We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded glory” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Genio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Genio
Ranked #21 of 128 Hotels in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Faded glory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spent two nights on a weekend package which included museum passes for 48 hours at this hotel and whilst it was good value, I doubt I'd stay at this hotel again. Right next to the Porta Nuova station, the position is central to many of the sights in Torino. Our room was large but the smell when we first went into the room was terrible - obviously the smell from drains, sewers etc is coming up through the bathrooms. This stayed with us for two days. The air conditioner didn't work at all on the cold setting so we had to open windows. Tea making facilities were provided with plastic cups which melted when used. The lift was antiquated and took forever to get anywhere. Service at breakfast was perfunctory. Front desk on check- in was good

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lok234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    367
    120
    29
    12
See reviews for
122
169
55
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We spent Christmas here and it was a pleasant surprise. I tend to avoid Best Western in the stars, but I thought this location looked good. Never heard a peep from the train station. Beds were a bit hard, but that is better than saggy. Very clean, very nice breakfast, cute little common area with a small bar. Nice warm bathrooms. Overall we would return to the same hotel.

Very Helpful front desk staff. And bartender. And breakfast tender.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank flyboyswifeEXETER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtarfa malta
Level Contributor
278 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We spent a lovely weekend in Torino to celebrate my 50th Birthday with family and friends. Hotel Genio was our choice and we were not disappointed at all. The staff was helpful right from the start. We were given a lovely spacious room on the third floor . The room was huge and so was the bathroom. Everything was spotless and the choice on TV was also great . However, those who are not aware of the Italian language will find this a handicap since there are only a couple stations in English. Brekfast was great too with a big choice of cereals, fresh cakes, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, cheese, coffee and juices. Very good when you consider that not all hotels in Italy provide that much for breakfast !!

Location is right near Porta Nuova train staion. You just walk out of the station and turn on the right hand side. Cross one street and there you are. Even if you arrive by bus from the airport, it is still walking distance from the hotel. the city centre (via Roma and Piazza Castello) are a pleasant walk and if it is raining you still get a shelter in the porticos full of elegant shops and stores.

A truly memorable two night stay at Hotel Genio. Room 310 was a great room !!

Room Tip: room 310 . great size and on the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vince a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

After past 3 star hotel experiences in the past, my wife and I were a bit afraid we will find. Fortunately we were wrong! Considering it is a 3 star hotel, it had a very high standard overall. Very cosy room, with heating air conditioner, sterilized toilette, clean bathroom, clean bedroom and bed. Facilities included a filled-up mini bar. Wardrobe was well distributed with lots of extra cloak hangers. There well kept gym is very impressive, but had no time to try the spa. Breakfast was excellent too and fresh. Food at in-house restaurant was very good. Very friendly staff. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Location was not important for us since we were in a tour. As I said, extremely good value for money! I thing it is some where between a 3 star and a 4 star!

Room Tip: We were in room 335. Good location but think there are higher standard rooms. Guess you just have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MT579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Hotel was ideal as it was situated right in the centre in Vittorio Emanuele Street. Also the train station was right next to us. Staff were very helpful and the waiters during dinner went out of their way to be of assistance. Pillows were very hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LellaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the very central street Vittorio Emanuele II. The room I was assigned was a full apartment. Also available for smokers. The personnel at the reception is professional and relatively fast for the check-ins. For the check-out I had to wait, because a member of the staff was explaining something to a guest, regardless of the queue behind. The furniture was quite old but relatively well maintained, some old stains on the carpets could be noticed. The breakfast is mixed Continental and Italian, so some basic bacon and eggs and good croissants.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Franco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Reasonable hotel with friendly staff, Good breakfasts, Beds as hard as concrete so sleep was not great, but in a great location for all of the city's attractions. Would try something else if visiting Turin again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turin hotels
Crocetta
BEST WESTERN Hotel Luxor
Crocetta
BW PLUS Hotel Genova
BW PLUS Hotel Genova
#11 of 128 in Turin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Centro
Best Quality Hotel Gran Mogol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Majestic
#16 of 128 in Turin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Genio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Genio

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Genio
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele II 47, 10125 Turin, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin > San Salvario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Turin
#9 Family Hotel in Turin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Genio 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic hotel with modern amenities & continental breakfast; located in city center near Porta Nuova Station and Egyptian Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Genio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genio
Best Western Turin
Turin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing