We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experince” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Crespi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Crespi
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful experince”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in Villa Crespi 3 nights. We are used to good hotels but this exceeded our expectations. It was a superb experience, we enjoyed every minute and we shall definitely be back to stay there in the future. The architecture is unique, the service was quick and courteous, the cleanliness was perfect, the food was classy and tasty, the location was great, we had a great time.
Ruthy R

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy-Ruthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    94
    33
    19
    14
See reviews for
100
449
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

we loved this elegant hotel. the service was magnificent from the check in to the breakfast and dinner staff. the location is fabulous on the edge of a small medieval village Orta san Giulio, an easy 3km walk all around it. we had the carpe diem degustation for dinner which was superb. they also catered for our 14 year old very well. the service at dinner was exceptional, as was at breakfast where they serve excellent eggs whichever way you want.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gohawks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Wow. It's a beautiful hotel. It's actually magical. First a secret. When you walk from the hotel to the town, as soon as you see a modern building on the left take the path down to the lake and then turn right keep going and you have an amazing walk to and from town. When you encounter a stream going over the path just keep going. Back to the hotel. breakfast was very good with cheeses selected by the very famous chef. You should have the one very expensive and special dinner but you only need to order two courses because they give you a lot of free stuff. beware it is expensive but it is a not to be missed experience. This hotel is incredibly romantic and the hotel and Lago Orta is a great ending to a vacation when you are flying from Milan because it is so close. Our room was just fantastic and we had a private balcony where we could open the doors at night. Val Wilson

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
412 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

A short drive from Milan malpensa airport was made straight forward with GPS. The lake appears seemingly out of nowhere and then the villa. A remarkable building peopled by uniformly brilliant staff full of charm and great recommendations : eg where to go for dinner, once you have eaten in the Michelin starred restaurant. Breakfast was outstanding. The setting is sublime next to Sacro Monte - perfect for a morning stroll.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The structure is kept extraordinarily well which is not a given in all 5 star hotels in Italy. The staff are very professional but at the same time very friendly and, most importantly, unassuming. The restaurant is amazing - top notch cuisine with service to match.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Unfortunately we had rain on our stay, but that did not deter from the lovely location. We really enjoyed our short stay. The staff were very attentive and the food was very good. We only had a snack in the bar area, and breakfast, but really enjoyed both meals. We enjoyed a walk into town centre in the evening and the views of the lake along the way. The only drawback was the room was very warm and we couldn't seem to get it cooler without opening the windows fully. The warmth would have been really appreciated if it had been a much cooler time of year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We drove over from Stresa for a midweek lunch in September 2013. The food was outstanding in every respect, the table service formal and pretentious, and our overall treatment offensive.

The weather was warm and sunny, but the dining terrace was not available for diners. Instead, the terrace was given over to a sales meeting of Subaru automobile dealers, set up "schoolroom" style with rows of chairs facing a speaker's podium and heavy audiovisual equipment.. Despite this, we and the other three individual lunch parties were made to sit in the adjoining glassed-in veranda looking out on the sales meeting. When we balked at this, we were told that the only alternative was to be seated inside but very close to where the large Subaru group would be served their lunch. Of course we declined this, as the staff obviously hoped we would.

(On arrival, we had parked our car where directed by a person who turned out to be, not hotel staff, but part of the Subaru team. After we were seated at our lunch table, we were asked to go move our car to another part of the parking lot. There was no offer to move it for us.)

Once re-seated at our lunch table overlooking the sales meeting, we were assured that the meeting we were witnessing was about to end. And this was true. But what followed on the terrace was a lengthy pageant of hotel staff clearing and stacking the chairs, rolling up the audiovisual equipment cables, and then setting up the terrace with cocktail tables, apparently in preparation for (presumably) the Subaru dealers' outdoor reception later in the afternoon.

What occurred during the lunch service was extraordinary. We had ordered the wine pairings proposed to accompany the multi-course menu. Partway through the antipasti, the wine server attempted to top up our still-partly-full glasses with a different wine than what had first been served. He insisted that it was the same wine, and almost had to be physically restrained to keep him from pouring the new wine on top of the old one. The captain was summoned, and assured us it was "the same wine, just a different producer." Only by adamantly insisting we did not want mixed wines in our glasses did he direct the server to retrieve the proper bottle.

At the end of the meal we got the captain to admit the facts: The wine server had mistakenly attempted to top up our glasses with the different wine being served in the next room to the Subaru dealers, rather than with the wine served to us as one of the recommended pairings. The captain never did acknowledge fault in trying to get us to accept the mixing. Candidly, we wonder whether he would have tried that line if we were not obviously Americans and presumably, therefore, knowing nothing about wine.

We understand that the chef at Villa Crespi has become a Big TV Star, and that his multifarious ventures have become a Big Business. So we can understand why individual dining clients at the flagship ristorante might now be a low priority. So we respectfully suggest that he simply dedicate Villa Crespi completely to business functions (maybe also weddings), rather than continue to put up with the annoyance of treating small non-business dining parties with the respect they feel they deserve (especially at Villa Crespi prices)..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank neuhoftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Rocco Hotel
San Rocco Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
7.8 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Crespi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Crespi

Property: Villa Crespi
Address: G. Fava road 18, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Crespi 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Crespi, a dream location set in the gorgeous countryside around Lake Orta, is in not far from Milan's international Malpensa airport. This fairy-tale palace and its Moorish architecture are a unique experience with the magical atmosphere of the Thousand and One Nights and a journey through the flavours of the two Michelin Star Chef-Patron Antonino Cannavacciuolo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Villa Crespi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Crespi Hotel Orta San Giulio
Villa Crespi Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing