We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Villa and Great Host”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

GlobeTrot...
1 review
“Amazing Villa and Great Host”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We can't believe it was real. The kids jumped into the water every day while we read our books in the garden. The villa is amazing, the lake is beautiful, the town across the way is enchanting. We spent the month traveling across Europe and all six of us agree this was our favorite place and time spent. Thanks so much for sharing this piece of heaven.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libbygabb...
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I'm loathe to write a review because I don't want too many people coming here. No wifi, no tv, intermittent phone signal - our days consisted of watching the aerial acrobatics of the swallows morning & evening, and feeding the fish and ducks during the day. It was the most blissful switch off.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IestynapG
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightfully relaxing”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What could be more fun - an island, a lovely garden so you can throw yourself into the lake or just sit sunbathe and read, a lovely historic home and a lovely Italian village 400 m away on your little boat. Perfect

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An enchanted place”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

No words can express how beautiful and magical it is to stay in this ancient house on the island of San Giulio. We enjoyed everything. The owners welcomed us with great hospitality and showed us around. The house has everything you could possibly need and is furnished in a pleasant antique style - you must make some allowances for the extreme age of the building, for example, steep stairs.
We made some wonderful trips out including motoring around Lake Orta itself in the boat which comes with the house; visiting Lake Maggiore and its islands and making a mammoth trip into Switzerland (by boat, car, train, funicular railway, cable car and chair lift). The lovely little town of Orta makes for a delightful interlude with its cobbled streets, mediaeval buildings and precious faded frescoes. We were also lucky enough to be able to take in a concert in the basilica on the island. Would you believe that many 'day trippers' come across on the boat and don't even look at this church. It is certainly well worth visiting.
The terrace by the lake is a good place for a few glasses of wine and nibbles or for a barbecue. Sitting out there enjoying such a beautiful view you can think you've died and gone to heaven!
Every day we swam in the lake. The water is glassy clear and clean and you can see hundreds of fish. In August it was really warm. Athletic people can jump off the wall into the water - be sure to jump well out though - and others can walk in from the boathouse area.
When you visit take the boat out around the island for some photos.
The little pathway on the island is also a pleasure, especially after all the other visitors have gone away. In one direction it is the 'Path of Silence' and in the other direction becomes the 'Path of Contemplation'!
We enjoyed a couple of meals at the restaurant on the island. It's particularly worth visiting on Sunday after the church service is over and it's packed with locals. Restaurant Venus just opposite the island is also very good and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. There are some pretty good Ice Cream parlours too.
August was hot and quite humid and there were one or two storms - quite spectacular to watch from the house as the thunder rumbled around the mountains and the forked and sheet lightning lit up the sky. Bear this in mind though and maybe take an umbrella just in case.
If you go and stay here you are sure to be enchanted.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location!
Liked least: Hauling the boat up outside the Restaurant Venus!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Too kind, thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaStel...
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing and lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have been in this villa twice in my life.
First time for curiosity, second time because I missed it too much!
Lovely, romantic, silent. Time flows on a very italian style while you are in there.
Private dock, all comforts, elegant italian furnitures, great hospitality by the owner makes you feel "at home".
Surroundings are amazing. The island itself is small and need no transportation to be explored. On the other hand Orta Town is a miracle of beauty nestled on solid ground.
Experience to try at least once in a lifetime, but I warn you: causes immediate addiction :)))

Date of stay: October 2013
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thank you very much, it's always a pleasure to have you. We are graced in having the Sacro Monte's many small chapels with wooden sculptures, situated on top of the hill above Orta overlooking the island, become a UNESCO heritage site. Closer to home, the singing of the nuns at Sunday mass in the Basilica of the island is another very special experience and one not to be missed. Look forward to having you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haydeh B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“week end in san giulio”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

a brilliant experience in an amazing place... lovely structure in the middle of the Aorta'lake.....really to try once in a life!!! unforgettable

Date of stay: June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
Thank you very much. Isola San Giulio is unique in that it's the only island on lake Orta (and one of the few in all considering the other Italian lakes) and our house at the moment is the only one being rented, ensuring you a unique sensation in terms of history, tradition, location and comfort. As you rightly say, an experience to be tried at least once! You're welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina...
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spring is in the air”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely easter holiday with our friends enjoing late breackfasts in the garden in the spring morning sun. The best moments were talking in the beautiful and suggestive lounge in front of the big fire in the evening and going for a walk round the circular island path when you realise that you are all alone, no other tourists as the public boats stop at 7pm, and you feel in another epoch, with the ninety nuns who look over you, sublimely mistical. Thanks to our English owners, you were very kind.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the middle of the lake in an ancient villa
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
Thank you very much, it is in fact a very special moment when in the early evening most of the activity of the boats stops and suddenly the lake becomes extremely quite and peaceful and the birds, especially the swallows - some of whom nest in the roof of the house, they are considered good luck and have always been with us - swarm over the island playing in the air. Many of our birds are tagged by bird-watching associations. We always listen to the swoosh they make when they dive-bomb home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.