We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll Be Back!”
Review of Santa Caterina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Caterina
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back!”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Our stay at this hotel was far too short as our itinerary was cramped by a flight cancellation earlier. The staff were exceptionally understanding of our booking problem and did not charge us for the missed night, so we started off with a superb impression of the property! The underground garage is very convenient. Our family of four had plenty of space in the large quadruple room on the top floor, and our balcony had a superb view. Our bathroom was huge and modern, with a whirlpool tub, and our room also had a newly added kitchen adjoining. We were also able to use the free wi-fi in our room, perhaps, because we were directly above the router in the lobby. The breakfast was delicious and huge and both hot and cold options were included for the same room price. The staff were young, smart and very attentive to our needs, and although we speak Italian, they were all clearly well-trained in English and eager to practice. The only concern we noted is the rather challenging intersection that forms a pedestrian obstacle to the roundabout that one must cross to stroll into the town centre. We kept tight control of our kids as we made the walk down to the lake, and we agreed that we would not likely allow them to make the crossing without us helping to watch for traffic coming down the hill.

Room Tip: Families should opt for the quad on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    88
    56
    10
    8
See reviews for
45
123
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from town, it's jsut the first 2-3 minutes that are a little tricky getting across roads. But a nice walk.

The rooms were kept spotless, although our bathroom could use a major refurb. The staff were helpfuly with sorting out our problems, and the underground car-parking was quite handy.

A nice selection available for breakfast, and another nice feature was a little complimentary snack bar that was open in the afternoon.

We'd definiteiyl consider it again, esp if we had a car, if there was better public transport we might have used an apartment, but no complaints about the hotel

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the courtyard, they looked better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Well located hotel on the edge of Orta San Giulio. We were greated by lovely staff on arrival and given a room upgrade to the Marilyn room which was great! There's a welcome tea and cake room where we could go and have a drink and cake and meet other guests.

A short walk to the main square, my new favourite place. An absolutely beautiful place and a lovely hotel. We are already planning our next trip and our wedding in the area!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel is a little way out of the town centre, which can be inconvenient, but on the plus side there are four different walks into town, all with lovely lake views (and you get some exercise). We found it quiet, too, although a woman we met in the lift with a room overlooking the main road said the traffic noise was bad and she had had to get earplugs - so ask for a room overlooking the garden. Actually the garden is not exactly a hortus conclusus, it too is quite near the road (and like all outside spaces these days, tends to be full of smokers), but it's quite pretty. The rooms are spacious and modern, perhaps a little underfurnished. The wardrobe's hanging facilities do not favour the diminutive - Lady L. was seriously inconvenienced. Otherwise it was comfortable. There is a free computer terminal in the lobby for guest use and also free wifi, but it only works on the ground floor, which is a pity. As others have remarked, the glory of the hotel is the breakfast buffet, certainly one of the best - possibly the best - I have ever encountered (a pity neither of us feels like stuffing all that in first thing in the morning). The staff are also extremely helpful, friendly, and multilingual.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the garden side, they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank general_ludd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Pro’s:
Rooms are very nice, clean and include a sweet small balcony. We didn’t like the bed in our room (round) so they moved us on the 2nd night.
Internet- there is free internet in the lobby (WIFI) in addition to permanent laptop for the guests usage.
The junior staff members were absolutely fantastic! (we barely encountered the owners) They gave us a warm welcoming, very good advices regarding the attractions at the area. Initially we didn’t plan to stay there for more than 1 night but decided to stay there for another night due to fireworks festival took place in the adjacent city, of which we were notified thanks to the front-desk young girl, Eliana.
In addition, she was extremely kind as she assisted us making a reservation to another hotel in Cannobio for the following night.
One more thing we liked is that they reduced the rate per night due to our decision to stay additional night. 95 Euros per night instead of 110.

Cons:
They have a parking lot down under the hotel, however, they charge supplement of about 7-8 Euros, pretty niggling from my perspective. The free parking lot is about 5-7 minutes walking.
The location is a bit far from the village center, about 15-20 minutes walking down the road.
Coffee- though the breakfast is very rich, we were very disappointed from the coffee which was a cheap machine coffee and was very poor.

Overall it’s a very nice hotel, not so fancy, and thanks to fantastic service we got, we can easily rate our experience as very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reliabletraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Firstly, the staff gave us a warm welcome and on arrival showed us to the "snack room" which contains chilled soft drinks and a wide variety of snacks. All free and open from 1500 hours until 0700 hours daily. A great retreat. The breakfast buffet is one of the best we have seen with an amazing variety well presented. They even provide sweets and chocolate cake for breakfast! Rooms quiet and comfortable. Parking in the hotel garage is 8 Euros per day but they provide a secure car park free of charge about 300 metres away and in the direction of the town centre. The town centre is about a 15 minutes very pleasant walk away. In all, we were delighted with our find and would recommend that viewers ignore the few negative moaning reviews! A great find and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanksPonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hotel was great, but what made it outstanding was the breakfast.
It was more like a gourmet meal than a breakfast, little dishes of fantastic italian food arriving at a steady pace. One side of the breakfast table was devoted to deserts, brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Axelaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
San Rocco Hotel
San Rocco Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina

Property: Santa Caterina
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 10, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Hotel Orta San Giulio
Santa Caterina Orta San Giulio
Santa Caterina Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing