We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly amazing place, wonderful time”
Review of Villa Crespi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Crespi
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed with my partner for four days at Villa Crespi in Orta San Giulio during September 2013. It was an amazing hotel, the room was large (suite), the service was impeccable, and the atmosphere of the hotel is just so relaxing and comfortable. The staff could not do enough (I had bought my girlfriend flowers which I'd brought with us and they hunted high and low for a vase for them), they remembered our names and our room so they had our key in hand as we walked through the door, they made sure we had a welcome drink on arrival. And the restaurant that is within the hotel, with two michelin stars, is just incredible, we had the most wonderful meal there on one of the evenings, and spent the rest of our time down in the village. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, there were no negative points, every minute we were there was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slmonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Villa Crespi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Villa Crespi for three nights in August 2013, at the start of a two-week driving trip through northwestern Italy. We dined at the hotel two of those three nights. The dinners lived up to the reputation -- incredible. What struck me almost as much as the quality of the food and wine was the quality of the service at dinner. The people serving us at dinner were expert, pleasant, and informative-yet-quiet. I've never had such good table service. Breakfast was exquisite as well. You stumble down to the garden, half-awake, and immediately are offered excellent cappuccino, a delicious buffet of fruit, house-made yogurt and granola, house-made pastries, and anything from the kitchen you'd like. Our room was high-ceilinged, sun-filled, character-ful, and comfortable. It was the opposite of a sterile Four Seasons. The front-desk staff was unfailingly helpful and kind. They made meal reservations for us, suggested activities, and arranged the rental of a motor boat for the day -- something I'd highly recommend for anyone who likes to swim and can handle an easy boat. The grounds are tranquil and ideal for afternoon tea with a book. The grounds do not extend all the way down to the water, so you do need to take a short walk to the lake, but once there, there are plenty of quaint steps down into the water. Villa Crespi definitely lived up to our high anticipation of it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidgreggmcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

One comes here for the food, but the hotel is an experience in its own right. It was featured in the town map on one of my guide books as a local sight and our suite was extremely good: lovely dark colours, patterned wooden floor, gold taps in the bathroom.
Excellent service in reception and leaving (although it did have that period I always find awkward of being taken to a bar area for a refreshing drink on arrival and left sitting feeling stranded, even more so if it’s been a long journey).
The meal was intense and wonderful, finishing out in the garden where we breakfasted the next morning. The yoghurt and the chocolate-nut spread on the breakfast buffet were particularly superb. (Imagine Nutella for serious diners. We souvenired a small jar to take to a house party for breakfast a week later and guests were almost battling over it.)
It’s a pity there’s no swimming or dipping area, given that the property appears to extend down to the water level. But then the lake didn’t entice me for a swim when we walked from the hotel around the water’s edge into the town in the late afternoon.
Orta is a smaller lake than its neighbours to the east, and the town doesn’t have the glamour of some we’ve visited on Maggiore, Como or Garda. Some areas appear on the verge of a renovation that hasn’t happened. What it has instead is some wonderfully intact centuries old buildings, and the site on the sacred mountain that sits above the town, easily reached by winding up from the church above the main square of the town, or following a street across the road from the hotel. This pilgrimage site from the baroque period houses small temples– each one differently styled - with life-size sculptures telling stories of Francis of Assisi.
Our materialistic sides were then indulged by heading up the lake to the Alessi factory shop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MymAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

When you're expecting something to be that special to be let down that badly really tainted and completly took the gloss off what was a fantastic four days in the lakes. Lake Orta, Maggiore and Como were magical as was mount Mottarone, awesome. The hotel however was tired and the gardens unkempt. The room was clean but not the wow expected. Have to say however tge service from all the staff was examplary and a cresit to them all. Our last night was to be the dinner experience of a lifetime from a 2 Michelin star chef! Again service impeccable but food was poor and all in all very disappointing. More than €400 for dinner for two when we'd had a much much better meal the night before (Locanda del buon riso) for €75 including a bottle of wine, you can't help feeling annoyed and ripped off. Our opinion admittedly but for what it's worth give this hotel and its restaurant a wide wide berth if you have any value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philly1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villacrespi, Proprietario at Villa Crespi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Philly1411,

We are very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay and dining experience at villa Crespi, although you were obviously enchanted by the area you visited and this we are delighted to hear and indeed wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Constructive criticism is always welcome for its valuable input regarding plans for future improvement..on this occasion, we would like to point out just a couple of things for the benefit of Tripadvisor readers: the gardens at Villa Crespi are cared for on a regular basis by contracted gardeners who maintain the mature plants, paths and lawns to fine standards.
Perhaps some of the summer flowers are no longer with us in September and this may have accounted for a slightly unkempt appearance and we apologize for any displeasure you felt

Secondly, the hotel is closed for almost three months each year for maintenance and restoration work. The unusual nature of the Villa's Moorish architecture, which may not necessarily be to all tastes, with its rich decoration of stuccos and colorfully intricate painting, extremely work intensive and is attended to annually.

Please be aware that we endeavor, with some not inconsiderable success, judging by most comments we receive, to maintain the extremely high standards of cleanliness and conditions demanded both by Relais & Chateaux and by our extremely discerning clientele.

With regard to your comments on the dining experience, we can only apologize that this was not to your taste. In all fairness, we feel that it is hardly credible to compare establishments where the style of cooking, the ingredients used and the service are of an entirely different nature, but we are once again very pleased that the village of Orta was up to your your expectations.

Thank you once again we hope you will one day return to this beautiful area.

With kind regards,

Cinzia Primatesta Cannavacciuolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Each year my wife and I spend two weeks exploring less traveled parts of Italy. Because we live in New York our arrival and departure airport is either Malpensa or Rome. Typically we stay in either city, but this year we decided to spend our last night at Villa Crespi and drive over to Malpensa in morning. After this stunning and wonderful trip we will never stay in the city again. From the stunning beauty of the hotel, our huge room, and the top notch service the Villa met every expectation. That afternoon we took a walk to the town and visited the sights. This lead up to the magnificent meal in the Villa we entered into. Whatever keeps this from a three star I have no clue. The service was true old world excellence and the food was the best of modern italian-French cuisine. A can't miss, just say no to the cookie hotels in the city

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent 2 nights and also hosted our wedding at Villa Crespi in August 2013 and the weekend could not have gone better.
The staff were very helpful from the moment we stepped in the door, bringing us to the rear garden for welcome drinks with all my guests plus others that were not staying there.
Having organised the entire wedding myself I was feeling on edge but the staff and assistance was flawless and went beyond my expectations.
The hotel itself is something special, they Imperial suite was of course spectacular, from the views to the furnishings throughout.
We had booked the Imperial suite and two classic rooms, one of which was very kindly upgraded to an executive suite. Love the high ceilings.
We had our reception in the yellow dining room, the dining rooms each and every one superbly decorated. The food was without doubt some of the best I have ever experienced, thank you chef Cannavacciuolo (the chocolate, mango and passionfruit wedding cake was just the best). As a 'foodie' the dinner was actually the most exciting part of the day and it didn't disappoint, so be sure to make a reservation.
I dare not tell people about Orta San Giulio due to it's wonderful beauty (I think it should be a secret between those who visit) but at the same time I can not stop praising this wonderful hotel. Just a short walk from the town along the lake and around the corner only 1-2mins walk out of the front gates is the actual lakes edge from where you can hire a boat to take you to the lakes little island.
Just Perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

magical experience , felt like day dreaming

a bit pricey , very friendly service , always smiling , very helpful

didn't try the restaurant , best room ever stayed in ,

perfect location , cant wait to get back & will never forget this experience .

Room Tip: avoid the room at the top floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanaty183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#9 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Crespi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Crespi

Address: G. Fava road 18, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: £387 - £733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Crespi 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Crespi, a dream location set in the gorgeous countryside around Lake Orta, is in not far from Milan's international Malpensa airport. This fairy-tale palace and its Moorish architecture are a unique experience with the magical atmosphere of the Thousand and One Nights and a journey through the flavours of the two Michelin Star Chef-Patron Antonino Cannavacciuolo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Crespi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Crespi Hotel Orta San Giulio
Villa Crespi Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing