We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very close to Porta Susa station”
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #34 of 130 Hotels in Turin
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Diplomatic for 4 nights from 16 February 2014. The hotel is located very close to the Porta Susa station and is a central location in one of the nicer areas of Turin. The rooms were clean and had all the facilities you would require. The breakfast was very good with good quality food and both the coffee from the machine and the coffee from the waiters were better than nearly any other hotel we have stayed in. The staff were helpful and friendly and the bar was staffed in the evening so we could enjoy a drink before we went to bed. The hotel also offers free wifi throughout which was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clearview75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,807)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Diplomatic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Arrived late on friday night and chcked straight in. Bar was closed but music very loud in bar area. Took bags up to room and then went out to find something to eat or drink. Reception does not have maps of turin, nor any suggestions for places to eat. Found a great bar a block away and the manager prepared some great paninis. Up on returning to hotel the music in réception and bar area was still going and quite loud. The night staff was a young guy. Returned to our room number 118....avoid! The music from reception/bar area comes right into the room. Went downstairs three times and asked for the volume to be turned down. Each time it was turned down, however, turned back up when no longer in front of him. Finally went back down at 3:30am in pyjamas and volume was turned right down and allowed us to sleep. Problem however occurred again on the saturday night. There is a real problem with the insulation/sound proofing in the room. Mentioned problem numerous times to reception and they stated they would look into it after we checked out. No discount, no free drink, very poor service.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Mandyfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Very good return for the price nice towels and toiletries.
Well located and easy to find. I will recommend it . Close to public transportation and easy access to main sights. Good neighborhood and close to multiple shopping options. Excellent breakfast especially the coffee capuccino machine.


Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank cf0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

its almost a year now when I visited Turin on official trip and stayed there. Though its a nice property, located in the heart of the city, and near to central rly station, somehow I didnt like it much because, the room size was very small wrt its price. The wireless facility was not available in rooms and that was the most annoying thing. In my previous stays in Turin, the same facility was available in the rooms. Breakfast was the most attrective part of this hotel and definitely, I enjoyed it as I am a vegetarian and I could get good options of bread, butter and jam with fruits over here. At last, an average property for a short stay but priced little high!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrateekCABM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

It's a very nice place for a few days, and also close to the town. The personnels are so kind. And also it has various type breakfast. There is a 'ToBike' station near the hotel, very useful stuff for Turin by the way :) You should try this place when you are in Turin. :)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Dismimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very good location for railway station, and also possible to walk into town. Hotel was good value for money, and room clean and hotel has early breakfasts option which is very useful if you have to catch trains etc. Breakfast , which was included in the cost, gave enough choice. Reception was variable - one staff friendly , the other less welcoming - seemed to be just going through the motions rather than showing any desire to make the visitor feel welcome.In contrast to the staff who served me at the bar who was very helpful. .The decor in the rooms can be a bit different, which I quite like, but maybe not to everyone's taste, bathrooms very clean. I don't think I was in the new rooms so cant comment on those.

The town of Turin is one of my favourites as it has good eating places and lovely ice cream! I like the faded elegance of the cafe of the Caffe die Fratelli Fiorio for fantastic selections of ice cream etc. Also like the Caffe Vergmano for wine and delicious appetisers. Turin is a very nice town to wander around under the arched pavements.

I would stay again as the price is very reasonable, and location was great for my needs. Would just prefer to feel valued as a guest by some members of reception, which is why I gave a three score - other wise it would have been four.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great location, clean and comfortable. Very closed to a large public parking as well as rail station. Walking distance from the art modern gallery (GAM) and the main downtown attractions as well as the public transportation. Good breakfast and staff willing to serve better quality espresso or cappuccino. In general good ratio price vs quality having leveraged on a discounted rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lino L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turin hotels
Centro
Hotel Dock Milano
Hotel Dock Milano
#38 of 130 in Turin
1,220 reviews
Le Petit Hotel
#43 of 130 in Turin
640 reviews
Crocetta
Residence Sacchi
Residence Sacchi
#5 of 130 in Turin
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Salvario
Best Western Hotel Genio
San Salvario
Hotel Urbani
Hotel Urbani
#31 of 130 in Turin
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Address: Via Cernaia 42, 10122 Turin, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range: £51 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomatic 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomatic hotel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Turin, located in the historic centre of the city, a few metres from the Porta Susa railway station, the main hub of high-speed rail transit between France and Italy.However you choose to get to the Diplomatic, the hotel is convenient due to its proximity to the Torino Caselle "Sandro Pertini" airport terminal, to the new underground line which takes you to the "Lingotto Fiere" Congress Centre in a few minutes, to the Polytechnic University of Turin, the Olympic Stadium and the new Juventus stadium.Strolling under the beautiful and historic arcades in Turin you reach the city’s most beautiful squares (Piazza Castello, Piazza Vittorio Veneto, Piazza San Carlo, Piazza Carlo Felice), the main places of “Turin nightlife” (the Roman Quarter (Quadrilatero Romano), the Murazzi, the Banks of the River Po, the Dora Docks, the Valentino Park), the most important museums and cathedrals (the Egyptian Museum, The Museum of Cinema, the OGR Officine Grandi Riparazioni, the Mole Antonelliana, the Chapel of the Shroud, the churches of Gran Madre and Maria Ausiliatrice). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing