We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part great, part not-so-much”
Review of Hotel Diplomatic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diplomatic
Ranked #33 of 129 Hotels in Turin
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Part great, part not-so-much”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Some aspects of the stay were fantastic, and others really poor. The lack of consistency was amazing!

Pros:
-Location - perfectly located for access to Torino's Metro line, Porta Susa station, buses and trams, making getting around the city and region a breeze. Its also an easy walk under the colonnades to the historic centre and shopping areas

-Renovated rooms - are fresh and modern, and our suite was one of the largest rooms we had for the whole trip, which is unique for a central city location. We had a huge bed in a separate sleeping area, and a sitting area with another tv, where there was space for 2 children to sleep.

-Price - we booked substantially ahead of time, directly on the hotels website and got an exceptional deal

Cons:
-Hotel decor - the unrenovated parts of the hotel make you feel like you are in a time warp e.g.. reception, lobby, breakfast room etc. Compared to our suite, they felt old and dated. However, all areas were maintained and kept clean.

-Staff were 'hit-and-miss.' We were hesitant to ask for assistance or directions due the surly nature of some of the people we encountered. This was even when speaking in their native language.

-AC - we were unable to completely turn off the AC at night, which made the room cooler than desired. We even set the temperature to 30 degrees, but still felt a cool breeze.

-Breakfast wasn't great, but was adequate. It was included in the rate, so saved us having to find a drink and croissant after we left the hotel in the mornings.


So, all up, this hotel really is a mixed bag. We loved the size and space in our room. We loved the renovated decor and quality of the new bathroom. Aside from the issues with the AC in the evenings, the room was a very pleasant place to be. The location suited us perfectly, and at the price we paid the value was outstanding!

Im not sure if the renovated rooms will be rolled out across the whole hotel, or if a renovation is planned for some of the communal areas, but if so it would lift the initial feel and presentation on arrival immensely. That, with a bit of training for some staff members, would really make this a top choice in Torino.

Room Tip: Definitely try and get a renovated room. If you want some extra space, you will find plenty in the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    742
    395
    136
    61
See reviews for
368
552
141
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sant'Ambrogio di Torino, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Some of the desk staff were welcoming and helpful (Federico). The rooms have been updated and all the finishes were very nice; the bed was comfortable, with nice bedding.i cant more bec i wan you guys shd come n see its really good and friendly ..

Room Tip: i dont knw but i guess every room hve different taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I thought I was going to go to a horrible hotel because of the extremely cheap offer I found online on their website (discount for booking 40 days in advace). However, I was completely wrong and more than happy to see my room whe I got there! I really liked how it was decorated and both bed and shower were excellent.
The only thing I did not love was breakfast. Although it was buffet, it did not have lots of options, which is fine, except for the fact that both days I had breakfast there I had to leave without being able to drink coffe! I was there on business, therefore I came down for breakfast just a bit after 7am, which is when breakfast begin. I must have left around 20 past, but coffe was not ready yet (neither were the eggs). Besides that minor issue, the hotel and its location are wonderful

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayling, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

First, the good points: great location; the street itself is very nice, and you are within walking distance of Piazza Castello, the Egyptian Museum, Via Roma, etc. Via Garibaldi is a lovely pedestrian thoroughfare that is very close. Some of the desk staff were welcoming and helpful (Federico). The rooms have been updated and all the finishes were very nice; the bed was comfortable, with nice bedding. Now the downside; the rooms are supposedly air-conditioned, but our room was way too warm for us and the only way to cool it was to open the window, which, since it opened up into the room, and since our room was so tiny, meant that then you could not reach one side of the bed. Other couples who were travelling with us had much larger rooms, and they were fine; just make sure that you don't get one of the tiny ones. There was no place to put our luggage when we wanted to open it, other than on the bed. I wanted a second key so that my husband and I could each have one, and was told that was not possible. ????I don't get it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dltrgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A tiny shower that you could barely turn round in with water that was not exactly full flowing, TV that wouldn't work, aircon that didn't work and décor that was distinctly '70s, please avoid room 207. From what I heard from the other five guests of mine that were also staying here, I had the worst room, but when I told reception in the morning they were extremely uninterested. I was offered, and accepted a €10 reduction in the garage charges, but this is not good enough for a claimed 4 star , modern business hotel. I was not able to say anything about the room before the morning as we all out very late that night, but really... not a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonR142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Turin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed overnight at this hotel whilst driving from Monaco to Chambery via a little bit of Italy.

The staff were friendly and pleasant. The room was quite small, but fairly comfortable. The air conditioning was not working, so we had to keep the windows open all night. OK in March, but I wouldn't fancy it in August!

The breakfast buffet was superb, and although we didn't eat in the restaurant, the food smelled lovely in the evening too.

The hotel is easy enough to find, and although it is on a very busy road, you can pull over in your car right outside. The hotel staff then valet park it in the dedicated car park behind the hotel, which is quite nice, especially as the entrance is quite narrow.

Overall, the hotel represents OK value for money, as long as you're OK with being in a very small space.

Room Tip: Ask for one with working air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spud-digger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We just stayed at the hotel for three nights and enjoyed it thoroughly. Our room featured a king bed and a single, had not-uncommon built-in furniture, a view of the interior courtyard, and a decent size bathroom. The hotel is located in the pedestrian-friendly central part of Turin, close to many of the sites and restaurants that you'll likely want to visit anyway. If you drive there, there's a hotel parking garage (quite pricey) or a public garage just around the corner that the staff directed me to (the Corso Bolzano at the traffic circle nearest the hotel). The hotel breakfast is a traditional European hotel buffet. The hotel also has complimentary wifi that provides a strong signal. Overall, we liked this hotel quite a bit and would recommend it to others looking for a central-city, affordable, and clean hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinmook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turin hotels
Centro
Hotel Dock Milano
Hotel Dock Milano
#36 of 129 in Turin
1,193 reviews
Crocetta
Residence Sacchi
Residence Sacchi
#4 of 129 in Turin
493 reviews
Starhotels Majestic
#16 of 129 in Turin
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Petit Hotel
#42 of 129 in Turin
623 reviews
Crocetta
Best Western Hotel Luxor
Pacific Hotel Fortino
#34 of 129 in Turin
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomatic

Property: Hotel Diplomatic
Address: Via Cernaia 42, 10122 Turin, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diplomatic 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomatic hotel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Turin, located in the historic centre of the city, a few metres from the Porta Susa railway station, the main hub of high-speed rail transit between France and Italy.However you choose to get to the Diplomatic, the hotel is convenient due to its proximity to the Torino Caselle "Sandro Pertini" airport terminal, to the new underground line which takes you to the "Lingotto Fiere" Congress Centre in a few minutes, to the Polytechnic University of Turin, the Olympic Stadium and the new Juventus stadium.Strolling under the beautiful and historic arcades in Turin you reach the city’s most beautiful squares (Piazza Castello, Piazza Vittorio Veneto, Piazza San Carlo, Piazza Carlo Felice), the main places of “Turin nightlife” (the Roman Quarter (Quadrilatero Romano), the Murazzi, the Banks of the River Po, the Dora Docks, the Valentino Park), the most important museums and cathedrals (the Egyptian Museum, The Museum of Cinema, the OGR Officine Grandi Riparazioni, the Mole Antonelliana, the Chapel of the Shroud, the churches of Gran Madre and Maria Ausiliatrice). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diplomatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing