We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a treat”
Review of Magorabin

Magorabin
Ranked #167 of 3,713 Restaurants in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$135
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vanchiglia
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“such a treat”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Whenever I fantasize about leaving the kids with the nanny for a few days and taking off somewhere in the Maldives with my wife by ourselves, it doesn't take me long to wake up and realize the difficulties of such a daydream. As a consolation I usually book a vegetarian dinner with Magorabin. Meeting anyone passionate about what they do is delightful and there's much delight to go around here. As vegetarians it's such a treat to dine at a place where our lifestyle choice is seen by the chef as an opportunity to try new things out and surprise us diners instead of a sad limitation. If you're vegetarian try it, you'll get a kick sitting down and instead of getting a menu being welcomed as a special guest, being invited to let the chef try and satisfy your expectations of what a terrific vegetarian meal should be. Indeed, I can't think of another restaurant in Torino that has such a satisfying and surprising combination of service and quality of dining experience for us vegetarians.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    163
    83
    35
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The place to eat in Turin”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I've been here a couple of months ago, after therestaurant has been awarded the Michelin star. I discovered a place elegant but familiar, an onest and truthful proposal in terms of quality, tradition and creativity. The winelist is very wide, vwith the best of Piedmont labels from Barolo and Barbaresco, and many other great italians, along with lots of french interesting choices. The full menu with 9 courses is a journey through earth and sea, with dazzling touches, like the Oyster-Steak Tartare and the unforgettable Plin (a traditional ravioli recipe..loved it!). Everything is carefully considered, from the sommelier service to the decorations of the dessert (mine was lemon based incedibly sweet and equilibrate). With a really good bottle and a glass of champagne as start you can reach the 150€, but it's definitely worth the visit, curiously in a city that offers other kind of more "bistrot-type" restaurant around 60-70€.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asti, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem not so hidden anymore!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I've been wined and dined at least once or twice a year since 2008 at this Turin venue, and I like it as much as I dislike the city it belongs to. Turin is the city where people will ride a bicycle on the sidewalk and ring bells at the pedestrians or will actually feel confortable parking their cars in the middle of the street. So uneuropean, I'd say. But fear not: the Wizard (Magorabin is a traditional tales character) will be able to compensate for that and even for more, with pure talent, true care for the customers and an overwhelming pride in showing a passion I have seldom met.
Park your car in the underground park in the near Piazza Vittorio, or take a cab but do not try to drive as you will forcibly experience problems in parking your car in the premises of the restaurant. The place can seat 25 customers at most, so reserving in advance is a must since Magorabin was awarded with its first MIchelin star in 2013.
First things first, let me be clear on one thing: this is the kind of cousine that, were Magorabin in Paris, London or New York, would be fully booked for weeks with double turns at dinner. But, as I mentioned, we couldn't be further from there.
You will be presented with a small but meaningful cocktail menu featuring some great classic with a modern twist to be enjoyed while going through the menu and the extensive wine list.
There are a few set menu: the 5 traditional courses at 40 € is a true steal and it might suit you if you had made plans for the afterdinner, while the other proposals have more dishes and are priced accordingly up to 80 € for the 9 courses chef menu. A la carte dining is possible as well.
The menu varies whenever the Chef feels like, but there are a few dishes that have more or less retained their place through the years. For example, you could try veal tongue, shrimps and tangerine, where those three seemingly unreconciliable ingredients make a great moment of sexy and glam balance with a surprisingly refreshing texture. Or you might choose to enjoy a great roasted rabbit paired with lobster and black truffle, a loose echo of the rabbit tuna so popular in the countryside, rich in flavour and so obvious that makes you ask, hey, why didn't I made this at home yet?
Whatever menu you'll pick, ask for a sample of Granny Lucia homemade ravioli, they are so good you will appreciate them even as a dessert.
If you are not a fan of hard-core "rare" pasta dishes, you might ask your serving to be well done, as in here "aldente" truly means something.
As a main you could have the pork belly with shrmps and bok choy, some fusion bell wil resonate in your mind but the quality of the ingredients is so high that is worth a try.
If you still have some room for the desserts, pick an oven-cooked dish, the hand of the Wizard is as good as with the entreés.
I cannot comment on the service as I am a returning customer, but you will have the Chef serving at least a few dishes by himself: take advantage of the chance to talk with him about his dishes.
The wine list is wide and has a focus on champagne which is probably the best choice to pair the dishes with.
So, book a table at Magorabin if you have grown tired of the Km 0 philosophy, as he is an "unlimited mileage" chef, if you are curious about what you eat and do not mind trying some adventurous pairings in your dishes, and if you want food for your brain and not only for your body.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lbs2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conegliano, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“looking forward to next time!!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

i went to Magorabin with a group of friends and colleagues on a business trip to Turin. We're all foodies, and were very curious to try out this relatively recent michelin star.
From the moment you step inside, all the members of the staff go happily out of their way to welcome you and give you the feeling that you are just the guest they had long waited for.
The owner, and chef, is a true talent.
I will always dream of the spaghetti with bread, butter and anchovies.
Altogether, it's been a remarkable experience, and I so look forward to another visit there!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annachef26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Piedmontese food, with innovation”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Restaurant is in Corso San Maurizio - not the sexiest part of town, but still at the edge of the historic center of town. Interior decor also is not perfect, with an unbalanced mix of old and new elements. The food, however, is really good: Piedmontese tradition with a contemporary flavor, at a non-exorbitant price. As a main tried 'plin' agnolotti with truffle - very good. Desserts not to write home about.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italian_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magorabin also viewed

Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Magorabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing