We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1970's decor, with a nice view”
Review of Hotel La Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Bussola
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel La Bussola.
The rating system above really needs a 3.5 star button ( good ), because this hotel was rated above average, because of its location, views, friendliness and cleanliness, but probably no longer rates a "very good", which it would have warranted in the 1980's.
The room was large, and clean and comfortable.
The décor was functional, but appeared to be original from a fitout in the 70's.
The staff were friendly, and the service was good, but the hotel has a general atmosphere
of being in need of a makeover.
Its located on the edge of town, and its elevated position gives it nice views over the lake
and island. Orta San Giulio is a charming town to visit, and the lake and region are beautiful and interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel is located at walking distance from the town center and it has its own parking (which here is a great asset).
The structure looks renewed in recent times, it's clean and well equipped. The view from the terrace is beautiful, the pool is ok and there is some garden around. We had a lake view room, with a small balcony, which we found nice and comfortable. The bathroom is big and well equipped.
It's not a memorable hotel, but a very good and honest 3 starts, perfectly located.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilliputMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I'm not sure why there are negative reviews about the staff at this hotel. We arrived after lunch, without a booking and asked to look at a room before we decided to stay. We were shown a couple of rooms from which to choose and found the manager/owner to be very friendly and helpful. An excellent suggestion was made about visiting the church on the island (Isola San Giulio) for a special Palm Sunday mass at which the nuns would be singing. This proved to be a highlight of our visit on an otherwise rainy, miserable and cold weekend. Even though we had initially said that we would stay for three nights, given the poor weather we decided to stay for two. This was not a problem either. In fact, we found the staff to be pleasant and very helpful on all counts. I would stay here again. It is not too far from the Piazza, perhaps a ten minute walk. The walk back is uphill, but I am not super fit and did not find it difficult - you might if you were elderly. The view from our room was perfect.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bambi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My sister and I spent our last night here while on a Rick Steves Tour. No fault ETBD!
The rooms were nice and location great but seriously the owner and staff were not at all welcoming and seemingly unhappy to accomodate our needs. As a business owner myself I depend on my customers and they are my #1 priority. I do everything to make them return customers. I don't know what the issue was with the owner and staff but I would not return there since I found the owner to be rude and condescending to me and the staff did not provide even adequate service without being prompted to do so.
Considering the amount of money brought to this hotel from our tour group I would have expected far more. Didn't leave me with a good impression unlike the other lovely family run hotels we stayed in while on our tour.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank makingchoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

A family run hotel in a delightful position overlooking the lake. Staff are eager to please and have a ready smile. Breakfast is good with plenty of choice and it is difficult to fault the evening meal.if you decide to eat in.

The room was just satisfactory with an abundance of plug sockets. And it is possible to receive BBC 1 on the TV. The temperatures were still high when we were there and an efficient looking air-conditioning system, had it been switched on, would have been appreciated.

The town is some ten minutes walk away down a steep hill, OK down but the return can be a drag. For the less able a regular bus service is available from outside the hotel and seems to run quite regularly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susilew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

the family is a little uptight and not what I've had experienced in the past when staying at family owned hotels in Italy. Don't get me wrong they were pleasant and helpful, but not even a smile and body language speaks ton. It could have been that they were stressed catering for to a large wedding party while I was there, which party until the wee hours of the morning. My room was in the side building and the room and bathroom were clean and a good size.
Their prices for wifi are utterly ridiculous as they charge you by the 15, 30 min etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PWRBECKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Clean, roomy, more than adequate A/C, and a wonderful terrace for breakfast We totally agree with the positive reviews of this nice place. And, reasonably priced.

The entire place is beautiful, and well-situated, with a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Pay a few Euro more for a lake view room . . . discounts available for Rick Steves' readers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saolsen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bussola

Address: Strada Panoramica 24, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: £105 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bussola 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Bussola Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing