We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasure for all your senses”
Review of Kido-ism

Kido-ism
Ranked #109 of 3,615 Restaurants in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$102
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pleasure for all your senses”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Kido-ism offers Italian-Asian fusion cuisine (which is in itself a very interesting experiment) with a 5 star presentation and an ever ending series of surprises for textures, flavors, colors and aromas. And all this at a price WELL below that of any other Michelin star or "5 star" restaurant. I strongly suggest to try one of the menus, which comprise six or seven entrees (you'll fill satisfied, but not overly full) to get a chance to try as many of these extraordinary creations as possible. Portions are a bit on the small size in the menus, but that ends up being a plus. Complimentary "amouse bouche" (pre-appetizer), snacks and "fusion breadsticks" complete the sensorial experience. Ask for an expert suggetion on your wine, to best compliment these different flavors. The restaurant is family (couple) run and the lady is rather knowledgeable on wine and very helpful. The English menu could use some improvement, but it is much more fun to ask for an oral explanation, which she will be glad to provide at your table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ItaNickBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    113
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Amazing food, delicate flavors, wonderful atmosphere. My first fusion food experience and it was fantastic. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelBlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Even ranked as high as it was, I walked in Kido-ism with suspicion. I wasn't sure how Italian-Asian fusion would work. I mean, that sounds weird, doesn't it? So if not for the fact that it was ranked #1 in T.A., I probably wouldn't have gone. Well, thank god we did. We've been in Europe for over a month now, and this has been the best restaurant we've been to thus far. I'll admit nothing I had was the best plate I've had in Europe. But every single thing we had was EXCELLENT.
We had the tasting menu and thus got a chance to try many different things. Again, all very good.
The staff was very attentive and very helpful in choosing menu items and wine.
The prices weren't great... but for this quality of food, you'd be asking for too much for it to be. Even so, they were reasonable. And it's not going to break the bank. My wife and I both had one of the tasting menus and a bottle of wine, all for under 100 Euros.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank qba3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very special evening, at a very special restaurant.”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Based on positive reviews I selected this restaurant to celebrate a special birthday. And we had the most amazing evening. The menu of Asian/Italian fusion was something truly unique and exciting. We had a culinary adventure, expertly guided by the experienced and knowledgeable waiters. All in all, a very special evening in Turin.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieinL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A taste's experience to be made”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Kido-ism is first of all an high level restaurant.
Something that was missing in Torino.

Service is kind, rigorous and never invasive.
Tastes?
A kitchen that you don't find everywhere (so do not expect typical dishes or something usual or known). Detail of dish preparation, presentation added to nice tastes, excellent quality of raw materials and the final presentation are very nice and deserve positive adjectives only.
(e.g. bread? home-made to be tasted and presented in a cute way).

You will not go outside with sensation of empty stomach and wallet.

In any case atmposhere is peaceful (depending from neighbours' voices) and quite reserved, so that it's good both for pleasure both for business occasions.

You will not waste your money in any case. They are young, they are nice and they deserve their success.
My only request is do not lose this spirit and keep going on to amaze us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kido-ism also viewed

Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 
Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Kido-ism? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing