We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Reviewed 20 April 2013

As an independent traveller Orta San Giulio is going to be rather a challenge as it is pedestrianised.
Our room was very quaint, rustic, dark, not really to our taste, but clean and more than adequate.
The breakfast taken in a nearby hotel certainly was to our taste though- what a feast!
The attached restaurant was also excellent.

Room Tip: I expect the rooms vary a lot, if you are not too exhausted having found the place and sorted your l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

The Hotel is located in various structures in Orta San Giulio, is a two stars hotel, but the breakfast included in the price is really a five star superior one!!! Piccolo Hotel Olina has clean, well furnished, bright rooms and give you the chance to stay in a magic place without spending a fortune. The restaurant of the hotel is a good level restaurant included in the slow food circle.

Room Tip: ask the room with "vista lago"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noemi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

The room 15 wasn't really glamorous and didn't quite mirror the price we paid but it was clean and really central which was a bonus for visiting.
We had the New Year's Eve dinner there and it was absolutely AMAZING!!!! The selection was absolutely to die for, 8 course meal that turned into a sensorial wonder.

The breakfast was ok too but I wasn't really impressed by the service there we had to wait ages for a plate to be given to us and ages again to order the coffee but this was all down to a waiter that was a bit of a nonsense :(

The hotel and the restaurant don't have a privileged view on the lake but have similar prices of places that do so going back I'd go for a different hotel with lake view and lake view restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in room 15 in the Depandance of the Piccolo Hotel Olina: the hotel offers the rooms in 2 separates builings in the historical centre.
The room and the beds were confortables and the service was perfect:
* very good welcoming by the reception desk with lots of tourist suggestion
* wonderfull buffet breakfast with large variety of cheese, sausages, hams and cakes
* delicious dinner at the RISTORO OLINA where we had also a 10% discount....
we will certainly return!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRAUdirektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Staying in the center of Orta San Giulio is a challenge: this is a "mirrors-in" town to drive into and then only to drop your luggage. It's worth it, but only if you're going to stay a few days.

Piccolo Hotel Olina is a assemblage of rooms in the town core, not a standing hotel. Check in where they tell you and then they will show you where your room is. Ours was OK, but on the ground level on the main access 'street' up to the parking lot, which meant it was fairly noisy. There was also no view or outside space of our own to hang out, although sitting on a bench in Piazza Motta and watching the constant flow of tourists, resident kids and brides/grooms was a pretty good alternative.

But the breakfast! Oy! Breakfast was served by a collaborating hotel right on the Piazza; tables inside and out. In three trips, totaling nearly 3 months of travel in Italy in the past five years, and NEVER have I seen a spread like this. A serve-yourself buffet of cakes, pastries, meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, dairy products, juices, fruit, and of course coffee and teas. And not just one meat, but six platters of everything from basic prosciutto to smoked cinghiale. At least 8 cheeses -- really good stuff. A dozen different pastries. It was like they systematically determined the entire range of what Italians, Germans, French, UK and American travelers want to eat and then GOT ALL OF IT. Times two.

Eat all you want. Waddle out.

Room Tip: Ask for something that's not ground-level, if they have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gavilan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Hotel Olina is a medium priced basic hotel in the magical lakeside small town of Orta San Giulio and is perfectly adequate. I have been to Orta in September the last two years to the International Poetry Festival (patron Carol Ann Duffy) Lake Orta is the smallest of the northern Italian lakes and has an island where many of the events of the poetry festival take place. I have been fortunate to win awards at the festival but whether you win or not the festival is well worth the visit as there are so many interesting places to visit in a small area. It is worth a vist on its own but if you are touring the larger lakes such as Maggiore or Como you should certainly put this little gem on your itinerary. It is easily reached by road or rail from Milan.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
Thank 695Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We booked three rooms, two double and one quad to attend a family wedding. Our double was tucked away down a side street, beside a school so noisy at 8.15am!
My sisters quad room was an appartment overlooking the square beautiful views & excellent lcoation. My son had the boathouse with his partner, superb, wonderful for the couple. lovely staff very friendly and efficient! Excellent breakfast but we didn't always make it in time as 10am finish was too early for us!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 0rthopaedics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel Olina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Olina

Address: Via Olina 40, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: £54 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Piccolo Hotel Olina 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Olina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Olina Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing