We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Torino”
Review of Hotel Royal Torino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Torino
Ranked #108 of 130 Hotels in Turin
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Hello,
we send a couple of days (and one night) there: very good hotel, relatively well located (10 minutes away from the downtown by bus, which is passing in front of the entrance).
The breakfast in the hotel is quite expensive (10€/person... I suppose it makes sense for the people staying there for a business purpose) and we could afford a good one outside the hotel, in a bar just 500 meters away, for half this price.
I was a bit disappointed by the price for the parking (14€), not mentioned at the beginning (and therefore, I thought it was for free) but the service is excellent, the room is excellent, the decoration in the lobby is nice and there's a good internet access in the room through Wi-Fi.
Therefore I recommend this hotel to you.
Philippe

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at Mercure Torino Royal as a part of a group: we were there for a conference at the nearby university. The hotel has lights and shadows, I'd say.

First of all, the negatives:

1) They mismatched a booking of one of us, so it was just for luck that they had a free room for the night - and we couldn't know until late the following morning if he could have stayed the next days or would have been moved to another hotel.
2) Another one of our group arrived at the hotel and was given a room which was already taken, and where one guy was sleeping when he entered. They changed his room but the other one smell of smoke, so they changed it again and power plugs were not working; at last they changed it for the third time and everything was OK.
3) One person entered our room while we there, as he was given our room by mistake (as in point 1, it seems, so it wasn't an isolated case)
4) The first day the maid did not do our room until 19.00, when she showed up but we were using the room so asked her to come back the following day.
5) WiFi Internet connection was so slow that it was nearly useless.

So, the hotel does not seem well organized at all, but the are some upsides
as well:

1) Some of the staff, especially Silvia and the other girl, are professional, helpful and very kind. One might ask why the hotel has all these problems with such good staff.
2) Even though the building is old, the hotel is nice and well kept.
3) Prices are good for a 4 star; even though it might look like 3 and 1/2 stars the prices are still good. Breakfast was however not included and it's a steep 10 €, so I always had it at the nearby café.
4) Even though located somehow outside of the centre, the bus/tram stop is just outside the front door.

The hotel has a car park: it's not cheap (starts at € 14 per day), but it has surveillance and costs less than parking in the street anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room and be sure you are given one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordarthas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We booked through late rooms so only paid about £70 for the night. The location is okay, you can get a tram from the train station which takes about 10 minutes but it runs frequently. The staff were very helpful. The room was nice, spacious and clean. The bathroom was clean. The internet connection isn't great, maybe a bit overloaded.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank br1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

One of the perils of travelling in Europe is the wide variation in hotel standards. Four star means nothing, OK one city, pretty average the next. The same can be said of the Accor Group, their hotels vary from surprising to very average. Royal Mercure Turin is definitely very average. The decor is dated and tired and the lobby daunting at best. Stairs in front of the elevator means a short struggle with baggage and certainly no assistance from the front desk.

The rooms are well proportioned but the bathroom small. To use the loo you need to put your feet in the bide, which I guess means that you have clean feet as well as a clean posterior. Shower cubicile was antideluviam

Most rooms are on the road, so be prepared for traffic noises, overall room insultation is average and yes a SLAM hotel (Stop loud ambient motions ~ guest doors close very noisily)

In room safe box was excessively complicated to operate (yes I have stayed in thousands of hotes, so I do know what I am doing).

Free internet which worked well. Good coffee in the lobby.

Neighbourhood was suspect and the hotel is poorly located for the tourist area, albeit reached in 15 minutes by bus or tram.

This said the front desk was very helpful and even telephoned after our checkout to tell us that we had left an item behind which was appreciated.

Overall three stars would be a fairer description, but fair value for the price we paid Euro75

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Having requested a quiet non-smoking room we were happy to be taken to a quiet room at the end of the corridor. Apart from the leaking shower drain which flooded the bathroom and bedroom every time you used the shower all seemed well, until we set foot onto the Balcony, which had a lot of clothes drying and a selection of ashtrays and lighters on the patio furniture. At 23:05 there was a fair bit of noise which one would expect near a bar or night club, which made sense when we saw 6 hotel staff smoking on the balcony, having gained access from a side door onto our balcony. Having sent the staff on their way, we thought all was well until stepping out of the shower the following morning to see 2 members of staff looking at me naked as they enjoyed a cigarette on the balcony. Top Tip, on street parking is free at weekends, avoiding paying €14 per day with the hotel

Room Tip: A great place for public nudity (yours)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The Hotel is graded as 4 star but is far below that standard. Admittedly it was August and half of Turin seemed to be away on holiday but I am surprised the Accor Group allow standards in a Mercure to drop so low. We tried to take a shower at 3.30pm in the afternoon but the water was cold. When we checked in we found our safe had been locked open by the previous guest but when we asked reception for a maintenance person to fix the problem we were told they did not have any maintenance people in that week (this was 3.30 pm on a Wednesday) It was August but the air conditioning didn't work (again no maintenance available.) The bar never opened and although we were told we could quite easlly walk into town we were not advised that there was major construction work blocking the way and that we would have to either walk down the tram track or take a diversion that added over a kilometre to the walk. While realising this was close to the city centre the room was small and in need of refurbishing. This comment especially applies to the bathroom. We couldn't help feeling that for some reason this Hotel is off the Accor radar. If your tempted don't go to Turin in August. There were loads of tourists around but over three quareters of the bars and retaurants were closed for August. Catering for tourists does not seem to be a priority.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cverney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

To be honest, I am quite surprised with some overwhelmingly positive views on this hotel. The hotel itself is a bit far from the city centre and the main attractions. You need to take a tram (takes perhaps 10 minutes and 6-7 stops to city centre). It is walkable, if you want to walk more than half an hour in dodgy neighborhood. The rooms are bit run down, and needs re-decoration. The lobby area was nice, but certainly not well-designed for people who carry luggage, disabled people or elderly (as there are stairs without ramp). The receptionist was nice and welcoming. The breakfast was not cheap. Internet connection was free, but was very slow. The price was reasonable, and I would consider this hotel only if I cannot get anything better near the city in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bahadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turin hotels
Art Hotel Olympic
#48 of 130 in Turin
546 reviews
Hotel Master
#60 of 130 in Turin
371 reviews
Hotel President
#52 of 130 in Turin
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Donato
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#110 of 130 in Turin
158 reviews
Hotel Miramonti
#31 of 130 in Turin
1,020 reviews
Parella
Hotel Residenza delle Alpi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Torino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Torino

Address: Corso Regina Margherita 249, 10144 Turin, Italy (Formerly Mercure Torino Royal)
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Turin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Turin
Price Range: £55 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Torino 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualys hotel Royal is located in a great location: a few minutes walk from the historic centre of Turin, less than 1 km from the Duomo, Porta Susa Station and the nearest underground station, about 1.5 km from the Juventus Stadium, 10 minutes away by car from Reggia di Venaria. Access to public transport in front of the hotel. Excellent location for sightseeing, to visit Juventus Stadium, to visit museums, exhibitions, cinema Museum, Egyptian Museum, Royal residences, movida torinese the quadrilatero romano and in Piazza Vittorio Emanuele along the embankments, possibility to park the car in the garage or the car park of the hotel. The hotel has a restaurant with regional and international cuisine, two bars and a modern and well equipped conference centre suitable for any type of meeting or event, for both for business, to organize private events baptisms, weddings, birthday parties. The property offers tastefully furnished rooms, Soundproofed and equipped with modern amenities. You can use your laptop for free WiFi in every room. The easy access to Torino Caselle Airport, the ring road and highways for all directions make it ideal for any need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Torino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Turin
Mercure Hotel Torino Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing