We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel very conveniently situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Starhotels Majestic
Ranked #17 of 130 Hotels in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

this has a great location for the city centre, the train and metro and also the very good bus service from the airport. The local trams pass right outside and are a very good way to get around though youcan walk easily to most of the city attractions.Other reviews say this hotel is very dated certainly not the latest fashion but very clean spacious rooms and we had a great deal through British Airways . The only thing I thought poor was that they served canned fruit at breakfast, at a 4star hotel I expect some nice fresh fruit salad! otherwise the breakfast wasOK

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

an elegant, old-fashioned hotel in the very centre of Turin, with good traditional service and an incredibly convenient location; the rooms are quiet and spacious, with all the amenities and conveniencies one might need for a business trip, all at a very good price

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed one night - last night of honeymoon - based on the reviews from tripadvisor, and since the hotel we stayed at the first night (Hotel Prinici di Piemonte) was out of our price range for a Saturday night. We ended up going to the bar at Principi just to get away for some hours.

Will never been back - we can laugh of the experience, but based on the reviews here, we were definitely expecting something else.

Plus side - close to train station.

Definitely not a 4*; we arrived by rental car, parked in the valet spot outside to offload our luggage. No one came to assist with our luggage (not a problem for us, but that service should be expected from a 4* hotel).
Check-in was rather slow, and during the time it took, I was able to read full name and addresses of other guests on invoices lying around the reception desk.

Rooms look like something from 1960s East Germany; the light system doesn't really work - if one wants to go to the bathroom, one has to turn on the lights in the bedroom as well. Despite the carpets on the floor (yes!), we could hear plenty of things going on in the corridors.
Bathrooms look like something you would have seen on cruise ships (think plastic zink and table), water from shower end up on the floor.
Breakfast is a joke. Food quality was poor, and service even worse and slow.
I asked if they would be bringing more bacon and bread to the buffet, and the waiters looked like they couldn't care less. In addition, I ordered a coke, and was asked if I wanted to have lemon with it. It arrived 10 min later with 4 lemon seeds swimming in it - I was charged 5 Euros for that..

In all, definitely not recommendable!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The location is perfect, just opposite to the main train station, and at the boarder of the center of Torino, at walking distance from all you would wish to visit.
The superior room is very large and well furnished. Just the breakfast is not rich as you would expect, however the hotel is very clean and comfortable. I did not eat there, there are so many nice places around.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piantin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed two nights at the end of a trip to the Italian Alps. We wanted to be close to the central station and the shops. Both are located just steps away from the hotel. The hotel room was very spacious and well equipped. The bed was extremely comfortable and ensured a good nights rest. The rest of the hotel seems quite dated. There was no body behind the bar either night even though there was about four or five people at reception. The breakfast buffet was very poor and was set out in a very large dining room with many uniformed staff in attendance. I don't understand this aspect of Italian hotels; a big and costly staffing to present a poor quality food buffet?

Room Tip: Executive rooms are good value and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lackavra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Hotel worn out, staff not helpful, restaurant very bad and too expensive in comparison to the neighborhood.
Laundry ruined my cloth, no apologize, no money back.
Avoid this hotel, there are plenty hotel in Turin, that gives a much better value, than this one, unfortunately I made a mistake, for sure I'll never come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Right on the middle center of Turin, this hotel offers as its best the location near many stores and restaurants. As a bonus you still have the Puorta Nova train station in the front. The amenities are nice, in spite of a little bit old. The overall service is good and the room cleaness is above average.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turin hotels
Grand Hotel Sitea
#3 of 130 in Turin
1,589 reviews
Crocetta
Turin Palace Hotel
Turin Palace Hotel
#1 of 130 in Turin
1,528 reviews
San Salvario
Best Western Hotel Genio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
NH Torino Santo Stefano
Crocetta
Residence Sacchi
Residence Sacchi
#5 of 130 in Turin
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Majestic

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele II 54, 10123 Turin, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Turin
#14 Business Hotel in Turin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Turin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Turin
Price Range: £96 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Majestic 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Majestic in Turin. Our beautiful 19th century building is conveniently located opposite the Porta Nuova station, close to the city centre and the main monuments, making it ideal for business and leisure guests.A very comfortable and traditional 4 star hotel, the historic Starhotels Majestic features a magnificent Liberty skylight and beautiful crystal chandelier in Le Regine restaurant. There are 161 rooms and suites, a fitness room and 10 conference rooms seating up to a total of 1.150 delegates - the largest business hotel in the city centre.Come and enjoy the long-standing tradition of Italian hospitality in the heart of Turin. Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels' offering. If you're seeking excellent local dishes and international dining in Turin, take your seat under the beautiful Liberty skylight and crystal chandelier in the Le Regine restaurant. Or, for anything from coffees and light lunches to an evening of indulgent drinks and creative cocktails, our traditional lounge bar, Il Circolo, is a wonderful spot to relax with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Majestic Turin
Starhotels Majestic Hotel Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing