We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Caterina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villa Crespi(Orta San Giulio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Darbia(Vacciago)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bocciolo(Orta San Giulio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Sul Lago(Orta San Giulio)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Piccolo Hotel Olina(Orta San Giulio)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Aracoeli(Orta San Giulio)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta(Orta San Giulio)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
La Contrada dei Monti(Orta San Giulio)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel La Bussola(Orta San Giulio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel San Rocco(Orta San Giulio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
47
95
65
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
95
65
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centrethe ground floorfree parkingfree snackssmall patiopleasant walkwide rangemeatsupholsteryortastrollposition
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Our stay at this hotel was far too short as our itinerary was cramped by a flight cancellation earlier. The staff were exceptionally understanding of our booking problem and did not charge us for the missed night, so we started off with a superb impression of the property! The underground garage is very convenient. Our family of four had plenty of space in the large quadruple room on the top floor, and our balcony had a superb view. Our bathroom was huge and modern, with a whirlpool tub, and our room also had a newly added kitchen adjoining. We were also able to use the free wi-fi in our room, perhaps, because we were directly above the router in the lobby. The breakfast was delicious and huge and both hot and cold options were included for the same room price. The staff were young, smart and very attentive to our needs, and although we speak Italian, they were all clearly well-trained in English and eager to practice. The only concern we noted is the rather challenging intersection that forms a pedestrian obstacle to the roundabout that one must cross to stroll into the town centre. We kept tight control of our kids as we made the walk down to the lake, and we agreed that we would not likely allow them to make the crossing without us helping to watch for traffic coming down the hill.

Room Tip: Families should opt for the quad on the top floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from town, it's jsut the first 2-3 minutes that are a little tricky getting across roads. But a nice walk.

The rooms were kept spotless, although our bathroom could use a major refurb. The staff were helpfuly with sorting out our problems, and the underground car-parking was quite handy.

A nice selection available for breakfast, and another nice feature was a little complimentary snack bar that was open in the afternoon.

We'd definiteiyl consider it again, esp if we had a car, if there was better public transport we might have used an apartment, but no complaints about the hotel

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the courtyard, they looked better
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Well located hotel on the edge of Orta San Giulio. We were greated by lovely staff on arrival and given a room upgrade to the Marilyn room which was great! There's a welcome tea and cake room where we could go and have a drink and cake and meet other guests.

A short walk to the main square, my new favourite place. An absolutely beautiful place and a lovely hotel. We are already planning our next trip and our wedding in the area!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel is a little way out of the town centre, which can be inconvenient, but on the plus side there are four different walks into town, all with lovely lake views (and you get some exercise). We found it quiet, too, although a woman we met in the lift with a room overlooking the main road said the traffic noise was bad and she had had to get earplugs - so ask for a room overlooking the garden. Actually the garden is not exactly a hortus conclusus, it too is quite near the road (and like all outside spaces these days, tends to be full of smokers), but it's quite pretty. The rooms are spacious and modern, perhaps a little underfurnished. The wardrobe's hanging facilities do not favour the diminutive - Lady L. was seriously inconvenienced. Otherwise it was comfortable. There is a free computer terminal in the lobby for guest use and also free wifi, but it only works on the ground floor, which is a pity. As others have remarked, the glory of the hotel is the breakfast buffet, certainly one of the best - possibly the best - I have ever encountered (a pity neither of us feels like stuffing all that in first thing in the morning). The staff are also extremely helpful, friendly, and multilingual.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the garden side, they are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank general_ludd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Pro’s:
Rooms are very nice, clean and include a sweet small balcony. We didn’t like the bed in our room (round) so they moved us on the 2nd night.
Internet- there is free internet in the lobby (WIFI) in addition to permanent laptop for the guests usage.
The junior staff members were absolutely fantastic! (we barely encountered the owners) They gave us a warm welcoming, very good advices regarding the attractions at the area. Initially we didn’t plan to stay there for more than 1 night but decided to stay there for another night due to fireworks festival took place in the adjacent city, of which we were notified thanks to the front-desk young girl, Eliana.
In addition, she was extremely kind as she assisted us making a reservation to another hotel in Cannobio for the following night.
One more thing we liked is that they reduced the rate per night due to our decision to stay additional night. 95 Euros per night instead of 110.

Cons:
They have a parking lot down under the hotel, however, they charge supplement of about 7-8 Euros, pretty niggling from my perspective. The free parking lot is about 5-7 minutes walking.
The location is a bit far from the village center, about 15-20 minutes walking down the road.
Coffee- though the breakfast is very rich, we were very disappointed from the coffee which was a cheap machine coffee and was very poor.

Overall it’s a very nice hotel, not so fancy, and thanks to fantastic service we got, we can easily rate our experience as very good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank reliabletraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews