We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location, dull rooms, excellent breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Olina. The stay was pleasant and we took advantage of the central location of the hotel. Everything is within reach. The ferry pier is around the corner, the restaurants just down the street.

Breakfast is served in a bar, away from the hotel, and is very good.

The personnel is efficient and courteous.

We did not like the room. There is just the bare minimum, like in a monk cell. It is sadly furnished, with sub-ikea forniture, not even a mirror or a place where to place the soap in the shower (except the floor). Cleanliness is OK.

We would not recommend the hotel as first choice in Orta. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyskamm049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are basic but have everything needed. The bed was extremely comfortable and room was clean.

Great location however we couldn't find where the breakfast was so missed it but we should have got up earlier!

A great hotel if watching the pennies, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shailer12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked this hotel in the middle of august, last minute. Basically at peak touristic side.
Given this time of year I found that we got a great room for the price we paid!
It is located right in the center of Orta which is a very nice village. Parking is a bit far away.. but the place is car free.
Staff was very friendly. And the must... is the breakfast ! which is in a hotel close by.. but what a breakfast ! Everything fresh, big choice of quality things... We definitly enjoyed it !
Definitly a recommended place to stay !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuillaumeParisFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed one week in the olina and thoroughly enjoyed it. The quaint hotel room we had on second floor was basic but adequate. A little too dark though. The staff were charming. The restaurant was lovely. One thing I must mention tho is please take a lot of mosquito spray. The minute you step outside you will be eaten alive at the height of season. I have just arrived home with over 100 bites. Very uncomfortable. Hotel rooms are safe if you keep windows closed.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just returned from a wonderful holiday in Orta San Giulio, and an excellent stay @ the Piccolo Hotel Olina, which is charming,unique and quirky.The hotel office is a short walk into Orta from the car parks on the hill and easy to find. Our room was across the street and on the second floor. Hotel staff were cheerful, helpful, pleasant and polite.Our room was spotless, and the shower was excellent. As others have said breakfast was a feast. Piccolo Hotel deserves a higher rating than a two star, we might not have had a lake view but for charm and originality Piccolo Hotel pushes the right buttons.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Simba" on the second floor across from the hotel office. The room opened out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CymroSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The staff of the hotel was very helpful. The hotel itself is very well located on the main street although Orta itself is small town/village and everything is close to the main squire and the restaurants. Our rooms (for four and for two people-second floor) were big with interesting design. The breakfast is in the next hotel (only 20m away) and is truly delicious and “ART”. Good price-good quality.
The view from the small balcony isn’t impressive. There is no lift and the staircase is narrow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanKrastev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

As an independent traveller Orta San Giulio is going to be rather a challenge as it is pedestrianised.
Our room was very quaint, rustic, dark, not really to our taste, but clean and more than adequate.
The breakfast taken in a nearby hotel certainly was to our taste though- what a feast!
The attached restaurant was also excellent.

Room Tip: I expect the rooms vary a lot, if you are not too exhausted having found the place and sorted your l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
67 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
1,010 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel Olina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Olina

Address: Via Olina 40, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: £56 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Piccolo Hotel Olina 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Olina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Olina Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing