We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a nice town”
Review of Hotel La Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Bussola
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a hotel to be recommended if you like to visit the Town of Orta San Guilio. Ask for a room with lake view. Parking is availlable and we have choosen to have dinner at the restaurant of the hotel, which was not a too bad decision. Although we stayed only one night, one can imaginge to spend a week of holiday at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schmumues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good location, great Breakfast, clean room but so so front desk services. The pool is under repaired for the moment. Breakfast services were very good. The waiter is very good and
full of funs. Overall is very good.

Room Tip: Room face the lake is bit pricy but worthy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnT641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It could be perfect if the decoration was a little more charming and provide a more romantic atmosphere.
On the PLUS side : you can come with your dog, it is perfectly clean, staff is very nice, view on the lake is lovely when you wake up, location is perfect to visit the village.
on the MINUS side: decoration

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grepon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hotel La Bussola is a wonderful, family run hotel with spectactular views of Lake Orta. Our room was large, with a balcony, that gave us visual access to the lake. The staff, which is the family, was extremely friendly and accomodating. The breakfast was excellant with just about anything you would want for breakfast. We had dinner at the hotel the two nights we were there and they were special. Would we return to La Bussola. You bet we would. I'm hoping for next year. The old town of Orta San Guilio is about a 10 minute walk form the hotel and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobsuenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The town and the island are absolute gems. The hotel has simply sublime views of the island of San Giulio. There is no question that the hotel has aged but the view and proximity to the quaint medieval town count for more. The pool is a good size and a great way to wake up in the morning (the staff seem happy to turn a blind eye to the sign that says the pool isn't open until 10.00 am). The family staff members are helpful and Anne, the mother, is delightful. The air conditioning is turned off when the temperature is less than 35C and there are a few mosquitoes about,despite what the staff say but we enjoyed the fresh air and the tranquil quietude. I agree it rates a 3.5 but the views are off the scale!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Horkesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Room was clean with good bathroom and side view of the lake so all good. Only problem stayed during a heat wave and air conditioning went off at midnight and windows could not be left open because of the mosquitoes

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneAspleyGuise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Hotel La Bussola is a fabulous hotel. We had a room with a lake view which was expensive but the panoramic view over the lake and the island of Orta San Giulio is simply breathtaking. You could never tire of that view and the changing light on the water at different times of the day. The room was spacious with comfortable beds and plenty of storage space and very clean. The location is perfect: a 5 minute walk down a few steps to get into the beautiful little town of Orta San Guilio and not much further to the main square where you can catch a boat over to the island for only 4 euros return trip. The swimming pool area is beautiful and the pool itself is large and cleaned every day. The breakfast was nice and again the location of the restaurant overlooking the lake is stunning. We ate in the restaurant once in the evening and the food was nice but a bit pricey so preferred to eat in the town. As has been said by other reviewers, the only downside to the hotel is the fact that they limit the air conditioning to only a few hours between 3pm and midnight; this means that it is likely that you will wake up in the middle of the night sweltering. It is essential that you keep the balcony doors closed at all times to keep out the mosquitoes; we got terrible bites all over out legs and arms. Orta is such a beautiful place I would come back here time and time again. I would recommend swimming at Beach Orta which is a couple of kilometres' walk from the hotel and also Sacro Monte which is another pleasant walk uphill from the hotel with stunning views; it is such a tranquil and spiritual place.

Room Tip: Although it is much more expensive to pay for a room with a lake view I would recommend that you pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#9 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bussola

Address: Strada Panoramica 24, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: £105 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bussola 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Bussola Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing