We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expectations too high ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Crespi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Crespi
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Expectations too high ?”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Reading the wonderful reviews of The Villa Crispi I had no doubt this was the right choice for our 4 day visit to Lake Orta . The villa is magical and first impressions were very favorable despite arriving in the rain. The Reception staff were excellent and immediately made us feel welcome. After a sandwich we were shown to our room. It was, what we have come to expect from Relais Chateau, very well furnished, but there was no view of the lake from the room. The room description said “partial view” it would be better described as “obstructed view” True a part of the lake could be seen if you peered over the enclosed balcony, but if you sat in the balcony you felt very enclosed with no views at all. The bed was raised but still no view of the lake and a large step made nocturnal visits to the loo a bit precarious. I thought about requesting a change but reading the description of the garden rooms they had no balcony and no bath so we decided to stay put. The breakfasts are outstanding and need time to fully enjoy and relax. The situation of the hotel is good for vehicle access but no direct access to the lake. A private beach is mentioned in their hotel guide but this belongs to another hotel. With no swimming pool and no direct lakeside access a swim involves a 10 minute walk to a small public beach.

The restaurant was going to be one of the highlights of our stays and again the reviews the Villa Crespi has received in this respect heightened our expectations, but, regrettably, it fell a little short of these. A fuller explanation can be found under restaurant reviews for Orta

We loved our 4 day stay in Orta and the Villa Crespi is certainly a magical place, it just did not live up to our expectations, based on the reviews and star rating. It is difficult to criticise or to make a complaint because the hotel has been “over praised “. I have rated the Villa Crespi as "Very Good" because it would be unfair to call it "Average" but for us it was little short of "Excellent"

Would we visit Lake Orta again, definitely. Would we stay at the Villa Crespi, probably not

Room Tip: If you want the lake experience go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    96
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
102
468
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

From the amazing visuals of this beautiful villa to the service from all the staff, the food .....wow the food and the opportunity to cook in one of the worlds best kitchen this was truly amazing! Antonino thanks for sharing your home and passion.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamworthtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed for a long weekend at Villa Crespi and we had a wonderful time. The service is truly 5 star with every staff member clearly well trained and motivated.

The location is perfect, less than an hour from Venice Malpensa and just a short walk down into Orta.

I must mention the outstanding restaurant. On our first night we had the 10 course tasting menu which was superbly executed both in the preparation and front of house presentation. For the other nights we were never short of somewhere to eat in Orta (tripadvisor was very helpful here).

Finally the building alone is worth the trip, it makes a real change to stay in such an interesting place!

Many thanks to all at Villa Crespi for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We last stayed at Villa Crespi in October 2012 and we found it just as special this August. From the moment you step into the reception area you are treated with the warmest of welcomes. Indeed we were greeted by name by the Restaurant Manager, which, although a simple feature, leaves a lasting impression. Our room looked North over the lake towards the mountains and it was very comfortable indeed. The meal in the restaurant was excellent, it was served with panache and with wine that complemented every course. Breakfast was a relaxed affair taken in the garden. Cannot recommend the experience highly enough

Room Tip: Rooms that look North have a good panoramic view of the lake and mountains - rooms to the South have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Villa Crespi is a beautiful Moorish estate with a remarkable Michelin rated restaurant. Our top floor room was a bit of a disappointment but the rest of the property lovely. The staff was helpful and the overall experience very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfcfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Spent a lovely 3 nights with our 3 kids at Villa Crespi this July. Service was personal, food outstanding and the location unbeatable. Great for exploring the broader lakes region.
For my wife and i this was our second visit to the property, our last stay there was in 1997.
Note, this is a great food property first and a hotel second. The food at the 2 Michelin restaurant is the highlight, the non dining hotel features would need to be upgraded to match equivalent properties like le manoir aux quatre saisons in the UK, where we stayed a few months ago. Overall though, a great stay and a v good property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tharma21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived late at night and only fully realized the beauty of this hotel in the morning when we opened our curtains and looked out onto the lake. The hotel has been lovingly restored to its former glory - Moorish design, intricate and ornate. The staff are welcoming and the service impeccable! We had a Royal Suite - large - with a sitting area and a four poster bed. The bathroom too, was large and well appointed (no shower!). Dinner in the restaurant took us totally by surprise! With a two star recommendation in the Michelin Guide, it was over the top exquisite dining from the Amuse Bouche to the final dessert taster. An easy stroll down to the village of Orta and a walk along the lake, allows you to really appreciate the beauty of the region. I'm glad I found Villa Crespi!

Room Tip: We had a beautiful suite on the second floor overlooking the lake. Loved the ambience and it was als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_regular_traveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Rocco Hotel
San Rocco Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Crespi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Crespi

Property: Villa Crespi
Address: G. Fava road 18, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Crespi 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Crespi, a dream location set in the gorgeous countryside around Lake Orta, is in not far from Milan's international Malpensa airport. This fairy-tale palace and its Moorish architecture are a unique experience with the magical atmosphere of the Thousand and One Nights and a journey through the flavours of the two Michelin Star Chef-Patron Antonino Cannavacciuolo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Crespi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Crespi Hotel Orta San Giulio
Villa Crespi Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing