We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location looking from high over lake”
Review of Hotel La Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Bussola
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Excellent hotel above thae ancient town of Orta - well worth a visit. The hotels is family run - 30 plus rooms. Our room was at the back of the hotel - simple appointments but adequate. WIFI available at a very modest cost. On site restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms with views over the lake preferred but not available when we stayed.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulACTAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Bussola
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

I was lucky enough to stay in this hotel for a business trip, the room was large and spotless with the maid visiting daily.the vievw of the lake from the balcony was amazing and the Dalmatian in the lobby nodded that family orientated touch that the hotel definitely has. A warm welcome met me every time I passed reception and the pool was well maintained and a nice size. The breakfast was typical Italian and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Six of us stayed at Hotel La Bussola 3* in June 2012. The hotel is located on a fairly steep hill a short walk from the town centre and lake. Fantastic views, lovely food and drink and dog friendly. The only thing I found off putting was the swarms of little black flies quite a few of which liked swiming in the pool with me thou the pool attendnat was working hard with his net to remove them. There are of course insects where-ever you are and they dindt bite so its a minor irritation but there werent any in the lake which i preferred swimming in.

It was very busy when we were there, three weddings, a triathlon, and then a ballet competion in the main square and a torrential downpoor which I am told only happens once a year. A truly beautiful place, boat trips are a must as are flat shoes for sight seeing and wandered down cobbled streets. Venus bar and restaurant overlooking the lake serves lovely food although the beer is a little pricey - one price for locals and another for tourists. The area is not somewhere you would go for a cheap holiday in my opinion and this is a mid price hotel in the area - other friends stayed in the Hotel St Rocco a more expensive hotel with direct lake access and no hill to negociate via walking to the main square.

Room Tip: ask for lake view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikiBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The host was very rude. Anytime a question was asked, she answered in rude and condescending manner. We will never stay there again. We stayed there on June 2/3, 2012

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank CalgaryHappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My room had a lovely view of the lake and the island. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was nice as can be. The location is up the hill from the old town, not very far away. I felt very much at home there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolFMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel stands in lovely grounds close to the old town. We booked the suite, which was a superb, large tastefully decorated room with large balcony with a view of the lake and island. The staff were friendly and helpful. However, with what they charge for the room, they should really forego the 2 Euro charge for an hour's use of the internet. We would stay here again. June was a good time to travel - before the heat of the Summer and before the huge crowds that pack this small resort.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book the suite on the top floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBoyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

To me, the Hotel La Bussola is right out of an Italian classic movie. This was a wonderful hotel overlooking Lake Orta. When we arrived there was a wedding reception in process and the hotel made a fantastic setting for the wedding. We had a beautifully appointed room with a bath and shower and a balcony with a view of the lake. A short walk from the hotel and you’re in the heart of Lake Orta. I have stayed in hotels on Lake Como and this hotel is as good as a lot of hotels on Lake Como. If you’re touring the Italian Lake, make Lake Orta a part of your itinerary.

Room Tip: Hotel was part of our Rick Steves tour and it's in his tour guide
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob_Mannino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bussola

Address: Strada Panoramica 24, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: £106 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bussola 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Bussola Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing