We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful & amazing palace”
Review of Palazzo Reale

Palazzo Reale
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.61*
and up
Turin's Royal Palace Guided Tour
Ranked #16 of 368 things to do in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“wonderful & amazing palace”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was the top thing I wanted to see in Turin and I wasn't disappointed in anyway. Free entry with the Torino / Piedmont card.

The architecture and sumptuousness of the interior was just jaw dropping.

There were display panels in English to tell you what you were looking at.

Apparently photography inside is forbidden but you'd never have guessed that from the amount of camera flashes going off. I found this quite intrusive at times as I was getting blinded by flash and was hoping staff would ask people to stop but they didn't.

A very rich and varied history contained within the palace and I totally and thoroughly enjoyed the slow sedate walk around that we did.

A trip high light and I can't recommend it highly enough

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,495
    816
    200
    62
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Leave time for a drink..”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Before or after your visit to the beautiful Royal Palace, please do go into the café which you will find tucked into the top left-hand corner of the courtyard as you walk through the main entrance. It really is a wonderful surprise when you enter and see the lovely surroundings. It feels like having tea in a museum as you are surrounded by artefacts belonging to the ex-royal family. This bar was once an old storeroom which was spruced up and used to display beautiful glasses, plates and silver. Don't worry, it's no more expensive than any other, much more anonymous, bar so please try it. I think you'll thank me :-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank rivolese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
217 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A lot of museums for the money”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The entrance fee covers a visit to the armoury, the archaelogical museum and another gallery. However the entrance to the royal Palace, once you've bought the tickets doesn't seem so clear. It is round the left hand corner in the courtyard. There are many other doors marked, but no others can be entered (you go up some stairs in a hall way).
Interesting building, but we only wanted to see it, not the others, so a little pricey for one!
The palace goes into the armoury!
Also you can't take any photos!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller-pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,349 reviews
790 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
“Interesting Look Back In Time”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Having visited the Cinema Museum yesterday with high visitor numbers, we were surprised at the relatively low attendance at the Royal Palace. There is much to enjoy here and it would be good to see more visitor interest. It is clear that much time and effort is being spent at present to show the rooms in their full glory and the garden is also undergoing major works. Nevertheless we fully enjoyed the rooms and contents, aided by storyboards in various languages in each room. Some parts of The Palace are used for specific temporary exhibitions and there is an excellent cafe tucked away in a corner of the central open area. Go, you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bsandrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unexpected Treat”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The interior is simply gorgeous - every room seems to outdo the last one. Not too crowded and a great break from the heavily religious art of so many sights in Italy. The armour collection is amazing. I have never seen anything like it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2cool4theroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palazzo Reale also viewed

 
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to Palazzo Reale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing