We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many "+" & a few "-"”
Review of Hotel Aracoeli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aracoeli
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The hotel is definitely very good. I’ve stayed here 2 nights in the room called “Das Lied vom Sankt Nimmerleinstag”.
+ The thing I enjoyed most was the balcony. You can see part of the lake, a bit of the island and lots of old roofs of this charming town Orta San Giulio.
+ The ROOM is spacious, with a good bed and linen. You have a mini-bar with free snacks and drinks and a kettle with a choice of tea and coffee – that’s great. Another pleasant thing was that my room kept the temperature well and – just as I like – it was warm. I suppose if it’s hot outside, the room will keep the temperature you’ll make with a/c.
-/+ The design is arguable. It’s rather original but I can’t call it very practical or beautiful. The shower looks original too - mine had a music theme - but if you travel with just a friend, a parent or your child, it can be a problem as the shower's just there in the room.
-/+ There is no Wi-fi in the room, but on the ground floor (the hall where breakfast is served) it’s free, and there’s also a computer to use.
- No safe in the room.
+/-The LOCATION is in the very centre of the town, Piazza Motta. It’s convenient (though the town is tiny so any hotel in the historical part will be central). But the inconvenience of such a location (and it’s not the fault of the hotel, of course) is that Piazza is the place where it can be noisy till late at night. Generally, the town is very quiet, but I was "lucky" to hear a noisy company one night.
+ BREAKFAST is tasty.
+ The STAFF are very friendly. The reception is in another building, but it’s not a problem.
To sum it all up – the hotel is not perfect, but it’s really very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on the top floor: the view is better and the balcony is private.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirene-Mirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aracoeli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

myself and a family member booked to stay at hotel aracoeli however there was a mixup with the room. now usually people would complain and cause a fuss not me i judge people on how they react to mistakes as mistakes happen. A lady named monica was first class she offered us an apartment that the owners had overlooking the whole square at no extra cost. i can honestly say that although we didnt actually stay in the hotel itself the staff were first class and i would highly recommend dealing with people like this if you are going on holiday. the only blip on the time was that a whit t-shirt was mistakenly taken as a pillow case by the cleaners but it wouldn't put me off i will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: when booking ask for the apartment overlooking the square. you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely Easter Weekend at the Hotel Aracoeli. It is quite tricky to get to with luggage, as the street it is on is off-limits to most cars. If you can find a taxi at the station (Orta Miasino, cabs advertise by the phone booth right outside) you should be alright. The hotel doesn't have a reception as such - there is an office fifty yards or so down the street, serving several hotels. The very helpful staff there will give you your room-key and the code to open the downstairs door, and walk you to your room.
Downstairs, the building faces onto the square, which in turn faces sideways onto the lake. You enter through the breakfast room, and unlike most hotels, there is a fridge here which you are free to use, and freely consume from, as well as fruit and sweets available for grazing. Upstairs the rooms are spacious, clean and somewhat sparsely decorated.
Main features are a shower in the room itself (behind a massive sheet of glass in ours) and about half a dozen dogeared paperbacks to read, in several languages. And a minibar with free drinks (bottle of chilled white wine, mineral water, etc) snacks and coffee and tea making facilities, as well as more of the sweets from downstairs.
The lack of decoration serves to let the little town, as seen from the balcony, do the talking. The view from Sconsolata (the rooms are all named for books and movies) is like magic, of the Piazza Motta below, half-hidden behind a late renaissance building on stilts, which covers part of one end of the square, and across to the lake itself.
Breakfast is in the room you enter through, downstairs, and is a very generous affair with high, communal tables and a massive buffet, presented all over the place on every available surface. It's also absolute mayhem, as guests from other hotels also eat here, and there is never enough room. This may turn some people off. I'd say stay here anyway; the rooms and location more than make up for the early-morning pandemonium. If the breakfast is not for you, have something out. You'll not regret it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra €10/night for a room with a (tiny) balcony. They face over the piazza onto the lake, a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kleinemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My wife and I stayed in this quite modern hotel in this beautiful part of Italy that oozes history. The owners have tried to make this hotel a little bit more interesting than your standard hotel room by installing some quirky features.

The first of these that people will notice is that the hotel itself has no reception. The reception is located 100m away and we found it easily following the directions provided by the hotel. Next the room itself. Quite spacious with a view over the roof of the adjacent building of the lake. The shower was situated in the main part of the room. Not an issue for us but some may find this off putting. In the room is a small fridge that has complimentary drinks and some snacks are also provided which is a nice touch.

As guests of the hotel we were given a discount voucher for the restaurant next door to the reception office, another nice touch.

The breakfast provided at this place was quite memorable. The guy that looks after the breakfast (served in what I guess is the entrance lobby for the hotel) will cook you an egg if desired and make an espresso to order. There is a great selection of breads, yoghurt, juice etc but the truly amazing thing was the selection of cakes provided. All freshly made and delicious. Yes it's a bit like having afternoon tea for breakfast but very hard to resist.

Location is great right on the main piazza. The boats leaving for the Island and other points around the lake are less than 100m from the front door.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

I have two small gripes. the first being that the pillows were shocking and very uncomfortable. The second was that in being innovative and placing the funky shower in the room they placed the glass screen outside of the small lip on the floor that is designed to stop the water running everywhere. Consequently a lot of water hits the glass screen and then runs out onto the floor of the room. We managed to contain it with extra towels. It is a shame that a unique feature is let down by a lack of some sealant and a bit of thought in the design process.

Still not a big enough issue to loose any sleep over (well maybe the pillows were) and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Let me preface this by saying we stayed here and had the place virtually to ourselves as it was off season,the town was really quiet.This place is absolutely magical,  we spent 2 nights here for 105 euro per night which included fantastic breakfast ,wifi and parking up in the streets above the town, you cannot park in Orta. The hotel is right in town near the dock to catch a water taxi to the island basilica. Each room has a name and ours was on the third floor , accessed through their cafe with your own pin code and had a great lift and stairs. The style of our room was so funky and cool, more of a studio apartment , from the heated concrete floor to the giant shower ( in one corner , separate to the bathroom)to the quirky light fittings,exposed lime washed rafters and a fridge with some delicious complimentary drinks and snacks. The balcony opened out onto one of the main piazzas and had beautiful lake vistas. Two small chairs were positioned perfectly out there to catch the great water and piazza views. The bed was comfortable! The breakfast was amazing, the whole cafe was ours and the waitress made cappuccinos for us whilst we made our own scrambled eggs, served ourselves fabulous local cheeses , antipasto and cold meats, baked treats of every type, cereals, juices, teas, fruits, yogurts so much choice. We also ate at their restaurant , Olga,one night and received a 10 percent discount, the food and service was spectacular, they use Alessi kitchen ware and other great Italian designed products . A wonderful hotel with real individuality and style, very good wifi connectivity .

Room Tip: Check in is a completely seperate building,parking is a bit of a walk, but you can drive (really car...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pennart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

They say position is everything so that would make this quirky hotel just that. Right in the main piazza where you can see the lake from your balcony – albeit at an angle. Our room was very large, with modest furniture, some weird lighting and a couple of seats. One seat is a denim bean bag. The bed was very comfortable & our room quiet (on the top floor).

To the quirky part – the shower. Its an open sided glass shower of massive proportions, dominating the room. Water can splash if you're an energetic showerer but it's worth it just to enjoy all the hotel has to offer.

They offer a fantastic breakfast - it could be dinner, lunch or breakfast. People come JUST for breakfast – it's delicious & plentiful. Fresh food, salamis, proscuitto, eggs, toast and cakes ( ? for breakfast – is this a good thing ? Not sure), museli, cereal .... and much more.

The staff are really good but they are not there ALL the time. So if you want your hand held this hotel is not for you – but there is something peaceful & mystical about Lake Orta that's attractive as is this hotel. It's not perfect but it's more than nice.

There's a lift, free wifi on the ground floor, a fridge with free soft drinks/water and a few nibbles. We stayed 2 nights & it was a good start to our Italy tour.

Room Tip: Higher floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OKAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel has a number of clear up and downsides. To start with the positives, the location on the main square is second to none. The breakfast is furthermore very extensive for Italian standards and the rooms are spacious, clean and have an OK design.

There are also a number of negatives. Because it is on the main square, it can be rather noisy with a winebar that remains open late just opposite. The breakfast was furthermore crowded with people from other hotels eating there as well.

One issue is perhaps the fact that check in is about 150 meters away in another building. While this is not a problem per se, it means that the hotel is unmanned most of the time. Even the check in office was sometimes unmanned (though open with passports laying around). Finally, the free parking is about 15 minutes away. This is a bit of a nuissance as well.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel, but not for the 150 euros/night we were paying. Then again, most other hotels seemed fully booked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aracoeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aracoeli

Address: Piazza E. Motta 34, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range: £88 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aracoeli 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aracoeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aracoeli Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing