the best place to stay in the lakes of northern italy. stunning location deserves a much better hotel. ps. we were in villa gippini

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dede F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This very large hotel is well situated to take advantage of the charming village of Orta San Giulio with a very short walk to all the sights, shops and includes beautiful views on the lake. It also offers great parking for guests which is at a premium and nearly worth the price alone in this small and very touristic village.
Hotel has typical 4 star amenities such as a large bar and seating on the lake for warm evenings as well as a rather old swimming pool (unheated) which is refreshing if the air temperatures are high. As we arrived late and didn't want to leave the hotel the first night, we did eat at the restaurant, which unfortunately was easily forgettable. I would suggest going into town as there are numerous others and the best ones do not have seating or a view onto the lake. As to the hotel, the guest rooms are small, rather dark, poorly lit and the bathroom (of our room) had no window with little to no ventilation! Not our first choice, if we were to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alexofsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I did review some of the other comments and have to admit some agreement. However, my final review is a complete Bravo! why? read on. We originally had the best third floor suite w/ large balcony overlooking the pool and magnificent Isla San Giulia. Located just out of town to be quiet yet only a three minute walk to be at the center of things. Still, i felt more like we were staying in a modern Milan hotel than in one of the prettiest and mystical lake villages in Italy. We originally selected HSR due to the dramatic swimming pool. However, wandering the grounds i noted the Villa Gippini, the original and completely restored home of some of the ancien nobility of Orta SG. The ground floor sitting rooms are literally museum quality restorations filled w/ contemporary sculpture in a stunning baroque setting. Unsure if it was our 'unusual' six day stay or that it was my birthday, after making some inquiries more out of curiosity considering our budget, the HSR came back to me w/ an offer for the Presidential Suite at a very reasonable surcharge which i promptly accepted. I must say, the next five nites i felt like royalty. Two separate baths, sitting room, small dining area, luxury bedroom bigger than my apartment with two walk-in closets plus balcony overlooking your private fountained garden...well i suppose one cud get used to this. I agree w/ some of the comments about the b'fast. We simply dined en suite on our expansive balcony. The added charge was well worth.
The only lament is the reported lack of WIFI which i gladly overlooked but understand others may not. In closing, this Villa completely enhanced our enjoyment of Orta SG & will stay in my memory a very long time....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights at the start of July and really can't decide what to make of it!
Pros - amazing views; spacious modern rooms (we had a lake view room with a balcony.); clean communal areas; central location.
Cons - very overpriced; wifi doesn't work in rooms or by the pool (management did agree to discount our bill by 10%, but only when we made a fuss and asked for discount!); breakfast is distinctly average and certainly doesn't reflect the prices charged. In particular, the coffee was dreadful and tasted burnt; towels and sun loungers by the pool are very tatty (again, not what one would expect given the prices); lack of personal touch - staff not friendly.
In summary - overpriced. You are very much paying for the location, and I certainly wouldn't stay here unless in a lake view room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tourist13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel San Rocco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Good morning,
prices we have from the previous administration and surely will be revised for 2015 also included the various measures envisaged

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in the beginning of June, 2014. Nice, modern room and comfortable bed.
The bar terrace has an exceptional view of the lake and Isola San Guiglio! This alone is reason enough to stay there. The only thing negative thing, was that there could have been more options for breakfast. There wasnt much to choose from. Should have been better selection of bread, and missed cucumber, tomatoes and fresh fruit. But all in all great hotel and would love to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orta San Giulio
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
918 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Rocco

Address: Via Gippini 11 | Navigatore Via Poli 9, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: £120 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Rocco 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the picturesque Lake Orta, Hotel San Rocco is surrounded by the ancient walls of a monastery. It boasts a swimming pool and views of the enchanting San Giulio Island. The San Rocco was a convent for 150 years. The Baroque-style Villa Gippini was later added to the original building. The elegant restaurant features regional and international cuisine and breathtaking lake views. There is a beautiful garden, a golf course, and a beauty centre called the Body Harmony Center. In fine weather you can access the Wellness Roof Garden, set on the 4th floor. A billiards table and a fully equipped conference centre are provided. Rooms are elegantly furnished with a flat-screen TV and minibar. Most have lake views. Rooms in the annexe known as Villa Gippini are also available. The hotel is close to Switzerland and the Prealpine valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Rocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Rocco Orta Giulio
Hotel San Rocco Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing