We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our wedding extra special!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Made our wedding extra special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

After reading a few reviews on this hotel I must admit I was a bit worried about all of our guests staying here for our wedding celebrations. However, I was completely blown away by the hotel and friendly staff. They couldn't have been more helpful and friendly (especially Barbara). Nothing was too much trouble and our room was incredible (303 honeymoon suite).

Breakfast was nice, dinner was awesome! I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Orta, it's location is perfect! We will be back in 1 year for our anniversary.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    65
    35
    20
    22
See reviews for
38
114
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Having read some previous negative reviews i was a little apprehensive about our stay. However,my experience of the hotel was so very different. We spent 2nights (14th,15th june)in this hotel located in a prime location in the centre of the town. We found our room to be comfortable and clean. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. From the moment we checked in we found the atmosphere to be warm and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious. I particularly enjoyed the wide selection of fresh fruit. We enjoyed a fabulous weekend in the beautiful surroundings of lake Orta and would reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyroneguestll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a lovely three day stay in Hotel Leon. It is situated along the water's edge in the lake orla square and there were amazing views from our balcony of the lake. We had a lovely comfortable room with a great power shower. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The staff were all very helpful when we asked for anything. We will definitely stay there again when we visit again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eilis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I just want to wirte a quick little note on Leon D'Oro in beautiful lake orta.

We spent our wedding weekend here with almost 40 guests and cannot express how great everyone at the hotel was..they made the whole process so easy for us, from the inital bookings and reservations a few months previous, to the actual wedding weekend, which was so seamless, helped by Leon d'Oro. We really appreciated all the little things they did..like accomodating our guests so beautifully, allowing my aunt to have a late checkin and checkout, allowing our guests to relax on the first floor balcony every evening for drinks, for the beautiful endless breakfast and their lovely smiles at the reception and seeing me off on the day of the wedding!! in addition, nothing was any trouble..from printing out boarding passes, organising transfers and looking up train and bus times for us when we were leaving.

Thankyou Leon d'Oro and we cannot wait to return on our annversairy to stay with you again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola281293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We arrived late just before reception closes at 10pm. Nice welcome. You have to park in one of the town car parks as the hotel is in the pedestrian part of town. The room and bed were very comfortable if a little on the small side. Bathroom/shower good. Breakfast was good and the restaurant in the evening excellent. One of our party was handicapped and wheelchair access is good - just don't get back in the evening after the reception is closed as the night entrance involves many steps. The town is beautiful, the water taxis helpful and enjoyable. The town is difficult in a wheelchair due to many cobbles. I was a bit concerned by the non-refundable deposit on the room, even in the case of several days notice. We will go back, perhaps without the wheelchair!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traiteurdelonnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Every time we come to Italy we stay at this little gem of a hotel. We have a room which overlooks the lake and never tire of the view. The room was spotlessly clean with a good bathroom and comfortable bed. We have never had any problem with the service and always find the ladies a pleasure to communicate with. The restaurant is also excellent both in terms of food quality and the service which we have always found to be helpful and friendly. There is also a very good wine list and the prices are very reasonable. I intend to stay here in the future and I also don't understand the negative reviews by others.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just returned from the most enjoyable week at Lake Orta, which is idyllic, traffic free (generally) and you have to slow down; the pace lends itself to total calm. Hotel Leon d'Oro is in a prime location, on the medieval square overlooking the lake, and the island opposite with mountains in the background. Picture postcard pretty. The family owned hotel, rung in a way Italian families do, with everyone being involved and doing many jobs is quirky and the views from the rooms are stunning. Breakfast is good, with fresh fruits, croissants, breads, cold meats and fantastic freshly squeezed orange juice (which you do yourself). The restaurant is superb; they have a brilliant chef, a limited menu but everything we ate was first class. So much so, we only dined twice anywhere else. The food is beautifully prepared and presented, good flavours put together, and the wine list is also excellent. Rooms are small but comfortable, clean and well serviced. I would and will recommend this hotel and am only sorry to read such negative reviews from others. We loved it!

Room Tip: Request a superior room with lake view, or better still, the Suite Delux or King Suite for that spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy_mundie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Rocco Hotel
San Rocco Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#7 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Olina
Piccolo Hotel Olina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta

Property: Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Address: Piazza E. Motta 42, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leon d Oro Orta
Hotel Leon D'Oro D'Orta Italy/Orta San Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing